Dual booting lion and mountain lion

8 posts in this topic

Hello all

I have installed Mountain lion and Lion on the same hard drive its GUID 600GB two partitions on the lion partition I had Chameleon 1822 and when I tried to boot ML it would crash and reboot so I put the same SMBios in the extera folder of both and the same boot plist as I read around the forums most agree you have to use Chameleon 1820 so I booted into lion and insatlled 1820 and now ML boots fine and lion gets KP am I missing something? any advice would be great.

Thank you in advance

• Like 1

Hey Mac Geek, this is my forst post and i'm pretty new to all this, but i tried the same thing, 1 hdd, 2 partitions, Lion and ML, and the same thing happened, i could boot into ML but Lion would now get a KP. I erased the ML install and installed to a different hdd and everything booted just fine. I can't tell you why this happens on one hdd with 2 partitions or a fix for it, but i just wanted to let you know my experience

Hello all

I have installed Mountain lion and Lion on the same hard drive its GUID 600GB two partitions on the lion partition I had Chameleon 1822 and when I tried to boot ML it would crash and reboot so I put the same SMBios in the extera folder of both and the same boot plist as I read around the forums most agree you have to use Chameleon 1820 so I booted into lion and insatlled 1820 and now ML boots fine and lion gets KP am I missing something? any advice would be great.

Thank you in advance

i have both dual booted aswell and can boot into both of them without any problems. try installing chameleon 2.1 onto your drive with ML and then install chimera 1.8.0. this is what i was told to do and it works without any probs for me. hope this helps