P5k Deluxe/WIFI Kalyway Intall

Derek Bledsoe

9 posts in this topic

This is my first time posting here, and so far this forum has been a great weath of knowlege, and i'd like to thank everyone for that first and fore most.

First let me preface by saying i am new to installing OS X on PC's but not new to macs or pcs in general. I have successfully installed OS X leopard using the Kalyway 10.5.1 disk on my wifes HP dv6000 with no issue what so ever, and its currently working great, minus wifi.

So now my problem. I am trying to install leopard using the same dvd i used for my wifes install and have encounted a number of issues, and would appreciate any information you might have

First here is my system specs.

Mobo: PK5 Deluxe/WIFI - Bios 0809

HDD: Western Digital Raptor WD1500 Sata harddrive

CPU: Intel E6600

Graphics: Evga 8800GTS

DVD: IDE DVD/RW Drive

DVD: USB DVD/RW Drive

I think thats all the relevent information.

So now onto the problems.

When i first tried to boot of the dvd i was given an error that said something link missing plist and wouldn't boot, i found out it was probly because of dvd drive being on IDE not sata. I read several places saying to try and use an external usb dvd drive. So i went out and bought a external USB dvd drive and sucess now it boot the dvd, but not so fast it hung on the gray apple screen. I restarted and went into -v mode and waited for the error to pop up.

The error finally came up as: Sam Multimedia Read or Write Failed Sense_Key = 0x06, ASC = 0x29, ASCQ = 0x00 and it just keeps repeating that error until the PC panics and shuts down.

I searched online and found a bunch of great tips for tweaking the Bios. upon my research i found that i should have my sata confirgured as AHCI and set my J-micron controller to ACHI.