How do I install a second version of OSX on my Hackintosh?

PB_863

11 posts in this topic

Noob here :unsure: ,

Recently, I finally managed to install Mountain Lion (10.8) on my Hackintosh using a MyHack 3.3 installation guide and tools.  The MyHack site, which used to be located at myhack.sojugarden.com, is dead, so I had to get everything I needed from the WayBack Machine (one 2012 copy of the archived site can be found here: http://web.archive.org/web/20120624005309/http://myhack.sojugarden.com).

What I didn't know until later was that Mountain Lion no longer provides Rosetta, the PPC app emulator, which I wish to use on occasion.  So now I also need to install Snow Leopard (10.6), which includes Rosetta.  I want to install SL on a different partition on my main GPT hard drive.

But how do I do that?

All of the Snow Leopard Hackintosh install guides assume you're installing it from scratch on an empty disk and includes things such as installing a boot loader.  But if I understand correctly (and I certainly may not!), that could easily screw up my main Mountain Lion installation.

When I boot up Mountain Lion, the top of the boot screen reads: "Darwin/x86 Boot v5.0.132 | Chameleon svn2266 | MyHack 3.3".  I tried installing the latest version of Chameleon, but afterwards it would no longer boot from the hard drive (something to do with MyHack??), so I used Carbon Copy Cloner to restore a cloned backup and now it's booting again.

What would I have to do differently if I want to install Snow Leopard on it's own partition without causing Mountain Lion boot problems?

Thanks for your help, folks!

Hello

Make this:

In ML 10.8 use disk utility, and select your HDD and go to Partition tab

In this tab you goona see all your partitions... below partitions have a math signal "+" Press + and create another partition...

Give a name to this partition created and after that you just need install Snow Lepard retail in this new partition created ;)