The Hackintosh, worth it?

13 posts in this topic

hey all! Been lookin around the forums for some time now, dipping in and out of the info on here and I actually ordered my new PC based on some of the specs found here.

I'm pretty sure all the hardware I've used in my PC will support OSX and I'm sure the installation of it will be a pain, but it'll be at least possible!

I've kind of wanted a mac for a while now since I started studying and working on a more regular basis within the music industry, particularly on the production side of things; and I really want to have some home based machine to run Logic 8 and Final Cut Pro. This would all be well and good if I had the money to fork out for an extra Powermac or a macbook pro but unfortunately I don't. So I think what if I get a 2nd hard drive, stick osx on iit using some of the techniques found here... and bobs your uncle!

but will he really BE my uncle? I'd love to think that logic and final cut and everything will run smooth as if osx were running on a mac, but I can't help but have that thougt of past technological experiences with 'doing things I'm not supposed to'...

so my question to the community: Just how stable and reliable is a hackintosh? Will I be able to run Logic 8, Final Cut and other things stably without any major issues?

Thoughts etc would be very much appreciated!

Also apologies if this is in the wrong section!

Regards,

Christov

It's as stable as your hardware is compatible, imo. If you bought a good chipset[intel/gigabyte/asus/others, NOT nforce/sis/crappy] and cpu/graphics card, you're pretty much set, especially if you do one of the boot-132 methods of installing. I particularly like Munky's EFI partition idea. It's awesome.

Also, moved to Buying Thoughts, etc. forum.