Help a nood build a Hackintosh

14 posts in this topic

Well guys/girls, I am brand new to the Apple scene, my gf just got the new Macbook and I love it... I'm not really a laptop fan and the Mac Pro's are a little too expensive for my budget... I am looking to build a fast, reliable Hackintosh, with minimal hacking required to get it up running... Looking to install Kalway 10.5.2...

So, can anyone please help me out with picking everything out so there will be minimal to no hacking required... I've built a few PCs within the last few years, so I am somewhat knowledgable on installing it... I have a 20" HP monitor that I will be using for now and I want to be able to connect my 32" samsung LCD tv to watch movies and stuff... I am looking to have all componant working, like sound, ethernet, usbs... Budget is around $1000

What I'm looking for a a

Core 2 Quad setup with MoBo (thinking about Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600)

4 or 8GB RAM (prefer 8GB depending on price)

.5 to 1TB harddrive (depending on price)

2 dvd burners

pretty good graphics card (nothing cheap but not the best)

pretty good sound card (for 5.1 surround, nothing cheap but not the best)

Built in bluetooth and wifi (Prefer PCI for both)

Mini Case w/ power supply and fans (clean looking case, nothing fancy or goddy, the smaller the better) (I reallt like the Mini P180 White case, what do you guys think?)

Also will the Apple Wireless Keyboard & Apple Wireless Mighty Mouse work?

Good plan, but the 8800 is a highend card. I'd suggest the 8600 GT if you want a medium end card.

Thanks, I'll look into that card... I was wondering can I use a Mac Pro casing?? I found 2 on eBay and that would be pretty cool to use...

The 8800GT is not that high end of a card any more. I would go with it or the 9800GT as the price seems to be better on those. Plus there is new support out for the 9800GT now with the new MacBooks and MacBook Pros.