Fujitsu Siemens P7120 99,5% Tiger

ebeneezer

31 posts in this topic

Hi Community,

i am starting this thread to document my efforts to implement Tiger on the Fujitsu Siemens P7120 subnote. As the title shows there is still some work left, and I hope there are other P7120 users that could join in to reach 100%.

Why i did it: Being a Linux veteran i was searching for a stable and graphical nice OS on my subnote machine. I own an iMac G5 since 2006 and like the stability and usability of OS X 10.0+. I tried Vista on the P7120 and it was insanely slow - and there is no Aero :) since the P7120 was manufactured in 2005. I also tried Linux and it worked quite good even with sleep functions and 3D desktop. I will give it another try with the release of KDE 4. The sad thing is that there is no support for PCMCIA UMTS/HSDPA cards for my card under Linux - so i gave OS X a try. I decided not to go with Leopard because of the limited CPU/RAM ressources - i think Tiger runs faster on older machines.

I dl BlackCHs 10.4.11 DVD from TPB and selected the following options from the installer menu:

• Intel GMA900 (the fix gets installed later, which gives you full Quartz Extreme and CoreImage support)
  • Realtek 8139 generic support (the docs from Fujitsu are wrong: There is no RTL8101 but a RTL8139 built into the P7120 according to Linux lspci command)
  • Azalia Sound Support (there is an ALC260 inside the P7120 and this gives you stereo Line Out but the microphone does not work)
  • Intel SSE2-only kernel with the 3 suboptions - other kernels don't work (kernel panic), checked off other kernels
  • Front Row
  • Quicktime codecs
  • leaving other options as defaulted by the installer

After the installer finishes the base installation I had to install the 1 wire trick to prevent the blue screen problem. Installed the GMA900fixer from the system/installationpackages folder on the patch DVD. After rebooting Quartz Extreme and CoreImage are activated.