Mac OS X v10.4.9 (Uphuck v1.4i r3) Installation

steelerdean

10 posts in this topic

Hi All,

Please bear with me, this is my first attempt at installing OS X on a PC (we all have to start somewhere right !!).

Using this guide:-

http://######.com/software/osxusbnative.htm

I seem to have successfully installed the above OS X on an external USB HDD. Followed the guide exactly and everything ran perfectly as the guide said it would. Only problem is, my computer won't boot from it. I've made sure the USB drive is set as the first boot device in BIOS, so it should be checking that before my normal HDD. I've even used the manual boot selection available on the POST screen but I can't seem to get it to boot from it.

Any ideas would be greatfully appreciated.

Thanks very much

Dean

when you say your "computer wont boot from it", do you mean the computer is booting off another drive as suppose to the USB drive, or do you mean that it's not booting from anything at all?

It just seems to be ignoring it completely and booting straight from my other internal HDD with Windows installed

Not all systems will boot from external usb drives. Have you ever been able to boot from windows with this drive.

Haven't tried anything else on it - in BIOS it is recognised and allows me to move it around in the boot sequence (even recognises the make/model of the hdd inside the caddy) so assumed if that saw it ok then would be ok to install onto.

Hi All,

Please bear with me, this is my first attempt at installing OS X on a PC (we all have to start somewhere right !!).

Using this guide:-

http://######.com/software/osxusbnative.htm