9 posts in this topic

Hi insanelymac and all users, i have been trying to update my hackintosh from Yosemite 10.10.5 to Mojave with a fresh install but haven't managed.

My question is:

is it possible to install Mojave on a old system like mines.

Specs:

Assus p5k pro motherboard

LGA socket 775 intel Extreme x9650 cpu

GeeForce 8600 GT Graphics

Sata harddrive

I have Mojave install that i downloaded from the app store 6.03 size.

The problem i have ............

when i try and boot from the usb it does not boot at all, just a black screen with a cursor flicking top left screen, i have used Clover to make a bottable usb Mojave also i have used Mojave Patcher Tool for Unsupported Macs and still the same issue, i do have a bit of knowledge and not a complete newbie, im starting to think maybe Mojave is not possible to install on my machine due to old motherboard and i dont have much settings to play with regards to whats required in bios.

any help or advice would be much appreciated as i need this update badly as my old software wont upgrade on Yosemite and i don't have funds to buy a new machine.

Edited by smurff

Advertisement

Yes, you can install recent macOS versions on that platform. However, that old nVidia card is obsolete for Mojave and you should consider replacing it by something more modern like an nVidia Kepler card (the only nVidia cards supported in Mojave) or an AMD model (GCN1.0 minimum).

C2D/C2Q platforms require a few adjustments/tricks to run Mojave:

1) the use of a Mojave-compatible SMBIOS (eg: iMac13,x) instead of good old iMac8,x/9,x/10,x that are unsupported

2) replacement of the telemetry plugin that causes KP and restart on non-SSE4.2 CPUs

See here for instance. You don't need to bother with the Mojave patcher tool.

Edited by Hervé

Thank you InsanelyMacaholic thats why the installer wont start, i will give it another try in a mo and i will post my out come here.

On 2/7/2019 at 4:42 PM, smurff said: