Hello fellow geeks :)

MancunianCreative

9 posts in this topic

I'm a web designer from Manchester, I have a few Apple products, which have blown me away, since I made the switch a couple of years ago.

I had built a PC roughly ten years ago, and when I found a couple of years old tower in my storage unit, I thought I would try and convert it to a Hackintosh.

Since doing a bit of reading up on here. I want to now build myself a stonking Hackintosh in G5 case (not original, I know), that will fit in well with the iMacs in the office.

I'm primarily looking for it to work as a server and hold all of my work, keep the other iMacs and Macbooks running fast by not getting clogged up.

I've not attempted to run a server before, much less build a hackintosh, so I'm excited to see the benefits of doing both for me to work easier.

At the moment I work from home, run a 21" iMac, a 27" iMac my MacBook and my girlfriend uses her Macbook here too.

My 27" iMac (1TB) currently stores a lot of our movies and things like that. I would like to build something with a SSD to keep it quick, but have insane storage of 6-8TB so we can stream videos from that - will I need to link up Apple TV to the G5 to do that?

Plan to hook it up to a 20 or 23" Cinema display. I'm going to be looking around the forums for some ideas on what components I can use, methods for install in the G5 case, etc

Stephen

Welcome to the forum.

First of all I would not recommend using a hackintosh for your server, hacks often experience down time (due to system updates). As a workstation, fine, but as a server I think you'd be better off using a mac mini, unless you never plan on updating your server once it's actually up and running.

I did a g5 build at the beginning of the year...absolutely loved every second of it (car was finished so needed something to build).