10.4.8 installs, but won't boot

jimnastic

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I'm new to the whole osx86 thing and I'm hoping someone can help me out

The disc image I'm using is JaS OS 10.4.8 AMD Intel SSe2 SSe3 Beta v2. Everything installs just fine, then when it finishes and reboots, I end up where I am in the pic

My PC specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.00 GHz

Nvidia GeForce 7500 LE

LITE-ON DVDRW SHW-160P6S

Seagate ST340810A 40gb ATA hard drive

1gb ram

and I've got no idea about the motherboard, so this is what CPU-Z says:

Manufacturer: Acer

Model: EM61SM/EM61PM

Chipset:NVIDIA MCP61

Southbridge: NVIDIA MCP61

Rev.: A1

LPCIO: ITE

If you need more info, just let me know, and if I'm using a completely wrong disc image, then which one would be best suited to my PC?

Any help at all is appreciated ;)

Edit: I'm currently installing OS X in VMWare as I type this, and I happened to notice that while it's installing the AMD patch, it says:

"After the install press F* (I assume this means F8) and at the prompt type -v -s and at the next prompt type ./patcher 10.4.8.AMD.CPUID.txt"

Every time I've tried to install, I've started it and then left it to do it's thing, never noticing this bit of info, therefore never doing what it tells me to. Would this be why it isn't working?

post-112924-1197451524_thumb.jpg

Couldn't find NV40HAL.kext or Resman.kext, but I deleted GeForce.kext and now I can boot normally and everything works perfectly! Thanks for your help, Rufus T. Firefly!

Just incase anyone with the same problem is interested, I did try reinstalling without the video drivers, which resulted in still not being able to boot normally and safe mode only being capable of 1024x768 resolution. I can't believe it was as easy as deleting a file lol

BTW, posting this from within OSX :D