OSX on Lenovo IdeaPad Y560

heero_yuy

25 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums, recently I realized the frustration with using Windows 7 on campus with so little reliability, unsupported software and painfully long boot-times, despite the fact it has an i7 core...

Nevertheless I decided to give OS X a try, I've been googling here and there, there seems to be very little of my fellow y560 owners who ever tired this on their machines.

My goal for posting this Topic is to combine whatever info I can from whoever tried this before and start using that to make a reliable OS X install and make it easier for anyone else trying this on the same laptop, or maybe even similar ones..

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated from fellow owners or anyone with any experience on the subject...

as you can see I'm a total newbie on this, but I promise to give this as much as research as I can and post my findings here...

My Specs are as follows :

Intel i7 Q720 @ 1.60GHZ

ATI HD5730 Radeon

4GB DDR3 Ram

and a link with more details specs : http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/se...p;sku=T71-15635

Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post !

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, I just wanted to update on my findings uptill now...

I ran OS X 10.6.2 by Hazard using a windows host and virtualbox..

> Sound works sometimes, I didn't install VoodooHDA kext, so I'm guessing I cud it should be fully working when I do..

> Can't set any custom resolution

"already tried boot.plist workaround, doesn't seem to work, maybe i'm doing something wrong.. or maybe virtualbox is in the way somehow.."

> Legacy Kernel panicked, so I had to ditch that.. booted normally and nothing went wrong with the software at all..

> Ethernet works, using virtualbox's network interface, it's likely to work if it's installed on the hardrive too I guess..

> Wifi doesn't work, haven't found a kext for it yet..