Mojave 10.14.6 Update (2019-001) starts update install but reboots after a while, install fails.

Ragimund (HP Z820)

2 posts in this topic

Hi All,

Noob here asking Help or Hints,

trying to build my first Hackintosh from HP Z820. Almost done...

Read Z820 Sierra & High Sierra Z820 installation guides in this forum - following them I managed to create a Booting Mojave install USB and successful

installation of Mojave 10.14.6 in to SSD. Via Clover Boot view I can choose Mojave SSD and it boots Ok, logging in Ok.

Everything "looks" to work Ok.

-CPU recognised Ok.

-SSD & HDU Ok.

-GPU Radeon RX580, 2 x DP in use.

-Dual displays Ok (Full HD, no internal speakers)

-Wired LAN working (2 Wired LAN RJ-45 connectors, using the one without text label "AMT" (?))

-No Wifi (no dongle)

-Audio working: line out & headphones, airplay (ALC262, injected 28) Ok.

-Bluetooth dongle (Ebay) in USB2.0 port Ok (paired BT Speaker, Keyboard and Mouse).

-Front: 1 x USB2.0, 2 x USB3.0 (all as USB2.0 mode, I think).

-Back: 4 x USB2.0, 2 x USB3.0 (all as USB2.0 mode, I think).

-Back: Firewire OK/NOK ? Don't own any fw device at the moment, how to test, not important now.

Not yet signed to any Apple service, iCloud, etc. Not yet installed any other software except Clover 5098 and Hackintools 2.8.6

MY PROBLEM:

System Preferences is showing Update, Mojave 2019-001 (1.55GB). Safari was updated Ok with another smaller update.

I try to install the Mojave Update. It downloads it Ok, warns about needed Restart and after accept it starts to install it.

Apple logo visible, progress bar visible, text "Installing Software Update" visible. Progress bar shows a minor progress - stays almost in the beginning...

and Wham! - Rebooting :(

Logging in Ok, System Update window pops open and offers the same update again...

Have read plenty of articles from different Forums (sorry, I'm desperate, Noob) and I have a feeling that it relates to my Z820 USB's (maybe??).