Dual Boot using two HDD

hdsalinas

7 posts in this topic

Hi,

This is the story of two hard drives,

HDD1 has two partitions: one with WinXP, the other partition is empty and is FAT32 formated so I can share files between both platforms.

HHD2 has the Mac OS installed.

Right now to use one OS or the other I have to phisicaly swap hard drives. I want to set the dual boot option. How do I set the hard drives to be able to dual boot? To I set HDD1 as Master and HDD2 as slave (or viseversa)?

My wife will be using my PC and she will only want to use windows so I dont want her to have to do anything to load windows when booting. Is there a simple software to do this?

I know enough about computers to build one from scracth and instal the mac os it, but I am not a programer and all that code is too intimidating. (specially when you dont know the OS that well)

Please let me know of a good and simple solution.

Guest bikedude880

Acronis Disk Director 10 is a good choice for this. It automatically detects operating systems on any hard drive physically attached to the computer and will present you with an option to boot said OS. You can even tell it to boot a default OS so that no user input is required during boot. The only downside is that it will slow down the speed of the boot.

Guest bikedude880

If the hard drives are hooked up to the PATA bus (which it sounds like they are), then you will need to have one set as the master and the other as the slave, with the master drive receiving the tail end of the cable and the slave getting the middle connector.

However, if the drives are hooked up to the SATA bus, there will be no jumpers (that I am aware of) in order for it to work.

you don't have to do anything... hold down F8 (I think) when you switch on, and it will ask which drive you want to boot from. Select your slave drive and OSX will boot. If you DON'T press F8 at boot, Windows will automatically load. Simple