MacOSX 10.4.8 JaS and VMWare - Sorted by me!

4 posts in this topic

Hey all,

Firstly, take it easy on me as i am new to both this forum and MacOSX :D

I have managed to get MacOSX installed in VMWare and it boots fine. I can even hear the intro video and then some guy start talking about VoiceOver or something... the only thing is, once it gets to the gray screen with the spinning circle - the circle stops the screen freezes whilst the rest carry's on in the background (the video, guy talking etc). If i press keys at random, i get the expected sounds (dum) but can't see a thing...

Any ideas? i would REALLY appreciated some help on this as i am so close... yet apparently so far ;)

Many thanks in advance for you response(s).

Get acquainted with the InsanelyMac forum and the OSx86 Wiki.

You'll see that successful installation within vmware dates back to at least summer 2005.

Some individual has recently centralized this accumulated knowledge from the community; I think he'll be easy to spot :huh:

You'll also get other information in the Tutorial (GeniusBar) subforum on how to install more recent (and better) versions of OSX natively.

You mean me by "some individual" right?

I successfully got JaS 10.4.8 and Uphuck 10.4.9 1.4ir3 (these are fairly recent, not old) to work but through rigorous testing I am pretty sure that I have determined that 10.4.10 is not compatible with VMware, which I think is solely because the 8.10.1 and 8.10.3 kernels are incompatible. It may depend on other factors but the newest kernel and version you can run on VMware are: 10.4.9 and 8.9.1 kernel.

@thebinaryman,