Jump to content

ATi Mobility Radeon x1700


  • Please log in to reply
808 replies to this topic

#41
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime & Manga

Tiger (10.4.10) : http://www.mediafire.com/?72zqtodn9mj

should work.... My F3jp has the same EDID like you
will test leopard in a bit...

cheers
Fry


Finally I can get QE/CI work . I am on Leopard 10.5.1 using Vanilla Kernel . My recommend is don't use kexthelper , just do it yourself by terminal . Thnks lemnisk8.

@lemnisk8 : I stuck at 1024x768 too . If I add ATIinject & ATINDRV from 10.4.5, I get a garbabe screen . If I don't use ATIRadeonX1000.kext then ATIinject & 10.4.5 ATINDRV can get me full resolution but no QE/CI . Use older IODNRV , IOPCI get me nothing. Still no kernel panic in all case .

PS : With ATIRadeonX1000.kext I also have mouse tearing .

#42
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime & Manga
Yahooo , I can get full resolution with QE/CI on Tiger 10.4.11 using Vanilla Kernel . No mouse tearing , no strips , all thing work great . Big thanks to lemnisk8, kozlowski, modbin . You guys is heroes .

I'm using lemnisk8 's X1700 Final Tiger files to achieved this result . But I can't use included ATIinject & ATINDRV , so I use my own ATIinject & ATINDRV which give me full resolution in past .

I upload my file in case anyone need it .

PS : I 'll try with Leopard later . Ah , I think in addition to upload our files we should note about how to edit kext manually so we can understand better & modify newer kext with ease .

Attached Files



#43
righteye

righteye

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
Ok ... Success on Leopard BrazilPatched for my AsusG2P x1700 graphic card. No mouse tearing, full hardware accelerated Qe/Ci enabled.
Here are the files that made this possible http://rapidshare.co...eopard.zip.html

One thing for all of you using this ... i hope there will be the new files soon ... so that we can have in system profiler the total of VRAM that is 512MB not 256.

In Tiger something is missing or i cannot figure out why can get the Qe/Ci ... but hey ... is a good progress.
Thanks for help to all. Cheers!

P.S. Someone tried to do the update 10.5.1 and after to re-patch the kernel?

#44
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime & Manga
What a day , man ! Full resolution , QE/CI , no mouse tearing , no strips , no garbage on both Leopard & Tiger :rolleyes: . Another thank to lemnisk8 .

Here is my conclusion ( only with F3JP & X1700 ) :

+ Leopard :
_ First , I am using Leopard 10.5.1 with Vanilla Kernel but I think it should work with any version & kernel .
_ Second, I only need to modify 3 files : ATIRadeonX1000 , ATIinject , ATINDRV . kozlowski had mentioned about ATIRadeonX1000GA & ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver but I don't need it ( we 'll test about it later ).
_ Third, use my uploaded file & modify ATIinject with your EDID . It should work with any X1700 ( about 256MB & 512MB , can someone with 512MB do the test & report ? )
_ Fourth , I can't get any luck with ATIinject & ATINDRV of righteye & lemnisk8 . So if my files don't work try with righteye & lemnisk8 's .

+ Tiger : I 'll fresh install Tiger , discover what the file is really need & edit later.

I think I 'll have break , man . It 's my gaming time :hysterical:.

PS : Everybody with X1700 please try & report .

Attached Files



#45
harry68

harry68

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

What a day , man ! Full resolution , QE/CI , no mouse tearing , no strips , no garbage on both Leopard & Tiger :( . Another thank to lemnisk8 .

Here is my conclusion ( only with F3JP & X1700 ) :

+ Leopard :
_ First , I am using Leopard 10.5.1 with Vanilla Kernel but I think it should work with any version & kernel .
_ Second, I only need to modify 3 files : ATIRadeonX1000 , ATIinject , ATINDRV . kozlowski had mentioned about ATIRadeonX1000GA & ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver but I don't need it ( we 'll test about it later ).
_ Third, use my uploaded file & modify ATIinject with your EDID . It should work with any X1700 ( about 256MB & 512MB , can someone with 512MB do the test & report ? )
_ Fourth , I can't get any luck with ATIinject & ATINDRV of righteye & lemnisk8 . So if my files don't work try with righteye & lemnisk8 's .

+ Tiger : I 'll fresh install Tiger , discover what the file is really need & edit later.

I think I 'll have break , man . It 's my gaming time :) .

PS : Everybody with X1700 please try & report .


Hi, i have a 512MB V5250 and can test it. Can you do me a favor and modify it to 71D4 which is the ID of the V5250. It use a Thinkpad T60p, hence you can copy the EDID data from above. <harry>

#46
torpie13

torpie13

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Damn, I can't figure makin it working in my F3JP!!!! even with the files that you gave me lemnisk !!!
I'm using Uphuck 1.3 macosx 10.4.9.
I'll try to make more tests and give you feed back!
Cheers

#47
finetuned

finetuned

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Music
Hi,

I tried your files (thanks for taking the time!) on Leopard (ToH install). I first removed ATIinject.kext and restored my original Leopard ATINDRV.kext, then installed your kexts, but unfortunately, I got a kernel panic. When I booted [-f -v -s] using F8 at startup, then typed [exit] to boot, the system would start, but just the old streched 1400x1050 resolution and no QE/CI support. :-(

I'm unsure if I need any other files, so please, (and harry68 will probably like it too), could you help us get it set up on our 0x71D4 ATI V5250 on our Thinkpad T60p's?

Thank you very much!

Regards
Stan.

#48
lemnisk8

lemnisk8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
ok... heres what I did... 4 QE/Ci

the info.plist in RadeonX1000 has a vendor ID 71DE, which also happens to be x1700...

so I changed it to 71D5...

then in the folder MACOS, using 0xed i replace every DE71 with D571
saved it...
then replaced the original RadeonX1000 with the new one
(this was enough for tiger 10.4.10)

for leopard I also had to modify RadeonX1000GL plugin (as explained by kozlowski)

Finetuned: you should try modifying these files again I could have made a mistake...

also try it on tiger its easier....

I'll try and figure, if i can find more info

cheers

Fry

#49
harry68

harry68

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

ok... heres what I did... 4 QE/Ci

the info.plist in RadeonX1000 has a vendor ID 71DE, which also happens to be x1700...

so I changed it to 71D5...

then in the folder MACOS, using 0xed i replace every DE71 with D571
saved it...
then replaced the original RadeonX1000 with the new one
(this was enough for tiger 10.4.10)

for leopard I also had to modify RadeonX1000GL plugin (as explained by kozlowski)

Finetuned: you should try modifying these files again I could have made a mistake...

also try it on tiger its easier....

I'll try and figure, if i can find more info

cheers

Fry


Hi,

i reviewed the file you made for finetuned. Well, yes a typo (worng ID) in the ATIRadeonX1000GA.plugin. Check for the key below <key>CFPlugInFactories</key> <dict>. QE/CI works but with mouse tearing.

#50
finetuned

finetuned

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Music
Hi harry86,

What did you change that value to? it was like 100271D5, did you change it to 1002D571 ?
And Do you have 1680x1050 resolution working with QE/CI?

I did change it to 1002D571 but there was no QE/CI (no image at all, booted using [-f -s -v] and [exit], and then there was simply no QE/CI.

Thanks!

#51
marcobjorge

marcobjorge

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
Hi,

I've read the thread:
http://forum.insanel...showtopic=36812

I've read this thread.


These were the instructions I got from post no5 of lemnisk8 (I got to learn to use quote...)
enable root from utilities>directory services
under edit>enable root
change password

In terminal type su
then chmod & chown the kext files

don't use Atiinject.kext....

I got Leopard_X1700.zip from post no45.

There was no indication to set the EDID.
Do I have to do that? Do I edit all the plist.info?
I have'nt windows so I can't use pheonix.exe...I use debian, can I just emulate it? Or is there another program?

I've read a lot of posts like mine, from ppl asking for help. I really have tried to read all the posts carefully (all 19 pages of the other thread and the 3 from this one) but I really wanted to be sure of what I was doing...

EDIT: I use leopard (ToH) and I have a asus f3jp (ati x1700)

Thanks




#52
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime &amp; Manga
@finetuned,harry68 : I think you dont need to modify GA.plugin , just modify ATIRadeonX1000 & GLDriver . I 'll post detail instruction.

@marcobjorge : About EDID , you can get it in debian distro using "sudo get-edid | parse-edid". If your EDID is same as me , you can use my file .

Some basic knowledge for newbie :

a) To replace a kext :
Run terminal
sudo -s --> type your password
cp -r /System/Library/Extensions/file.kext /Backup/Extensions (if you don't need backup,skip it)
cp -r yourpath/file.kext /System/Library/Extensions
chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions/file.kext
chown -R 0:0 /System/Library/Extensions/file.kext
touch /System/Library/Extensions
exit
sudo -k

:D To edit info.plist : use property editor included with xcode or download it here

c) To get your EDID :
+ In windows , use phoenix editor
+ In Debian distro use "sudo get-edid | parse-edid"

d) To insert your EDID to info.plist
+ Group your EDID like this (its my EDID) :
00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 06AF7421 00000000 010F0103 80211578 0A1CF597 58508E27
27505400 00000101 01010101 01010101 01010101 0101C71B 00A05020 17303020
36004BCF 10000018 0000000F 00000000 00000000 00000000 00200000 00FE0041
554F0A20 20202020 20202020 000000FE 00423135 34455730 32205631 200A00AA
+ Use property editor to replace include EDID with your EDID

e) To check QE/CI :
+ In top left , click apple icon --> about this mac --> More info
+ Choose Graphics/Displays --> if you see "Quartz Extreme: Supported" then :(


I 'll give details instructions . This is applied to Leopard , Tiger is similiar but I don't have more time to try with Tiger.

Step 1: Edit your ATIRadeonX1000.kext
+ Use 0xED to hex edit ATIRadeonX1000 binary file in ATIRadeonX1000.kext/Contents/MacOS
Replace all "DE71" with your id (in my case is D571) . It should be only 2 replacements
modbin had mentioned about replace "74420F87A500" with "EB420F87A500" but I don't know exactly what is this so this is your choice to include it or not
+ Use property editor or text edit to replace "71DE1002" with your id ( in my case is "71D51002" )
+ Replace org kext with your edited kext . Reboot . With this you can get QE/CI but still 1024x768 resolution & mouse tearing .

Step 2: If step 1 don't get you QE/CI , maybe you must edit , ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver.bundle ,
+ Show contents of "ATIRadeonX1000GLDriver.bundle", hex edit the binary inside /Contents/MacOSX and replace DE71 entries with your own (mine : D571) , just like you did on step (1). Save the file.
+ Replace org files with your edited files .

Step 3 : replace org ATINDRV.kext with 10.4.5 ATINDRV.kext .
Step 4 : modify ATIinject.kext with your EDID & device-id and add it to your extensions . Reboot & enjoy .

Some interesting notes :
+ Try replace files (exclude ATIinject) , reboot then add ATIinject later .
+ Don't boot with -v -f if you had inserted ATIinject.kext , it will give you a garbage screen . You can safely boot with -v or -f or -v -f -s.
+ If you get a screen but don't have any icon ,dock, ... delete all @1, branch in your ATIinject
+ Try to delete thing about vram in ATIinject if it don't work .

PS : My included file is edited for F3JP X1700 with device-id 71D51002 . If yours is not 71D5 modify your own ATIRadeonX1000.kext , don't edit my included file . You can safely use my ATIinject with your EDID & device-id

Attached Files



#53
finetuned

finetuned

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Music
Success!!!

It works!

thehuan (and everybody who made this possible), thank you very much!

I only did steps 1 and 3 edit: and step 4 and it works!

Full 1680x1050 with QE and CI support!

#54
marcobjorge

marcobjorge

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
Just to report sucess with ati1700@f3jp.

Just installed the kernel extensions and done. Thanks to thehuan!

#55
lemnisk8

lemnisk8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
awesome../
k.. does any one with F3JP get the audio to work completely with headphones and mic?

#56
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime &amp; Manga

awesome../
k.. does any one with F3JP get the audio to work completely with headphones and mic?


I have tried with codec dump in internet but don't work . When i have time , I 'll take my own codec dump & try again .

@finetuned : you don't need ATIinject ?

PS : I sill finding a way to use new ATINDRV because the 10.4.5 version is not really stable at boot time . Anyone have information about ATINDRV & ATIinject please post so we can have a better understanding .

#57
finetuned

finetuned

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Music
Ouch!
Yes I did also install ATIinject.kext, so in fact I did step 4 as well. My bad!
Anyway, it works :)

#58
cielbleu

cielbleu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Korea
I need HELP!

I tried lemnisk8's Leopard Driver(ATI Leo.zip) + thehuan's Leopard Driver(Leopard X1700.zip).

I edit device id of ATIinject.kext and put my EDID.

First boot I got trouble, BLACK SCREEN. No backlight.

After delete ATIinject.kext, I can see screen. CI/QE is enabled.

Can you tell me how to make Leopard driver for X1700? or Can you make Leopard driver for me?


1. My device id 1002-71D5

2. EDID
Hardware ID : SEC3445
00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 4CA34534 00000000
00100103 80211578 0A87F594 574F8C27
27505400 00000101 01010101 01010101
01010101 01018319 00405020 0A301020
13004BCF 10000019 0000000F 00000000
00000000 000A3C04 64000000 00FE0053
414D5355 4E470A20 20202020 000000FE
004C544E 31353458 332D4C30 330A0088

Hardware ID : SEC3446
00FFFFFF FFFFFF00 4CA34633 00000000
000F0103 80211578 0A87F594 574F8C27
27505400 00000101 01010101 01010101
01010101 0101932E 90A0601A 1E403020
26004BCF 10000019 0000000F 00000000
00000000 003CD202 64030000 00FE0053
414D5355 4E470A20 20202020 000000FE
004C544E 31353450 312D4C30 330A0054

3. Screen Resolution
1680x1050

Thanks for reading

#59
thehuan

thehuan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ho Chi Minh - Viet Nam
  • Interests:Computer Sciene , Games , Anime &amp; Manga
@cielbleu : I reccomend you replace kext one each time . Follow my steps on previous post , don't rush . Your device-id is 71D5 same as me , so you can use my file . Just replace your EDID in ATIinject . I suggest you try with only branch @0, . In my case , it doesn't work if any @1, exists .

Remember that 10.4.5 ATINDRV.kext is really important , replace your org with it or you get a black screen .

PS : try one EDID at a time & try another if you get black screen . Hope you will soon succeed .

#60
Zaiden

Zaiden

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
I've been trying all this methods without getting anywhere all the afternoon ;)

I'm using a Thinkpad T60p (the version with the FireGL v5250) with OS X Tiger 10.4.8 (I think is the same finetuned have)
If I'm right, my device id is 71d4-1002, but no matter what I try, I can't get to enable QE and use the native 1680x1050 resolution.

Does anyone have the Kexts I should be using?
Thanks a lot for your patience!!!

Zaiden





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy