Clover UI and Code improvement

ITzTravelInTime

25 posts in this topic

Hi, since i started playing with clover's source code, i wanted to help by improoving the source code, mainly about the UI and the UI code which definelly needs work, so i have created this thread to discuss about this work i want to do.

First of all i am working on the menu.cpp file which is the file magaing clover's menus, this file (at the time of writing this post) is very crowded and packed with lots of stuff and the code quality isn't the best, the code is very repetitive and hard to work on, my objective is to improve the menu system and make easyer to work with clover's source in general (i also have some experience in the field of UI/UX other than coding in c/c++, so i can help not only with the code).

I also decided to ditch rewiting an ui engine from scratch (too labourious and the existing ui does the job) and i am oriented on refactoring existing work.

EDIT:

Some things that i think should be done are:

-Separating the menu.cpp file in multiple files to keep the code more organized

-Improoving variables and objects/types naming conventions

-Moove code with hardcoded UI strings to dedicated files

Ideas:

-Menu content and names revision

Edited by ITzTravelInTime
  • Like 5

Menu.c was written many years ago step by step so why it looks like spagetti. If you have an idea how to do this more common way then welcome.

I may advice you to check how it work in QEMU. This is much simpler and not required to reboot.

I can help to tune the way.

• Thanks 1

Oups, I had created this one

I can't delete it, I think.

I'm currently refactoring some things :
  - xml parser : a new parser is already done and will be integrated into Clover, replacing almost all of Settings.cpp
  - converting string (CHAR16* and CHAR8*) to XString[8,W]
  - converting buffer manually allocated to XBuffer

- is short : eliminating all Allocate(Zero)Pool and FreePool to get rid of all memory leak