Can anyone hel me in my quest to install Lion on PC?

Baldur2630

31 posts in this topic

I'm a retired Novell Engineer - sick of Windows! I have a number of PC's (all self-made, but before I discovered Mac on PC), We standardised on LGA 777. In the house there are 5 PC's (and a couple of older ones in the basement!). All LGA 775 except one and that's a Medion my daughter bought a few weeks ago!

I would very much like to start with this Machine 1 or Machine 2. I tried it on 1. The iATKOS DVD boots up OK. It seems to install with -v -x -cpus=1, but right at the end, it just dies. Here are the machine specs. If anyone has done this or can point me in the right direction, I'll be happy. I still have another machine with the same board, but different CPU etc. This is Machine 2.

For starters, would I be better to try to install Lion on Machine 1 or Machine 2?

MACHINE #1

Motherboard Name : Asus P5G41T-M LX

CPU Type : QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, 2400 MHz (9 x 267)

North Bridge: Intel Eaglelake G41

South Bridge: Intel 82801GB ICH7

RAM Total : 8191 MB Module Name : Kingston 99U5471-017.A00LF

Video Device Description : ATI Radeon HD 5450

Sound : Creative Audigy 2 ZS (SB0350) Sound Card PCI Enabled and used

Part of Video Card : ATI Radeon HDMI @ ATI Cedar/Park - High Definition Audio Controller PCI (not used)

Motherboard (Disabled) : Realtek ALC887 @ Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1] PCI

Hard Drive Controller : Intel® 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0

Drive #1 - WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 (596 GB)

Drive #2 - ST3500830AS (465 GB)

Drive #3 - ST3500830AS (465 GB)

CD/DVD-ROM Device Description : Optiarc DVD RW AD-7170S ATA Device

Network Card : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)

BIOS Type AMI

BIOS Version 0902

Machine #2

Motherboard Name : Asus P5G41T-M LX

CPU Type : QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300, 2500 MHz (7.5 x 333)

North Bridge : Intel Eaglelake G41