Jump to content

Linksys WUSB600N working flawlessly


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#21
Simon42

Simon42

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Qu�bec
I did everything mentioned in that thread twice or more and nothing (really nothing) is happening when I reboot after having installed it properly. The program tells me there's no device, the network pref pane only sees my Firewire port... the green light on it is on (although I thought it was off during my first tries). So is there any other solution; thing I could try? It works well with Windows.

I guess it could be that there are several versions of the dongle and that I got one with another chip... Possible? Or could it be that my distro is not ideal for making this work; I use Kalyway 10.5.3 (the safe way not to mess up my 2600XT). Any ideas? Thanks!

#22
Simon42

Simon42

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Qu�bec
anybody?? Please, help! (I'm having to use 7 to post this ;)

#23
dimpleness

dimpleness

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Quick question anyone else having a problem with the signal going in and out every few seconds?


Yea I'm also having a problem with the signal going in and out about every minute or whenever I start downloading multiple files.

Can anyone help?

#24
Simon42

Simon42

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Qu�bec
I tried it all again today... with the same results. Anyone had problems getting it to work?

#25
Simon42

Simon42

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Qu�bec
it's finally working for me! A Quad Core 24-incher is so much nicer than a 10 inch single-core Eee online :(

If that can help anybody, it worked because I plugged the dongle in while on the white Apple loading screen. It might be that it has to be plugged in after a certain point, or in a specific USB port, or because it crashed under Windows and I reseted it there... I just hope it works again when I reboot.

It's normal that the Airport icon and controls doesn't appear in the menu bar, right?

#26
physicsguy

physicsguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I got the WUSB600N working with the instructions pretty much as given. I downloaded the 12/4/2008 version of the USB 2870 driver and did the mods. Everything worked (There was the en2 thing that thought it was an unplugged ethernet cable for a while).

Problem: If I walk away from my mac for a while (usually hours), the thing disconnects. I have my Dual G5 (10.5.6) set NOT to sleep, so it isn't a wake from sleep issue. I thought I found the magic touch by disabling hard drive spin down. It stayed connected for 24 hours but that was beginner's luck. I started having the problem again. The only thing going to sleep now is the display and I haven't disabled that. It is hard to believe that would be related. On the other hand, every time it disconnects, I've been away long enough for the display to have fallen asleep. Hmmm.

When the thing disconnects, the green light is gone and the wireless utility has slowed to a crawl (spinning beachball at every mouse click). I usually have to quit, unplug/plug, and start over logging in with my WPA2 passphrase. Sometimes it will pick up my saved profile and auto login, sometime not. The thing seems to start up randomly with 2.4G, 5G, or both. I select 5G or both b/c I am logging onto a Linksys WRT600N router at 5Ghz. I have the router set with that double bandwidth thing (don't remember what it is called) at 5Ghz and normal with WEP at 2.4Ghz. The 2.4Ghz stuff (other 802.11g PCs, wireless 802.11b print server) stay connected fine so it probably isn't the router. The Dual G5 with the WUSB600N is my only 5Ghz client.

I wonder if it works better on Intel Macs. I have a Mac Mini I can try later.

Disturbing: Recently I get kernel panics when I get the disconnect, either while the Wireless Util is still crawling or after I have tried to restart it. Strange how the behavior changes with time. I thought only Windows {censored} gets corrupted like that.

Any help will be appreciated. I have emailed Ralink. Thanks. - Paul

#27
stevenchau

stevenchau

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Its Apr 7th. I just bought a new Linksys WUSB600N. After following the instructions posted, the wireless is working perfectly. I do have to say, I did notice the wireless dropped a few times, which when the controls were closed. I am not entirely sure if it had anything to do with it, but I am leaving the controls on while my machine is updated.

#28
JamesDH

JamesDH

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Doing a new install using Grub-DFE & Retail DVD of 10.5.6.
I tried the method in the original post using this DRIVER (top one on the Ralink page) dated 03/10/2009.

It failed to work giving me a "Extension not installed properly" message.
Removed everything and reinstalled this time I didn't modify anything or clear extensions. Just rebooted.

Worked perfect when I plugged it in.

Looking thru the info.plist files you suggest modifying I see the mods are already there and there are two listings for Linksys.
Linksys 2870 1 & Linksys 2870 2 with the mods showing under item 2.

#29
charlesq_70

charlesq_70

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Just to second this, the latest Ralink driver seems to work fine without modifications.

Doing a new install using Grub-DFE & Retail DVD of 10.5.6.
I tried the method in the original post using this DRIVER (top one on the Ralink page) dated 03/10/2009.

It failed to work giving me a "Extension not installed properly" message.
Removed everything and reinstalled this time I didn't modify anything or clear extensions. Just rebooted.

Worked perfect when I plugged it in.

Looking thru the info.plist files you suggest modifying I see the mods are already there and there are two listings for Linksys.
Linksys 2870 1 & Linksys 2870 2 with the mods showing under item 2.



#30
Tokay14

Tokay14

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon
UPDATE: The newest version of the RALink drivers already include support for this wifi USB dongle!
If you try to modify them as instructed in this guide it will not work. Just install them normally and it will work!
got this working on my sweet pink hackentosh. Check it out!
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=159629

#31
tanjiajun_34

tanjiajun_34

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
Can someone post the WUSB600N kexts here?
I tried the tutorial but it still show no device detected.

Also, why does the leds (Power and Link/Act) on my WUSB600N are much dimmer when I am on mac, compared to when I am on pc? It is cause there is not enough power?

#32
timn

timn

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Wanted to also confirm that the dongle is working on 10.5.7 using the latest drivers. No modification necessary.

http://www.ralinktec..._2009_03_10.dmg

#33
brxxthe

brxxthe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
hey guys. I just picked up one of these tonight and it is a Ver 2 unit. I cannot get it to work. The new Product ID is 0x0079. I punched these numbers into my kext and am currently not having any luck. I'll probably return this unit this week and figure out which other USB unit to try out.

suggestions on which USB dongle to buy? Its going to be connecting to an Airport Extreme. Seems like these supported adapters are starting to get old.

#34
Dark Jak

Dark Jak

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
@brxxthe

I also just picked up the wusb600n v2 which did not work with the above configuration. I have made progress editing the kext to at least get it recognized by OS X (the blue led lights up, it does the connecting/disconnected thing). I changed the strings to match the numbers. Plagiarizing a little from ziglg, this is what I did:

1. Install this Ralink driver in OS X.
2. Use TextEdit (free software built into OS X that can edit plist files) and edit the following file: /System/Library/Extensions/RT2870USBWirelessDriver.kext/Contents/Info.plist
4. Search for "Linksys" change the integer line below from 112 to 121:
<integer>121</integer>
5. Close and save the file
6. open: /System/Library/Extensions/RT2870USBWirelessDriver.kext/Contents/Resources/Info.plist
Again, search for Linksys and change the integer line from 0x0071 to 0x0079:
<integer>0x0079</integer>

run any maintenance and reboot and that should get you to where I am - where the lights are on, but nobody's home.

What I'm unable to do is get the ralink software to recognize the device and make it scan for new networks and connect. I think I need to edit the software, but I don't have any experience with this kind of work.

There is another thread here where someone edited the software to work with the 2870 v1, so I am hopeful that this can be done - I just don't know what to do.

Any ideas?

Jak

#35
matinee

matinee

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Same here. Anybody have a solution for v2 of the WUSB600N?

#36
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
My new Alfa AWUS050NH is also equipped with v.2 of the Ralink 2870. The CD only contained drivers for Panther, Tiger and Leo. The Leo driver is not working in Snow Leo. The current driver 2.0.0.0 Ralink offers on their website contains a package for Snow Leo, but that one only appears to be for the 2870 v.1.

Anyway, I just got my Alfa AWUS050NH with the 2870 v.2 working in Snow Leo 10.6.1 by taking the Snow Leo RT2870USBWirelessDriver.kext from Ralink's installer from their website (2.0.0.0) and adding the info.plist from the Leo RT2870USBWirelessDriver.kext from the CD for the Alfa AWUS050NH v.2. I attached the modded kext.

If the Linksys also uses the same 2870 v.2 there is a chance you get it working. Apply the kext with your favorite kext tool (in Snow Leo I use kext helper b7). You don't even necessarily have to restart; usually it is enough to just wait a minute until the kext is loaded and the diode flashes on the adapter. Then go into System Preferences/ Network and confirm the new network interface, then Apply.

I also confirm aqua-mac's Airport-like app for Ralink 2870 working with v.2 once the kext is loaded.

For those who have probs with disconnects: if you are running on WPA-PSK, try to connect via AES instead TKIP, or vice versa. I have made good experiences with flipping the encryption mode.

Please give some feedback if this driver works for your Ralink 2870 v.2 in Snow Leo.

Attached Files



#37
ak1984

ak1984

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Anyone have a solution for OS X 10.4 (Tiger) using v2 of the Linksys adapter? Thanks.

#38
ysndnz

ysndnz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
Anyone have a solution for WUSB300N on SL

#39
garbx

garbx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I've tried everything here and it won't work for me.

I have 10.5.8

I downloaded the drivers from the Ralink website. The first one I downloaded doesn't even have the second info.plist file (the one in the Resources folder) and the other driver I tried doesn't even have a Resources folder.

I also don't understand the terminal comands to use...

Please help!

#40
hrvy

hrvy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
For all WUSB600N V2 users (on 10.6.X may work on other version too):
I got my wlan dongle working with the latest Ralink driver 2.0.1.0 for RT2870. I installed it and edited the info.plist (in this version only one info.plist exists) in RT2870UsbWirelessDriver.kext (you can find it in System/Library/Extensions).
I changed idProduct to 121 in the Linksys - RT2870 - 2 section and left idVendor unchanged at 5943. Saved the file and rebuilt the cache with Kext Utility.

After a restart I had to replug the stick. Imediately the Ralink Wireless Utility popped up and showed all available networks. I'm up and running in my 5GHz wireless N network.
I only had to replug it once. After reboot the stick gets recognized and connects smoothly.

However Ralink Airport Menu doesn't work for me. Maybe there is a user out there which has a solution for this.

I hope I could help some of you out :D

//EDIT: Maybe some of you have to go to Network Preferences and set up the new network connection. I didn't had to do this on my Hackintosh but my Eee901 needed this ;) After this was done the stick was recognized by the ralink utility





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy