1 post in this topic

I have never run into something like this (and I work as a network administrator on my campus at school with a much more complicated network). Let me describe the scenario and what I've tried so far to no avail:

There are two computers; let's call them "Hackintosh" and "PC". I'm replacing PC with Hackintosh in one particular room of my house (which is wired for ethernet), and I've just finished configuring Hackintosh in another room where it was connected to a different ethernet jack perfectly fine (full network/internet access). This hackintosh's motherboard is a Gigabyte EP45-UD3R, which while slightly old runs OS X flawlessly. I wrote a really popular guide (one of the first) back in the day for how to install OS X 10.6 on that motherboard, and am really happy with how much advancement there has been. Anyways, here's what I did:

1. After configuring Hackintosh in a different room connected to that room's ethernet jack (successfully), I then tried connecting it to two other ethernet jacks in the house and it was able to get an IP automatically through DHCP instantly (aka the machine and its network card are operational and properly configured).
  2. Before I disconnect PC in the room I'm moving Hackintosh into, PC's internet is working fine with the jack it has been connected to for over a year. I proceed to hook up Hackintosh to the same jack that PC was connected to, but OS X's network preference pane doesn't even register that it's connected to anything (it just says, "Cable Unplugged" etc). I tried two other cables that I know work (just in case) and that didn't change anything as I expected. Yet, Hackintosh is still able to obtain a DHCP IP using alternate jacks around the house.