Assus p5k pro Mojave install

smurff

6 posts in this topic

Hi insanelymac and all users, i have been trying to update my hackintosh from Yosemite 10.10.5 to Mojave with a fresh install but haven't managed.

My question is:

is it possible to install Mojave on a old system like mines.

Specs:

Assus p5k pro motherboard

LGA socket 775 intel Extreme x9650 cpu

GeeForce 8600 GT Graphics

Sata harddrive

I have Mojave install that i downloaded from the app store 6.03 size.

The problem i have ............

when i try and boot from the usb it does not boot at all, just a black screen with a cursor flicking top left screen, i have used Clover to make a bottable usb Mojave also i have used Mojave Patcher Tool for Unsupported Macs and still the same issue, i do have a bit of knowledge and not a complete newbie, im starting to think maybe Mojave is not possible to install on my machine due to old motherboard and i dont have much settings to play with regards to whats required in bios.

any help or advice would be much appreciated as i need this update badly as my old software wont upgrade on Yosemite and i don't have funds to buy a new machine.

Edited by smurff

On 2/7/2019 at 4:42 PM, smurff said:

Thank you InsanelyMacaholic thats why the installer wont start, i will give it another try in a mo and i will post my out come here.

Post Update .... installed thanks herve, i used a legacy option and all went well, now i will try and fix kexts

I counted my hens before they hatched .... its installed but not fully, im stuck on the last part where you input your language, my machine just restarts before that opens, i havent figured out how to copy the telemetry plugin.

I have 2 internall sata drive and the USB attached to the machine.

i press f8 to choose where to boot from.

i believe from looking at the location where the telemetry plugin should be placed is on the drive of new Mojave install