InsanelyMac Forum
  • Announcements

• Allan

Solution to create a topic or post.   04/24/2018

Hello guys. The majority of you are having issues to create a topic or post here. This are a problem with our current theme InsanelyMac.  Now the theme will be the Default IPS. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Mr Hypervisor

Read wiki and FAQ but noob still has questions!

Hi,

I'm new here, a bit of background,

Apple decided to announce x86 Macs and Windows compatibilty shortly after I bought a G4 Mac mini and a PC. It would be nice to run OS-X, Vista, XP (plus Linux, AROS, Amiga OS 3.9, Sky OS ;-) ) all on one box, and being that I will get peanuts selling my kit, I want to run x86 Tiger on my considerably more powerful PC until I get round to updating my hardware in a few years time (8 core MacPro by then).

I have been looking at the wiki and FAQ's on how to do this but I'm probably being a total noob but I still have a few questions.

1. Do I have to dual boot it or can I run it while Windows is running (non-native, virtualised)?

2. If I don't dual boot it what performance can I expect to get? It will be running on a 4800 X2 possibly overclocked. Can it handle Quartz Extreme effects?

3. To run it non-native, what version of VMWare do I need, VM Player, VM Workstation 5.5?

4. Can I use a legal x86 version of Tiger and then patch it or does all of this only work on patched versions from file-sharing sites?

5. Do I have even a remote chance of running OS-X on Virtual PC 2004? I think it pretends to be a BX chipset with a Trio 32/64 graphics card.

Best regards.

Advertisement
Hi,

I'm new here, a bit of background,