No LAN on ASUS P5Q Deluxe

114 posts in this topic

I wonder if someone can help, I'm pretty new to all this. I've just finished my first Hackintosh build (see below for spec) and I've got iDeneb running on it. Everything is working except the Ethernet.

Strangely Ethernet worked fine under iDeneb 10.5.6 (although little else did), updating to 10.5.7 fixed all of the other problems but the Ethernet disappeared.

This is what the ASUS manual says about my LAN:

Dual Gigabit LAN controllers

Marvell 88E856 / 88E8001 Gigabit LAN controller

featuring AI NET2, Teaming and Redundent

This is what System Profiler says:

Ethernet:

MAC Address: 00:0a:95:a6:12:1a

Media Options: Full Duplex, flow-control

Media Subtype: 100baseTX

Hardware Type: Broadcom 5421

This is the machine spec:

Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad 2.4GHz 1066MHz FSB

ASUS P5Q Deluxe

Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 GPU

Corsair Dominator (2x2048MB) DDR2 PC2-8500 1066MHz 2x240pin DIMMs

OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt PSU

Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATAII 32MB Cache Dual Processor Hard Drive

Pioneer DVR-216 20x Int. DVDRW SATA

Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120 VX (CPU Cooler)

Lian Li PC-8B Case

If you could phrase any answers as if you were talking to a complete idiot that would be cool, as you are in fact speaking to a complete idiot. As a long time Mac user even the thought of coding brings me out in a cold sweat, and until a couple of weeks ago I'd never heard the word BIOS.

Never the less, any help or advice would be really gratefully accepted.

Cheers,

simon

I think I've almost sorted out the problem, I just need a tiny last bit of help.

The LAN controllers on the P5Q are definitely Marvell 88E856. When I did a standard install of iDeneb 10.5.6 it automatically installed the IONetworkingFamily.kext (which supports this controller).