InsanelyMac Forum
Applesaucer

How to boot my Hackintosh as a PC

Lo you all..  I'm a newbie to this site but could really use some help.  My specs are below.  I've been using this Hackint0sh for about 5 years (I did not build it) and it has been pretty much faultless; runs like a Mac (I've been running Macs since Mac Plus days, whew).  Anyway, this has been fine and I've never needed to startup as a PC until now. However, I may need to run some PC type applications-- but have forgotten how to start this up as a PC.  Anyone have an idea how to do that? 

I don't know how to code or use command-line.  

Leopard 10.5.8

Gigabyte EP45-UD3R

intel P45 express chipset

NVIDIA graphics card i.d. 0x0641

Antec enclosure

Darwin x86 bootv5.0.132

Chameleon V1.0.12

VesaV.3

Any help appreciated.

Advertisement

Hello!

The best way to run Win on the same machine and install it, is to install it on an other hdd. Disconnect your OSX hdd, while you install win. After finished installation you can reconnect your OSX hdd and select your bootdisk in bios or make Chameleon to recognize your Win7 hdd, so that you can boot Win7. For this are guides here. Just use the forum search.

Have fun.

thanks Styrian for good plan.  I see you're a major post here and I appreciate the expert help.  For the short term, though,  i'd just like to boot it in XP which is installed on it --mainly so a geeky pal can check out some specs on it.  Tryna figure out what's with the BIOS as it crashes badly on certain applications, esp. Adobe CS5 (mac vers.)  Later will put in a dedicated hdd.  When the builder sold the unit to me he told me the key combo at startup to prompt it to start in XP instead of Mac OS, but I ( duh) forgot it.  Any ideas?  

Hello!