Jump to content

The Official Dual Booting Thread


  • Please log in to reply
543 replies to this topic

#101
Coffee and TV

Coffee and TV

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
Okay, I am trying to install OS X on a separate HD. I have 3 HDs, a 200gb IDE (XP Storage), a 250gb SATA (XP Boot), and a 300gb SATA (where I want to put OS X).

Whenever I get to the install menu off the OS X Boot DVD the only HD it recognizes is the first 200gb one that is in NTFS and is currently holding most of my saved documents and downloads. I'd really like to see if there is a way to make the OS X install recognize the 3rd 300gb HD which is currently un-partitioned (i was going to partion it in the OS X install).

I mistakenly posted a thread about this in Mac Dual-Booting, so appologies for that.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

#102
tbnext

tbnext

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
hey guys, new to the forum, just got the tri boot up and running, to save myself the headache i used 3 seperate hdds the trick was in the order, first installed osx, then winxp media center edition (didnt' really want it but wanted to fool with the xbox 360/media center stuff, then i loaded up ubuntu, after that i threw GRUB in the MBR, it worked fine, but the OSX never showed up in the GRUB startup menu, some screwing with chmod of the boot/grub/menu.lst and quick editing fixed that right up, if any one wants more detailed instructions pm me. well thats how i got all three OS's to boot, now to get everything working...

#103
g0ldr4k3

g0ldr4k3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
:gathering:

#104
Guest: goodtime_*

Guest: goodtime_*
  • Guests
I have a poor man's dual boot method.

Windows 2003 Server one one 80 GB SATA Drive.
Mac OS X 10.4.6 on a 2nd SATA DRIVE
Home directory for Mac OS X on a 3rd SATA Drive.

If I need to boot windows directly, I change my 1st boot drive in BIOS to the Windows Drive. Most of the time, this Machine is in Mac mode.

I also use Parallel's Virtualization software still while in OS X when I need to access Windows Quickly and don't not want to quick a large download via Bit Torrent from OS X.

I might one day try to dual boot two Hard drives, but the BIOS workaround works for me. Love my Mac OS X! :-)

Has anyone tried to see if Boot Camp would work on a PC? Just curious to know what would happen.

#105
mergedallhere

mergedallhere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
the chain0 method doesn't work for my Myzar's Mac OS X x86 10.4.5. i only can use Acrnis OS Selector to dual boot with my active Windows XP

#106
GaMerZ84

GaMerZ84

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Singapore

the chain0 method doesn't work for my Myzar's Mac OS X x86 10.4.5. i only can use Acrnis OS Selector to dual boot with my active Windows XP

My boot.ini get chain booting error and my OS selector cant find my Mac Partition =(

#107
Kiko

Kiko

    You Dont Understand Me

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,889 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:United States Of Israel
Yep i just got it working . A tri boot on one Hard Disk. (SUSE 10, OS X 10.4.6, Win XP)

First method: Tried the boot.ini method. it didnt work. I had to reformat my hard disk.
Second Method: Grub and Win Grub worked for about 5 reboots then stopped working.
Best Method: Changed the Bootloader from GRUB to LILO and it worked perfectly, no fiddling with options or anything. And it is still going strong after a fresh install of XP ;) :D :D

#108
a2000rick

a2000rick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
Hi,

I've installed 10.4.6, and im trying to find the chain0 file but in /usr/standaone/i386 i only have boot.efi

When i use "ls-l" it says that the total files in the directory are 264, but i can only see one.

Thanks

#109
a2000rick

a2000rick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
I couldnt find the chain0 file on my computer ( probably because im not root ... and i dont know how to become one), but i copied the chain0 from my other laptop with 10.4.5, and it worked.

#110
pcdthebum

pcdthebum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
just set up dual boot with osx 10.4.5 and XP. did it the easy way, just reformat, make 2 partitions, installed osx on the first and xp on the second, then installed acronis os selector, and now on start up it asks if i want to boot into xp or the unknown os.
this is on an inspiron 6000. I have XP working great, just like it should, now time to get osx working. i think i should be able to get everything but widescreen working right.

#111
kristie_jeff

kristie_jeff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Ok, I have read every post in this thread, and any others I could find here and on google about dual booting xp and osx, but I am still having issues.

If the answer to my problem is known, please point me in the right direction and I will read whatever you give me.

I have 1 hard drive 80gb. Foxxcon 915gl systemboard, p4 805 or 806 cpu
I boot with the 10.4.6 dvd (with jas ppf inserted), use the disk utility to partition the drive. I just selected "2 partitions" from the drop down menu. The top one (first) was formatted HFS and the second with msdos
I installed osx and after the reboot, everything is fine
Restart the comptuer and boot from my xp setup disk
I format the dos partition to NTFS and install xp
upon reboot I get "missing operating system"
Following many different posts here, I have tried a lot to get it working
Booting with the osx dvd again, startup disk only lists the install dvd as a startup device, no hard drives/partitions
I booted with Ubuntu 5.10, ran terminal as root and used fdisk /dev/hda, I turned the boot flag on for osx partition and off for ntfs
still I get missing operating system
What am I doing wrong?

#112
werty37

werty37

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Hi everyone

i installed mac os x in my pc and restarted. but i didnt see any option for macos.
I already have a tri boot pc with ubuntu dapper, win32 and win64. I have installed
grub boot loader in the mbr. grub boot loader is installed in dapper.
So if anyone can help me to bring the menu for macosx
in grub, that would be very helpful

othe details:

install type - sse2
partition - 10gb, hfs journaled case-sensitive
m/b - 915gav
processor - intel 3.0 ht
ram - 1g
media -dvd rw
hdd - sata 120gb
mouse - ps2
k/b - ps2 windows kb
monitor - samsung 17"

Thanks in Advance

werty37

#113
DrJgermeister

DrJgermeister

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,028 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in France
  • Interests:Sex, drugs and rock & roll

Hi everyone

i installed mac os x in my pc and restarted. but i didnt see any option for macos.
I already have a tri boot pc with ubuntu dapper, win32 and win64. I have installed
grub boot loader in the mbr. grub boot loader is installed in dapper.
So if anyone can help me to bring the menu for macosx
in grub, that would be very helpful

othe details:

install type - sse2
partition - 10gb, hfs journaled case-sensitive
m/b - 915gav
processor - intel 3.0 ht
ram - 1g
media -dvd rw
hdd - sata 120gb
mouse - ps2
k/b - ps2 windows kb
monitor - samsung 17"

Thanks in Advance

werty37


Here:
http://forum.osx86pr...topic=16674&hl=

#114
Dynamite

Dynamite

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
I'm lost. I looked everywhere i could for a solution to this and i bet it must be super simple... but i don't know.

I want to dual boot OSX and XP
I install WIn XP first, (I use the installer to partition my Drive)
then I insert OSX installation DVD, and format the other partition (non-XP) into MAc OS Extended (journaled). I i reboot after formatting (or after formatting and installing, but just rebooting after formatting is enough), Windows XP refuses to boot: System Error

Any suggestions?
thanks

#115
Dynamite

Dynamite

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
As my test continue, it seems that Windows refuses to boot (Error Loading SYstem) as long as there is an HFS+ partition (formatted by Disk utility) even without installing OSX on it, and even after re-isntalling Win XP

My system is nothing really incompatible...

Asrock 775twins-hdtv motherboard with Xpress 200
Seagate 120 GB SATA
Intel P4 630 3GHZ

#116
kristie_jeff

kristie_jeff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Ok, I have read every post in this thread, and any others I could find here and on google about dual booting xp and osx, but I am still having issues.

If the answer to my problem is known, please point me in the right direction and I will read whatever you give me.

I have 1 hard drive 80gb. Foxxcon 915gl systemboard, p4 805 or 806 cpu
I boot with the 10.4.6 dvd (with jas ppf inserted), use the disk utility to partition the drive. I just selected "2 partitions" from the drop down menu. The top one (first) was formatted HFS and the second with msdos
I installed osx and after the reboot, everything is fine
Restart the comptuer and boot from my xp setup disk
I format the dos partition to NTFS and install xp
upon reboot I get "missing operating system"
Following many different posts here, I have tried a lot to get it working
Booting with the osx dvd again, startup disk only lists the install dvd as a startup device, no hard drives/partitions
I booted with Ubuntu 5.10, ran terminal as root and used fdisk /dev/hda, I turned the boot flag on for osx partition and off for ntfs
still I get missing operating system
What am I doing wrong?



I seem to have fixed my problem. I re-ran the setup from the dvd and now osx works, and I am still able to boot to xp from the startup menu (f8). We'll see how long that lasts :angry: :gathering:

Jeff

#117
arthurson

arthurson

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
i just follow the instruction and make it work for me
having xp already and other partition for data storage
using myzar 10.45 to format non-xp partition and install it without error
reboot again, error
using windows 98cd to boot up the machine and make the xp partition active by FDISK
copy chain0 from 10.45dvd to c: and add this sentence to boot.ini
c:\CHAIN0="Apple Mac OS X x86"
that's easy

#118
Wuahaha

Wuahaha

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
My first partition is WinXP and second is MacOSX. After I installed 10.4.6, the boot selection disappeared and it straight boot to MacOSX. I wan to get back the dual boot menu. Can someone post me the content of "com.apple.boot.plist" for dual booting WinXP and MacOSX? Thanks alot!

#119
BuS-BoY

BuS-BoY

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
hi i am new to the whole dual booting thing but i have just dual booted OS X and windows xp and i have a minor glitch in the OS X though. It is a little choppy. I belive it is my dual core AMD 3800+ processor. Is there something i can do to make it less sketchy because it almost seems as if it processes in blocks? Also i have an ATI Radeon x850xl PCI-E. This also will not let me go past the resolution 1024x768....is there a patch to correct this. help with these problems would be much appreciated.

#120
joern_ki

joern_ki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
problems with dual boot after a clean install that works fine as a standalone...


hi!

i got my osx 10.4.3 installed on a second harddisk on the first partition (normally disk1s1 or secondary master in that bios).

but... i only got it recognized and installed when i changed the hd to the first master or disk0s1... i opened my pc and changed the bus cable...

in this combination i can boot osx really fine and some kinda fast...
but... in this configuration i don't have that win xp disk (which is normally disk0) at hand (cause it's unplugged) and my secondary slave which normally is my second DVD drive and burner will not be recognized in osx (only my first DVD drive which isn't a burning drive)...

when i reconfigure my drives (XP on disk0 - bootdisk and first master, DVD drive as first slave, osx on disk1s1 and secondary master, DVD burning drive as secondary slave) windows will load correct... i get that boot menue and choosed osx... the darwin boot loader is appearing and counting 5 secs... then starts darwin, the apple sign comes up and after ca. 3-5 minutes it hangs with a no parking sign...

i used boot.ini and that chain.0 file to try dual boot and in that bootfile.plist of darwin/mac i statued a time countdown of 5 secs.

i tried the same procedere in verbose mode... and after showing up some drivers (usb and firewire) it hangs again...

then that well known message appears: still waiting for root device...

thats my problem! why is the hard drive not recognized??? darwin boot loader shows after stroking F8 the right start partition and begins to load drivers... but i think darwin IS using the start up informations from the right partition... (i don't have another osx drive or osx DVD running)

any suggestions?

i don't like that idea of always having my pc open and unplug and change manually drives on the bus cable...

btw... if i got osx started it works pretty fine... and relativly fast so that you can work with InDesign and Acrobat for example...

joern





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy