XSkey is not recognized under OSX86 10.4.6...

leopard2003

6 posts in this topic

Hello all,

This is my first time posting a question but I've gained all my info about OSX86 from this forum so I've been viewing for a while. I hope this is a simple fix since this is why I bought the parts to put together an OSX86 box. I bought Logic Pro 7.2 a few months ago and love it. I've been using it on my iBook g4 (1ghz 768 mb ram) and learned about OSX86. I built a custom Pentium 4 with 2gb of ram to simply run Logic Pro. I downloaded the Jas 10.4.6 image and successfully installed it. I've had all the other minor problems with this install (ac97 onboard audio, had to edit screen resolution) but works pretty well. Anyway, I've now installed Logic Pro but the XSkey is not being recognized by my USB bus. All my usb ports are working fine and have been tested using external harddrives. So my question is: How do I fix this XSKey problem? I've looked and looked for days to try and find a fix but i can't. So any help would be appreciated. I thought about downloading another image (like 10.4.8) and working with that or buying a PCI USB card to try. Anyway, please give me some advice if you can. Thanks in advance.

Henry

I can't be of much technical help but just for a hint, I'm running Cubase 4 and the Steinberg USB dongle was recognised straight away in 10.4.7 (that's the first OSX86 version I installed it in). I'm on 10.4.9 now and never had an issue. At least, this indicates that there's no systematic problem with hardware dongles.

I suppose your best bet is to try it with 10.4.8 and the 8.8.1 kernel - or even 10.4.9.

good luck

That is what I've heard. Synthology told me that Logic is runnig flawlessly on his 10.4.8 install so I'm in the process of getting it. Thanks for the replies. I'll post how it goes once I get 10.4.8 installed.

Henry