Raid question with mac Please help

9 posts in this topic

hey there

so i really want to iprove speed on my hdd, and i was thinking about raid, but i have ich9 and don't have any controller which can support doing it, so i found out there pci/e cards for it, but it's hard to tell from searching if anyone really work with osx, at least for raid setup.

so is there any way to do it? if so which card should i buy?

i'm running 10.6.7

thanks everyone

Hi Pi, long time no read.

OP:

You can also set up a software RAID via Apple Disk Utillity.

hey there!

thanks for helping with those links, one thing is i don't have any 4X,8X pci-e, only x1 pci-e, so those card can help me much, i found out there is RocketRaid 2300 or 2640 which can be helpful for me, but will it work?

now for another kind of question, sorry from dumbness on setting up raid, always heard about it but it's my first time doing it.

so i know there are software and hardware raid, and i don't really want to relay on a software raid

and my question is, beside driver for the card to work, what are the procedures i need to do in order to set the raid with the mac

do i set it up with the hardware controller and then install a fresh system? or install a fresh system and then do all the raid setup? is there anything i need to do during installation?

cause the SL installation on my system is without booting from cd, but from a working osx through OSInstall.mpkg,

so i only have access to disk utility through a working osx or leopard installation cd

sorry again for dumbness on this subject, i was searching around and found and read some things, but it's a bit confusing when it comes to hardware and success so i would rather ask,(better safe then sorry :)) and just clear the confusing a bit.

thanks for all helpers!

...it comes to hardware and success so i would rather ask,(better safe then sorry smile.gif)
Good point!