Recommend the best install method for this hardware pls?

loop

6 posts in this topic

Background -

I'm not a moron. :)

A bit of searching has left me fairly clouded, however. There's a LOT of information and at least a few discreet ways to get osx installed on the hackintosh-styles of systems, and I'm a bit confused as to what my best route would be.

This is my hardware:

Intel q6600

Gigabyte ga-p35-ds4

4 gigs ddr2

geforce 8800gt

1x750gb wd (Vista64)

1x500gb wd (media and eventual vm storage)

1x160gb Seagate (free)

My goal is to have a functioning dual-boot system when all is said and done, running a full install of 10.5 and likely several applications like garageband, etc.

I am comfortable with command lines (I'm a net admin at work, running a mix of 2003 and linux on the servers), but I would be just as happy using a DVD I happen to find on the sidewalk to make it work.

Any pointers, especially given my hardware, will be very appreciated.

Thank you in advance!!!!

I have almost the same Hardware as you:

GA-P35-DS4

Intel C2D E6300 @ 3000 MHZ

4 GB Corsair XMS6400C4

Nvidia 8800GTS 640

2x WD5000AAKS

1x 250 GB Maxtor IDE for the MAC System

I do not use my MoBos Sound but an external Hercules DJ Console which was also working out-of-the-box

The following method worked flawless:

Install:

I used the Flat image with an unpartitioned HDD following the flatimage info from within VISTA Ultimate:

1. grab the torrent.

2. extract leopard-x86.rar to the folder

3. open compmgmt.msc and select Disk Management

4. remember what disk (Disk 0, Disk 1 etc) you want to install to

5. remove any existing partitions on that disk by right clicking and selecting 'Delete Volume' and 'Delete Partition'

6. copy the .bat file for the selected disk to the folder << WARNING!! selecting the wrong file may result in a wiped disk!! >>

7. execute the .bat file and wait..