firewire unable to determine security-mode

Holmes89

9 posts in this topic

I have been trying for the last few days to get OS X Leopard 10.5.1 working on my computer and have yet to get anywhere. I found on the forum that I needed a special install dvd for AMD Processors and proceeded to download it and burnt it to a dvd using DVD decryptor. I have yet to get past the firewire unable to determine security-mode error when going through safemode and normal mode. This error stops my dvd drive (I have know idea why) and just doesn't progress. What should I do?

Here is my information:

Processor AMD 64 Athlon 3500+ (which I have been told can run it)

1 gig of RAM

ASUSTEk Amberine M 1.03 Motherboard

Two SATA hard drives (200 and an 80gig)

Two ATA DVD Drives (One doesn't function properly and the other is a Pioneer)

Do I need to provide any other information? Sorry I'm new at this but it seems like it will be fun to work with. Thanks for the help.

• 4 weeks later...
That error is common is probably not what is stopping your boot. Does it say "still waiting for root device" under that error?

I have attached two photos of my screen during the failed installation process, using "-v". One is without USB/FW devices plugged in, the other is WITH USB/FW devices plugged in:

By the way, I stuck the Leopard Kalyway disc in my PC while I was in Windows, and these are the only files visible:

BOOT (60 KB)

BOOT0 (1 KB)

BOOT1H (1 KB)

BOOT1U (7 KB)

BOOT.CAT (2 KB)

BOOTHELP.TXT (2 KB)

CDBOOT (58 KB)

CHAIN0 (1 KB)

Is this normal, or should I be able to see other, larger files?

Thanks!

post-190546-1203961017_thumb.jpg

post-190546-1203961028_thumb.jpg