I am paranoid that I have a Trojan. Help!

bballrock

6 posts in this topic

Just so you all know I am a huge computer newb so I would really appreciate help. So I have been reading about the Trojan's that were made for Mac. I think I might have stumbled upon one. I am sure I am not infected but I am so paranoid. The thought of someone being able to use my iSight camera and see me, or getting all my passwords is pretty much stressing me out.

So I clicked on the video link and The ActiveX error popped up. I didn't click OK or anything but my Mac automatically downloaded something. Checking the download it was a codec. I can't tell you exactly what it was because I immediately deleted it fearing it could be a virus or something. It was something along the effects of xcodec.7.exe. I know that isn't correct but I googled the correct codec and got results that said it was a dangerous trojan.

I am not even sure if it was a trojan for a mac. This will be really hard for me to explain. On the list of downloads the icon for the codec was just the blank white sheet. The same white sheet icon that is next to all downloads that do not work for mac. You know the type that if opened just open up textedit. Well anyways it was deleted immediately, I never put in my password to install anything.

I then promptly downloaded MacScan, Avast, DNS Changer Removal Tool, iAntiVirus, and ClamXav. I used them all and no virus or trojan was found. I actually ran most of them multiple times.

I checked my DNS numbers and there were two that were gray. I checked my roommates DNS numbers and he had the exact same ones. I then checked my internet plug-ins folder and didn't find the notorious plugins.settings file. Then I went into terminal ran scutil and verified that my DNS numbers were the same in scutil and in my network preferences.