Jump to content

[Install] Dell Latitude E6400 E6500

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
405 replies to this topic

#1
Pratician

Pratician

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi,

Since this is my first Guide, I will try To be the most helpfull for you. Just Tell me if I am not Clear or I say something wrong.

I have got a Dell Latitude E6400 but since E6500 are pretty the same than E6400, it may work.

I Hope this Will Help you.

Kexts may Also Work for no Retail Version Like Kalyway or iDeneb, use KextHelper to install Them.

Before to Begin:

I will say to save your data with for example Ghost, since All will be erase for re-partionning.
Pick up an USB Keyboard and Mouse which will be helpfull during the Installation.
In the BIOS switch to "AHCI" and not "IRRT" in SATA Operation.
Press F12 during POST for choosing to boot from CD or other media.
To make Ghost working you might switch to "ATA" in SATA Operation, depending on wwhich version of Ghost you have.


I - Install MAC OS X Retail with the Boot-132 CDII - Dual-Boot for Win XP (if you are using Vista it should also work with EasyBCD Not tested)

Default Partition scheme (MBR) from Dell was:
1 - Primary - FAT (Hidden) - Dell Tools for Support
2 - Primary - NTFS - Windows XP
  • Before too Install OS X From I
  • Resize your partition (with for example: Acronis Partition Expert) where is installed Win XP or Vista to what you want, for Example 15 Go for XP.
  • Change/Copy(for security) the line in boot.ini (Win XP) if you planned to change the order of the Partitions.

    If You have kept the first Partition from Dell so your boot.ini may contain that
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professionnel" [i]options[/i]

    If You planned to make the Win XP Partition the first Partition so Boot.ini line will be:
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professionnel" [i]options[/i]

    If you have changed the Boot.ini file, restart in order to try it, if you got problem just restart with the Win XP CD choose Repair and type bootcfg /repair.
  • Save your Disk (with for exmaple: Ghost)
  • Install MAC OS X, like in I, but don't use all the Space for Macintosh (ex: 25 Go)
    Macintosh (which contains OS X) and MacLoader (which contains BootLoader) are the 2 Partitions name coming from the MACinized Guide
  • Note the Size in the Disk Utility of MacLoader and Macintosh
  • Save Partitions MacLoader and Macintosh
  • Restore the Disk with the Save made in Step 4.
  • Create the 2 Partitions MacLoader and Macintosh (Primary), the same size or if not possible, Larger (Size noted in Step 6), if Size is Smaller you will not be able to restore Partition in Ghost.
  • Restore the Partitions
  • Boot with the Boot-132 CD to boot the Macintosh Partition, and make the MacLoader Partition active.

    diskutil list			   (take note of the "IDENTIFIERs")
    sudo fdisk –e /dev/rdiskX   (where X is the appropriate disk identifier)
    f 2						 (where 2 is the partition number of MacLoader)
    w
    y
    q
  • Restart without the Boot-132 CD, you may be in OS X
  • If you prefer to keep the BootLoader of Windows just use the chain0 Method
What is Working and Not (on the E6400):
Quadro NVS 160M 256 Mo: YES (Using NVDarwin and putting ID into the info.plist of the card)
Bluetooth: NO
Wifi (Intel 5100 a/g/n): NO
Sound: YES
LAN : YES
KeyBoard: YES (Key "<>" near "w" is ok with MacGirl patch)
KB BackLight and Screen Auto-Luminosity: YES
TouchPad: NO
TrackPad: YES
BatteryIndicator: YES
Sleep: Yes
Shutdown/Restart: NO

Other Stuff Not tested.

KEXTs

KEXTs for 10.5.5 : KEXTs_10-5-5_v01.zip
Minimal (just LAN) KEXTs for 10.5.1 : Attached File  KEXTs_10_5_1.zip   349.92KB   468 downloads

The ApplePS2Controller.kext/Plugins/ApplePS2Keyboard.kext in the 10.5.5 version is patched for Keyboard with the "<>" near the "w", if you got problem with it just pick-up the one from the CD.

#2
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
great start, more specs please,...

can you post full specs,...

what's touchpad no , trackpad difference ?
what's the battery live, noise/fan speed step working ?
how long a wait did you have, and what did you end up paying, curious

#3
Pratician

Pratician

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
The Specs of my E6400 are:

Processor: C2D P8400 2.26 Ghz FSB: 1066 Mhz
HDD: 160 Go 7200 Free Fall Sensor
RAM: 2 Go DDR2 800 Mhz
Graphics: Nvidia Quadro NVS 160M 256 Mo
Chipset: Intel PM45 , ICH9-M
LAN: Intel 82567LM (10/100/1000 Mb/s)
Wifi: Intel Wihi Link 5100 AGN
Sound: IDT 92HD71B7
Bluetooth: Dell Bluetooth 370
Screen: 14" 1440x900 LED
Battery: 6 Cells
Weight: 2.3 Kg

The Great things on this laptop is that you get Screen Auto-Light depending on the environement light like on the MBP.
Moreover if you take the option you can get theBackLight Keyboard ( which I have), It's good when you work where there is not too much light.

For me the Trackpad is the little stick on the Keyboard, on the E6400 like on usual Professionnal Laptop you have both the stick and the TouchPad.
The TouchPad is an ALPS one, need to find the right Kext in order to make it function.

The battery Life is about 3h20 at this moment on OS X, but on XP you can get up to 4h30~4h45 with wifi and the right parameters, with the 6 Cells.

I think I get the Speed Step with the IntelEnhancedSpeedStep.kext, need some test and software for monitoring the Temperature.

The Fan is quiet on normal working, but may become quite noisy if you make hard job. (And it seems to work under OS X)

I used to have an Inspiron 1520 (with the 8600M GT, and the 9 Cells). The E6400 is 1 Kg Less, thinner, and have a Magnesium Alloy.

For me the E6400 is much much better than the E6400. It's better at every point except in Graphics, the NVS 160M, is worst than the 8600M GT, but this graphics card is not for gaming but for 3D appliances. It's Not Really a big defect.

#4
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
not working,...

main specs,...
P8600
nvidia 160M
display 1400x900
wifi dell 1397 bcm4315
bios updated to 06 from 03
... I'll dig out more specifics,...
settings:
sata ahci
cpu VM disabled,
cpu disable bit enabled

tried:
- ideneb,,... does not boot
- usb dvd, did not boot ?!
- iatkos, guid 3 partitions, don't boot, waiting for root device,...
- iatkos, sleep kernel, panics,..
- iatkos, v4i , standard kernel,...

- old kalyway, disk clone, 10.5.4 boots,
install nv* kexts, 160M resolution ok, no quartz,...
10.5.5 ps2 kext, no boot,...
applehda, sound ok
ethernet , ok,...
dell 1397 light does not show,.. not working tried bcm kext enabler
bluetooth light is on, wifi is not,...
this install, is dead too,...

currently have iatkos and ideneb,..... don't have a ori leo disk,... so can't do a boot123 yet,

touchpad not working,.... that's a big thing,... tried the alps package, fscroll fix,... no go,
trackpoint and trackpad in bios enabled,.....
unless the touchpad can work,... is not going to be fun, being stuck with the trackpoint,...
also, at install from start, it does not recognized the keyboard,... external keyboard needed for install
I'll try the external USB dvd boot again,...
iatkos,... at reboot, has an appleACHI alloc error, and gets stuck after firewire,....
one more,... did get usb xterrasys wifi to work, with their tiger drivers,...

question, would those 10.5.5 kexts work with 10.5.4 ?

anybody else had luck ?

#5
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
dell E6500 running ,...update
I got it running with boot123 10.5.4 with 10.5.5 update and kexts ...
- shutdown don't work
- sleep only hibernates
- touchpad. Only works after sleep/wake. ...another minute
- Ethernet , stops working after sleep/wake...
- dell 1397 bcm4312. Working with broadcom enable script. Also need osx86tools. Lspci ...
For boot installed chameleon

At boot f8.
FSB=800
Install. Superhai.com. Genericcpupowermanagment.next
Run. The app give throttle. Should. Give. +4.25 hrs battery

Lid close. Does not sleep laptop...
- SD reader ricoh. Don't work
expeesscard. SD reader works
boot works from express as
- FireWire. 400. Mounted disk but crashed. Need more testing
- Currenty running. SSD 64gb.
- USB boot did not work DVD
- Disabled. Bluet , esata , wwlan
- enabled VT.

osx86tools lspci output :
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a40] (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port [8086:2a41] (rev 07)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82567LM Gigabit Network Connection [8086:10f5] (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2937] (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2938] (rev 03)
00:1a.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 [8086:2939] (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:293c] (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:293e] (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:2940] (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2942] (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 [8086:2944] (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 [8086:2946] (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2934] (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2935] (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2936] (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:293a] (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation ICH9M-E LPC Interface Controller [8086:2917] (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller [8086:2929] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:2930] (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation Unknown device [10de:06eb] (rev a1)
03:01.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II [1180:0476] (rev ba)
03:01.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832] (rev 04)
03:01.2 SD Host controller [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 21)
03:01.3 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller [1180:0843] (rev 11)
0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g [14e4:4315] (rev 01)

What is Working and Not (on the E6400):
Quadro NVS 160M 256 Mo: YES quarz ok
Bluetooth: NO 370
Wifi (dell 1397): YES
Sound: YES at start , a crack
LAN : YES at initial boot, after sleep NO
KeyBoard: YES not recognized,...
Screen Auto-Luminosity: YES screen adjust YES
TouchPad: NO after sleep/wake ok, no adjustment in preferences
Touchstick: YES
BatteryIndicator: YES
Sleep: NO hibernate YES
Shutdown/Restart: NO
Ricoh SD reader: NO expresscard SD reader YES
1394a firewire 400: YES , not fully tested, did crash,...
DVD: boot YES burner not tested yet
throttle: YES with GenericCPUPMControl
FAN: stays of with throttle mostly, ~30C at 64F room
sound controll buttons: YES
Battery hours: 3:28 with throttle wifi, dim, looks like battery indicator is not accurate, did not run, real life, full down test.
should be 4.5hrs
disk: SSD 64GB , and 160GB
VGA dual display: not tested
e-port: not tested
PC-card: not tested
PCI express: SD reader tested ok, even boot
display: 1400x900 , don't know how to check what model (if it's LED)
E-Sata: not tested
USB: YES keyboard, mouse, SD SDHC reader OK
USB: dvd boot did not work,...
headphone jack: YES
microphone: not tested
photobooth: YES
ichat: not tested
os: 10.5.5
bios: 06

xbench 121 , cpu test ~53 quarz 227 opengl 174 ,.... think CPU should be higher,... did kill throttle, think it was at 800mhz
geekbench: 3189 (800mhz) need to rerun it,...

misc: CPU ID, DSDT problem, ACPI states not supported,.... bios issues,...

.... questions/answers ,.... please post,pm,...etc

update:
... groups.google.com/group/linux.kernel/browse_thread/thread/810f5aa6758bd151
has more info about the touchpad issue where the PS2 packets get dropped,....
- for hibernate , sleep suspend / resume
... bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=373821
----------
due ICH9 ,.... maxmem=3072 , need to do some testing,... runing under ahci right now,...

#6
Nom de Guerre

Nom de Guerre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
When running MacLoader with the KEXT files posted here -- I copied them in the the KEXT directory in the MacLoader directory -- I'm getting the following error; the OS was installed on mudpuddle):

[codebox]Diskutil[263:10b] _CFGetHostUUIDString: unable to determin UUID for host. Error 35

DiskManagementTool[265:10b] _CFGetHostUUIDString: unable to determin UUID for host. Error 35
Volume Name: mudpuddle
Volume UUID: 8FC99C8C-EFC2-3095-9F5A-4AA2EAEB9F42

open[266:10b] _CFGetHostUUIDString: unable to determin UUID for host. Error 35

Get 'Volume UUID' displayed above and edit com.apple.Boot.plist accordingly[/codebox]

I apologize in advanced if this is a lame question and I am a daft prick for asking it... I'm a "noob" what else is there to say.

Cheers.

#7
Pratician

Pratician

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi,

All you have to do is to modify the com.apple.Boot.plist located ./Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration in the Drive where you have installed the MacLoader.

Just to be safe make a copy of the original file before modify it.

Since you will need root access to it, use the terminal and type sudo nano and drag'n'drop the file to the terminal.

You may get something like that :
sudo nano /Volumes/MacLoader/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

You need to replace the UUID by your own : 8FC99C8C-EFC2-3095-9F5A-4AA2EAEB9F42

Like that: (I have modified the UUID with yours)

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"><plist version="1.0"><dict>	<key>Kernel</key>	<string>mach_kernel</string>	<key>Kernel Flags</key>	<string>-f boot-uuid=8FC99C8C-EFC2-3095-9F5A-4AA2EAEB9F42</string>	<key>Timeout</key>	<string>3</string></dict></plist>

Then just make sure that The MacLoader partition is active and reboot.

It may work ;)

#8
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
e6500 update, iatkos v1.3 10.5.5 sleep/wake

new install,... with iatkos v1.3 10.5.5
pc efi v9, 16gb mbr partition ( for faster backup)
nv dual 0.2 160m works
sleep works, wake works, even with HDA taruga patch
gigabit is still problem,... especially after sleep, no dhcp,
the touchpad, only works after sleep/wake, in ps2 mode, no scroll,... need a fix
esata port works
bluetooth 370 no working
firewire 400 working

oh, had to install from usb dvd,...
sound volume controll works

external vga not working,... need a fix,

for touch pad, anybody got some alps drivers, also source code,..
looks like the driver does some checks and fails,

e-port not tested, pci express firewire 800 not tested, express port esata not tested
no fan controll, pcmcia not tested

please pm me with info, thanks, Rob

#9
Nom de Guerre

Nom de Guerre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi,

Pratician thank you for your prompt response. I've changed the file as you indicated. Alas, I seem to have managed to bugger something else up.

Upon reboot I receive the follow message:
boot0: GPT
boot0: HFS+
boot0: booting
boot0: done

And the system stops there. I have run the steps in step 14 several time everything I try end with the same result:

diskutil list

/dev/disk0
# TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GIUD_partition_scheme 74.5 Gi disk0
1: EFI 200.0Mi disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS boot 931.3 Mi disk0s2
3: Apple_HFS mudpuddle 25.7 Gi disk0s3



sudo fdisk -e /dev/disk0
fdisk: could not open MBR file /usr/standalone/i386/boot0: No such file or directory
Enter 'help' for information
f 2
w
y
q

I have tried with both "disk0" and "rdisk0" both end with the same result...

Thanks!
Cheers

#10
Nom de Guerre

Nom de Guerre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Its confirmed! I'm a daft prick.

Once the CD was actually removed from the drive, as per instructions, things work perfectly.

Alas, most things do *not* appear to be working:
Quadro NVS 160M 256 Mo: YES (I have not made any additional changes)
Bluetooth: NO
Wifi (Intel 5100 a/g/n): NO
Sound: YES
LAN : NO
KeyBoard: NO
KB BackLight and Screen Auto-Luminosity: YES
TouchPad: NO
TrackPad: No
BatteryIndicator: YES
Sleep: Yes
Shutdown/Restart: NO [note: "sudo shutdown -r now" will reboot the system]

rschultz101 would you be willing to post the steps that you took to get components working with this hardware?

Thank you Pratician and rschultz101!
Cheers.

#11
Pendekar

Pendekar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Another n00b in the house. Here's my story of 5 hours experience on installing os x.

Im running a DELL E6400 with a similar hardware as rschultz101. Problem so far is :

using Kalyway 5.2 - Perfect install. but after installing combo updates 10.5.3, it hangs at waiting for root devices.
using iatkos 5i - same problem as kalyway.
using ideneb 10.5.5 - mDNSResponder[31]: WARNING: sandbox_init errror Could not set Mach lookup policy for service com.apple.bsd.dirhelper err=1100 Could not set Mach lookup policy for service com.apple.distributed_notifications.2 err=1100 "another sets of the same error about ocspd, mDNSResponderHelper SecurityServer and SystemConfiguration.configd er as well.


Well basically, I cant even boot into my OS X yet. maybe im not installing (customize) it correctly. If you can point me to the right directions, that would be very much appreciated. thank you!!

#12
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
for pendekar,...

for waiting for root device,... use the install dvd,...
instead of enter to install from cdrom, hit F8, boot from hard disk,

down load pc efi v9, or chameleon,
run that, think you can also use osxtools, install efi/run fdisk, but that one has efi v8,
still should work....

for first boot, use f8 -v -x cpus=1

one is setup, use utilities/diskutil repair permissions, might need external keyboard /mouse,

reboot, power button hold down, after screen blank,...
then install kexts, with osxtools, HDA, PS2, acpips2nub, no nvidia, from first post, and intel network,
clear boot cache, repair permissions, restart...
for wifi dell 1397 b/g worked for me, with broadcom enabler,
replaced with 1510N , needed airport 2008 patch,...
otherwise, use a ralink usb wifi

let me know how you make out.

#13
Pendekar

Pendekar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
rschultz101...thanks for the great info. finally got my os x to boot. Just want to know more details on do you managed to get your wifi up..cant really get what you mean earlier.

#14
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
wifi, dell 1397 works, dell 1510N works.

what wifi do you have ? got it to work ?

anything better than the 1510N ( only has 2 antennas) ?


does your touchpad work ?
does it work from first boot, or do you need to sleep/wake it ?

#15
Pendekar

Pendekar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
actually im using the 5100 built in wifi.? that cant work is it..? hehe. touchpad also cant work even after sleep/wake. dont know what went wrong..still need to do a little bit more digging on this.

#16
Nom de Guerre

Nom de Guerre

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I too am running the 1510N and am not able to get the touchpad/trackpad to work even after letting the system go to sleep. But the display is now at the correct resolution and the sound is working.

With Kalyway 10.5.2 I did have use of the KB and the touchpad, although, the touchpad was rather buggered up.

#17
Pendekar

Pendekar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Hi Guys, its me..again..

full updates on what works and what's not


Quadro NVS 160M 256 Mo: YES
Bluetooth: NO
Wifi (5100 a/g/n): NO
Sound: YES
LAN : YES
KeyBoard: YES
Screen Auto-Luminosity: YES screen adjust YES
TouchPad: NO
Touchstick: YES
BatteryIndicator: NO
Sleep: NO
Shutdown/Restart: NO
Ricoh SD reader: NO expresscard SD reader YES
1394a firewire 400: Havent tested yet
DVD: YES
throttle: YES
FAN: Dont know how to know if this works or not
sound controll buttons: YES
Battery hours: Havent tested yet
disk: 250GB with 2 partition (25GB and 225GB) 5400rpm
VGA dual display: not tested
e-port: not tested
PC-card: not tested
PCI express: SD reader havent test yet
display: 1200x800 , don't know how to check what model (if it's LED)
E-Sata: not tested
USB: YES, portable hard drive, Buffalo MiniStation
USB: not tested
headphone jack: YES
microphone: not tested
photobooth: not tested
ichat: not tested, MSN YM, Firefox and most apps works flawlessly though
os: 10.5.5
bios: A09

question is : when the time setting up/installing the osx, the battery indicator shown in the taskbar, but when i intall the kext from Practician (AppleACPI Battery Manager) suddenly the icon dissaper. Tried removing the kext but still the battery is now showing. Need help. thanks

#18
rschultz101

rschultz101

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 440 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Worcester/Boston
  • Interests:dell 6000 , asus p4pe,
robs E6500 update
laptop: dell latitude E6500
os:
- iAtkos v1.3 10.5.5 running
- boot123, vanilla, also possible
bios: A09
ram: 4GB
disk: 64GB SSD
graphics: quadro NVS 160M
-resolution: 1400x900
-driver: nv dual 0.2 , QE/QC + quartz
-VGA not working, need help with nvcap entries
-DVI display port to DVI not tested
Bluetooth: NO dell 370
NO USB bluetooth not working
Wifi: YES 1397 b/g , 1510N , G/N needs airport 2008 update
Sound: YES , HDA (first post) patch, works with sleep, has sound pop at startup
Ethernet : YES with intel82xxx kext, works at startup, after sleep it breaks HDCP,
needs sleepwatcher entry, ifconfig en2 up / down
need to update library versions, kextstat ,...etc
KeyBoard: YES , but not recognized at install, and layout not recognized, needs fix
Screen Auto-Luminosity: YES screen adjust YES
TouchPad: NO it's a dualpoint alps, works for me after sleep, but in ps2 mode only, with now scroll or any adjustments
needs fix,.... need PS2 and alps kext source
Touchstick: YES , works as PS2
BatteryIndicator: YES
Sleep: YES currently sleep/wake working to memory, hibernate not tested
Wake: YES
Shutdown/Restart: NO , needs fix , even with openhalt, it's not shuting down
Ricoh SD reader: NO , there is a workaround for regular SD up to 4GB, SDHC will not work
1394a firewire 400: YES works
DVD: YES
expresscard:
- 7-1 reader SD reader YES no drivers needed, 16gb sdhc ok
- esata dual port, with sil3132 driver, YES, connect, disconnect, mount, file transfere ok
- firewire 800 , dual YES no drivers needed
throttle: YES , generic
FAN control: NO , whatever bios does
sound control buttons: YES
Battery hours: ~3:20 , sometimes 4:00+, other times 2:50
e-port: NO , not tested
e-modular: NO , not tested
E-SATA: YES, at initial boot only , no reconnect
PC-card: NO , not tested
USB: YES,
headphone jack: YES
microphone: YES, buildin ok, jack not tested
photobooth: YES
ichat: YES
-----
keyboard, don't know where to look, needs fixing,
------
for touchpad dualpoint alps, think this might be a good start,... thought it's not working yet,... at least some source to start,
http://forum.insanel...php/t47272.html
ApplePS2Trackpad-9.sources.zip
..... also some note on linux synaptic patch, http://lkml.org/lkml/2008/9/7/133 if that could help,...

nvidia , using the dual 0.2 but no vga out, don't have dvi cable yet,....
need help on how to edit test NVCAP entries
.....
appreciate your help, thanks Rob

#19
osxgus

osxgus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
i guess i am screwed. i got this laptop from the company i work for, for private use, but i have the intel graphics chip, and it doesn't look like it's separate from the system board.. any way of making the 4500 intel gfx work with osx with QE/CI?


:P
love

gus

#20
Pratician

Pratician

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi,

After some testing for having the Dual Screen to Work, I made it work with the Krazubu tutorial about NVCAP.

So with this NVCAP, the VGA output work, I didn't try the display port since I don't have converter to DVI or HDMI.

Version with Number
<04000000 00000100 0e000000 00000007 00000000>

Version for Plist
<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>BAAAAAAAAQAOAAAAAAAABwAAAAA=</data>

Replace the NVCAP entry in your injector.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy