Trouble with X1600 XT- Boris fix doesn't work!

11 posts in this topic

Hey guys- I have a Sapphire X1600 XT- 256MB PCI-Express- and I tried the Boris Badenov fix- and all it did was destroy my install- the top 1/3rd of the screen was blue and then the rest was just a mess- completely mangled. I figured I must have screwed something up, so I formatted, reinstalled OS X, and tried the automated installer- same deal- killed my setup...am I doing something wrong- or is there an alternative implementation of the Badenov method that I could try?? I am a bit of a noob but I know I am doing everything right...help??

Hey guys- I have a Sapphire X1600 XT- 256MB PCI-Express- and I tried the Boris Badenov fix- and all it did was destroy my install-

You are not alone in having problems with the x1600xt. I have the tv-out version of the asus eax1600xt and haven't been able to get it to work either.

Have you tried the boris method manually (i.e. without NeoPheus' installer)? It's in the Genius Bar section.

NeoPheus' installer is a great thing for some, I'm sure, but the lack of stderr output and general documentation is a problem.

i too had NO luck whatsoever with the asus eax1600xt silent. i think i'm going to 'ebay' mine here in a few days.

i switched to the sapphire card (actually I bought both cards in case i hit the snag that i did and boy am i glad i did that). the sapphire card (after boris's method) works now, minus sleep and DVI out...oh thank god!! :D

it's almost as though the asus card could eventually work but i don't know how or where to go to get the thing to work but didn't wanna spend the time on it either. it works with VESA 3.0 as a QE/CI card but once boris's method is in...nothing, they disappear. what a bummer. :D