Latest and greatest

6 posts in this topic

Total noob questions:

;)

Just about to dive into my first Hackintosh. I'm thinking about doing this because I already have a Mac Pro that I use for work but the Mini isn't cutting it for gaming in the living room. The challenge of building my own system also sounds like it could be rewarding.

1. Can I expect to have a Mac-like experience after I've gone through the build and set everything up (nearly crash-free, quiet, not much ongoing tweaking)? Or, should I expect to get what I paid for (it'll run 4 times worse than an equivalent official system at 1/4 the price)?

2. What would you recommend in terms of hardware ingredients? I'm looking to build a decent gaming system (8800GT) with a 3+ GHz Dual Core processor. I'd like to have FireWire available for my EyeTV.

3. Finally, is it worth the extra $ to buy something pre-built (like a Dell desktop)?

Thanks very much.

Josh

Answers to your questions..

1. Yep it would crash very easily, and it's more unstable than a real Macintosh. If you do not install any system updates you should be fine. At least fine on Vanilla installs on Intel procs. On AMD systems, practically all updates must be patched. Depending on the hardware, you might need to constantly tweak things (for me every bootup/restart I have to sleep and wake my computer to get Bluetooth and sound to work, quite a wierd solution for Lenovo computers...). Depending on your hardware you might also have noisy or quiet machines...

Kernel Panics are also very common (especially when installing OS updates...)

3. If you do not want to build your own computer, you can buy those pre-built computers... but bear in mind that most of them do not work fully at all. You must buy external USB equivalents..

oh and Boot Camp does not work on Hackintoshes...

and assuming you do not know anything about Hackintoshes, here's some explanations...