Dualbooting Windows 7 and Snow Leopard 10.6?

HD!

5 posts in this topic

I want to do this without making any mistakes. Can someone guide me?

I have Windows 7 Ultimate latest release, an Intel Core 2 Duo laptop (Sony Vaio VGN-N31S).

How do I install SL onto my laptop along with my old W7 with all my files and software unaffected and me being able to dualboot the two OSs safely and quickly?

I also have an external storage drive of 320GB.

Thanks

-Backup win 7 on external drive

-split you hdd in two partitions

-restore win 7 to one of the partitions

-install snow leopard on the other partition

-install chameleon

-replace boot file and add your custom kexts creat mkext

ready

-Backup win 7 on external drive

-split you hdd in two partitions

-restore win 7 to one of the partitions

-install snow leopard on the other partition

-install chameleon

-replace boot file and add your custom kexts creat mkext

ready

OK I'm new to EVERYTHING here so I'm gonna need a little clarification.

So how do I backup the whole W7 to an external drive?

Now what do I do? I've got W7 installed in my laptop but what do I do?

OK I'm new to EVERYTHING here so I'm gonna need a little clarification.

So how do I backup the whole W7 to an external drive?

Now what do I do? I've got W7 installed in my laptop but what do I do?

looking at all the threads the only way to do it is by having another Mac OS installed and then installing SL from that. Then installing bootloaders kexts and what ever else you might need to for your laptop

As for backing up win7 you can use the backup and restore option...just type back up in the search field on the start menu and it will come up and you can choose where to back up etc.

you can leave win7 installed and partition the drive

go to disk management and right click on the hard drive win7 is on and choose shrink volume

that will partition the drive for you and you can have a second drive to install Mac OS.