How can I find out what kexts, patches, fixes, etc. I have installed?

lieferant

5 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I successfully installed iPC 10.5.6 PPF6 on my Dell Optiplex GX270. Altough I needed 5 attempts I finally managed it.

The problem however is, that I didn't write down what kexts, patches, etc. I used for my final and working attempt... :(

So how can I find out what kexts, patches, etc. I have installed?

I already had a look into system/library/extensions, but as I'm new to OS X I don't really get it...

so please help me find out what kexts, patches etc. I installed!

Many thanks in advance.

That doesn't tell him which kexts are modified and which kexts are clean though. But he can see which ones are non-Apple kexts.

Another way to do the same thing is opening System Profiler and clicking 'Extensions' in the list.

You'll need a lot of work to do that :)

If you haven't delete your log, try this, type console in spotlight.

Look for something say install.log.???.??? (mine is install.log.1.bz2).

It's under LOG FILES > var/log

Here screenshot of mine show original setup

th_82375_console_122_974lo.jpg

Maybe just maybe if you patience enough to scroll through bottom you'll find all your custom patches. ;)

It also helps to know what are the most common things that get modified, removed or added on a Hackintosh OSX install.

Off the top of my head, but there is more than this..

DSMOS.kext or AppleDecrypt.kext (never delete this, it's mandatory for installing OS X on non-Apple hardware)

Powermanagement (APIC/ACPI kexts, whatever the name of the kext that takes care of battery management on laptops)

IOPCIFamily.kext

USB kexts

Removal of AppleIntelCPUPowermanagement.kext, or

A disabler.kext (a handful of variants with various names exist) which can prevent it and other kexts from loading.

Modified AppleSMBIOS.kext or SMBIOS enabler (there are many different ones)