Acer CrystalEye webcam

kalyway

12 posts in this topic

Hey guys

I got an Acer CrystalEye webcam on my Aspire 5920G.

It's built-in and runs on a USB port, like System Profiler says (weird...)

I open iChat, and the webcam turns on (the green light infront of the webcam) but all I get is a green screen.

Also, I need help with Photo Booth... gives me an error saying my gfx card is not supported. any solution?

I know there are a few hackers out there who can solve this problem in no time :)

thx

• 6 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

HI, I was searching around for a solution to this and came across this thread: http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?sho...;hl=acer+webcam

I'm a total Newb, so I just tried what this guy says on Post #13 and somehow it fixed the problem! I can now use my Crystal Eye webcam that came with my Acer Extensa 5620! Now if I can only get my ethernet/wifi to work....

Here's what that post says:

After Extensive research on this problem I have a partial fix. The built in UVC driver is the problem sorta well rather it one of its components that is my problem with photo booth. The driver it self also has issues that need to be addressed.

By deleting /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreMediaIOServicesPrivate.framework/Versions/A/Resources/VDC.plugin

I was able to get photo booth to work with my sonix cam for the first time ever. This is because the {censored} as UVC VDC.plugin in OSX forces my cam to work at higher res's then it is capable of doing. By deleting that plugin the cam defaults to a res it can handle and thus works. I still do not have ichat support but that i should be able to figure out soon. Some other edits to the UVC driver should fix that next.

• 2 months later...
Hey guys

I got an Acer CrystalEye webcam on my Aspire 5920G.

It's built-in and runs on a USB port, like System Profiler says (weird...)

I open iChat, and the webcam turns on (the green light infront of the webcam) but all I get is a green screen.