Disk Utility Can't find Drives

UGunit89

8 posts in this topic

Ok just to start it off, I'm completely new to installing a mac onto my pc. But I tried to follow one of the dual booting wiki guide, but I got stuck at the step where I'm suppose to have disk utility format the fat32 partition. The thing is the only disk that the utility sees is the DVD.

I thought it might have been because I was using Acronis to partition my drive and as a OS selector. So I undid what I did with Acronis and followed a different guide. I still got stuck in the disk utility place.

After about the third attempt my computer started saying some type of MBR error and wouldn't boot. So I had to use the backup Acronis backup CD I made to get back onto my system.

I'm not sure what to do now.

My Comptuer specs are.

Toshiba Satellite laptop A215-S4747

Dualbooting XP Pro and Vista Ultimate

AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-56

SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64

Im using TubGirls tub_Osx10410_AMDVM_SSE3 10.4.10 Update

Any other info needed

Thank You

Update: I downloaded a different cd(10.4.9) thinking that it would solve the problem. I also re partitioned my drive and it still didn't show up on disk utility. What's worse is that I got the Mbr error again after restarting my computer and ended up having to reinstall both windows. :unsure:

I'm still want to run macosx so do you guys have any idea why it isn't showing up on disk utility in the mac instalation?

Thx

We'll I reformated my pc and tried again still no luck in disk utility seeing anything but the dvd drive.

Enter bios and disable sata native mode. It doesn't make a difference anyway.I

I doubt my bios has that option. And if it does were do i find it.

Anymore suggetions

We'll I reformated my pc and tried again still no luck in disk utility seeing anything but the dvd drive.

I doubt my bios has that option. And if it does were do i find it.

Anymore suggetions