Relatively new OSX86 guy needs advice

mdtauk

18 posts in this topic

First of all I want to apologise for posting one of these threads asking for help, having been a reader of these forums, I know the noob pleas for help do tend to irritate, so I will get that out of the way first of all.

Now, a few years ago I decided to try my hand at installing OSX86 on to my PC. I tried Tiger and Leopard installations, and after several attempts and research on here and the OSX86 wiki, I managed to get it working, and even managed to install a few combo updates as they came out.

So now I am a Windows Phone 7 developer/designer, and I wanted to try get up to speed with iOS UI Design. I boot into my Leopard OS, only to find iOS is at version 4 and the new SDK and Xtools needs 10.6.4 to run.

Now I took my time and decided to do it all again.

I have been trying for the past week to get a 10.6.4 install working, only to find many more problems than I had before.

Before I go on, here are my hardware specs...

• I have four HDDs running with SATA
  • No AHCI support in my bios, its set to IDE
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor not overclocked
  • A DVD Writer and Blu Ray Disc Drive, both SATA
  • Windows 7 running on a separate partition and drive to my Journaled formatted partition for OSX
  • Using the Windows 7 bootloader, with whatever bootloader comes with mac osx on the OSX drive
  • NVidia GT8800 graphics
  • Keyboard and mouse via PS/2
  • USB Belkin WiFi Adapter FD5050 V4 (Zydas Drivers worked in Tiger and Leopard)

• Motherboard MSI P35 Neo F
  • 4GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 RAM

Now I have 3 versions of OSX86 to try install

Hazard 10.6.6i (patched and unpatched), Hazard 10.6.2, and iAtkos S3 10.6.3

----------------------------------------------------