Laptop : AMD Turion64 x2 (Dual Core) 1.6ghz / 10.4.6 OSX PROBLEMS

XeroCalibur

14 posts in this topic

Hey all, I am new to this whole mac installation on PCs thing... but I figured there was enough documentation out there, and there was a guide to install on AMD systems for 10.4.6 on the WIKI... so I went for it. Paritioning went fine, no FUBAR... Booted to HOTiSO release DVD for 10.4.6, formatted the partition for OSX, installed it, rebooted, added OSX to Win XP MCE boot menu... rebooted, selected... and then it didn't boot to OSX. Had a bunch of code from Darwin spit onto the screen, but eventually came to a halt, saying the Kernel had paniced, I believe.

I copied over the other kernel on the install DVD as per instructions found on the wiki article (even though my processor is DEFINATELY SSE3 capable, it's an AMD, so...)... and that seemed to change how it loaded, but it still gave me an error when trying to boot, and crashed.

All I wind up at is a black screen with white text, saying that it has failed to load.

As stated in subject, I have a laptop, it's an AMD Turion64 x2 (Dual Core) at 1.6ghz stock; 1024mb of RAM, 100gb HDD (30GB reserved for OSX)... GeForce mobile gpu...

Is there some sort of problem when trying to install to dual cores?

Someone, please lemme know... I really want to get this to work. Thanks much in advance.

If you need me to take a picture of this boot error, I will be entirely glad to do so... just say "when".

• 2 weeks later...
when

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v80/assa...p;addtype=local

Snapped some pics tonight with my webcam... Sorry, not the best quality... tried to get most shots / angles for you guys. School's been keeping me from getting these shots -- Precalc at 8am, and Spanish 202 is kicking my ass currently. But I'm doing great in my C++ programming class!

As Lord Rammjet has said many times, first try a clean install and boot using this command:

-v cpus=1