Jump to content

"Intel Pro Wireless 2915abg" or "Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet" on Mac OS X 10.4.8


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
LazyGus

LazyGus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
How do I get Intel Pro Wireless 2915abg or Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet to work with Mac OS X 10.4.8. I have tried several guides for both of them but I can't get it to work. I would really like to get an internet connection, feels a bit useless without it.

If you can help me with this you will be my new hero!

#2
decaturguy

decaturguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi i have Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet too, i downloaded this driver http://forum.insanel...t...ost&id=3114

To get on-board ethernet working - added by Embries.

Head to this post to get the .kext - http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=129533

Instructions:

@Gellius31: try the following instructions

1. unpack AppleBCM5751Ethernet.kext.zip

2. move AppleBCM5751Ethernet.kext to /System/Library/Extensions/

3. open Terminal

4. sudo -s

5. chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/

6. cd /System/Library/Extensions/

7. chmod -R 755 AppleBCM5751Ethernet.kext

8. reboot

9. You will have MAC address of 00:00:00:00:00:00. Boot with ubuntu live cd, get MAC address of your NIC using ifconfig utility at terminal. Write it down.

10. Reboot to OS X, open terminal and set your MAC address manually:

sudo -s

ifconfig en0 ether <your mac address here>

Network should now be working!


i hope this helps, i'm a newbie and i don't use mac os that much, this days i've been playing with Vista och Linux.


SEARCH for "Broadcom" there is a lot of Broadcom posts/guides in this forum.

Edited by decaturguy, 04 March 2007 - 12:44 AM.


#3
LazyGus

LazyGus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
Thanks for the reply but I can't get it to work!
In the last step of the guide:
"ifconfig en0 ether <your mac address here> " I get an error:
"ifconfig: interface en0 does not exist"


Does you Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet work with mac os x 10.4.8 or should I maybe install an earlier veresion of the OS?

All ideas are welcome!

Edited by LazyGus, 04 March 2007 - 02:45 PM.


#4
decaturguy

decaturguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I think you need to edit the "Info.plist" file its inside "AppleBCM5701Ethernet.kext\Contents" the driver that you've downloaded.
maybe your vendor and device id is not listed in there.

<key>IONameMatch</key>
				 <array>
					 <string>pci106b,8</string>
					 <string>pci106b,9</string>
					 <string>pci106b,85</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,1648</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,165d</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,1696</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,165e</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,1659</string>
					 <string>pci14e4,1677</string					
				 </array>

mine is <string>pci14e4,1677</string>
u need to boot it windows or linux Livecd's to to look for your vendor and device ID. After you finish editing the file don't forget to fix the permission.

4. sudo -s

5. chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/

6. cd /System/Library/Extensions/

7. chmod -R 755 AppleBCM5751Ethernet.kext

8. reboot


open the terminal and type ifconfig press return, if u get en0 it means you card its found.

#5
LazyGus

LazyGus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
I did what you said and now the ethernet is working!! Thank you very very very much!!!!!!

Do you know how to make wireless work too?

Edited by LazyGus, 04 March 2007 - 05:36 PM.


#6
decaturguy

decaturguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I'm sorry but i don't use wireless with mac but i tried it once with a cheap usb wireless and it worked after i downloaded the driver from chip maker.
There are some people here trying to port Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG Driver for Linux to mac. maybe they can help you.
Here is the link to that thread http://forum.insanel...showtopic=36976

If the driver for your card is not available try to buy those cheap usb wireless. there is a list of working cards here in this forum. please use the search button.
The card that I've tried is BELKIN usb 802.11g 54 Mbps v4000 (also known as v4). But i don't recommend this card after reboot it needs to be unplugged and replugged.

Good Luck.

#7
LazyGus

LazyGus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
Thanks for the answear.
I've already tried that one but it doesn't work, but I got the ethernet working now thanks to you so it's not such a big deal.

#8
cup4leafs

cup4leafs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi guys. i followed these directions and was able to get my connection working. thanks. but, the connection only works until i reboot again and then i get a message that the driver was installed incorrectly and i have to follow these directions again, everytime i reboot. is there a way around this?

#9
Logica#1

Logica#1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
G'day All,

I've got a Broadcom NetXtreme ethernet as well running 10.4.8 on a Thinkpad R52. I've followed all the instructions given above and still can't get the ethernet to work.

When I type in "ifconfig en0" in terminal, I also get the error "interface en0 does not exist.

I've checked in the plist if my vendor id and device id are there, they ar -

pci14e4,167d

Done all the repairs, etc.

Can anyone suggestion other possibilities to try??

many thanks in advance!!

I think you need to edit the "Info.plist" file its inside "AppleBCM5701Ethernet.kext\Contents" the driver that you've downloaded.
maybe your vendor and device id is not listed in there.

<key>IONameMatch</key>
				  <array>
					  <string>pci106b,8</string>
					  <string>pci106b,9</string>
					  <string>pci106b,85</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1648</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,165d</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1696</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,165e</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1659</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1677</string					
				  </array>

mine is <string>pci14e4,1677</string>
u need to boot it windows or linux Livecd's to to look for your vendor and device ID. After you finish editing the file don't forget to fix the permission.



open the terminal and type ifconfig press return, if u get en0 it means you card its found.


G'day All,

I've got a Broadcom NetXtreme ethernet, that isn't working, as well running 10.4.8 on a Thinkpad R52. I've followed all the instructions given above and in this thread and still can't get the ethernet to work.

When I type in "ifconfig en0" in terminal, I also get the error "interface en0 does not exist.

I've checked in the plist if my vendor id and device id are there, they are -

pci14e4,167d

Done all the repairs, etc.

Can anyone suggestion other possibilities to try??

many thanks in advance!!

#10
MemoX

MemoX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi,

Work for me. But every reboot i've to change the mac address from 00:00:00:00:00:00 to mine.

Don't know how to fix it.

Any idea.

Thanks.

#11
enqubis

enqubis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey guys,

I also have the broadcom netextreme gigabit nic, my device id is 1600
I loaded the driver, and it shows that it is loaded, i have tried so many broadcom fixes for my dell d820 that when I load this driver up, my nic shows up as "en2"

when I try to:
sudo -s

ifconfig ether 00:19:b9:58:ce:04

I get:

ifconfig: ioctl (SIOCAIFADDR): Network is down


My first thought was maybe I should plug it in and then try, but same result, while there is a link, the system preferences does not show a difference weither there is a link or not, my dmesg shows:

AppleBCM5151Ethernet: 0 0 wakeUp - reset adapter failed
AppleBCM5151Ethernet: 0 0 wakeUp - enable - failed



Any Ideas??

#12
mujahid7ia

mujahid7ia

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
thanks, the method quoted above worked for my NetXtreme on a thinkpad r60 w/o editing the info.plist file!


thanks!

#13
nanagn

nanagn

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
hey i'm in the same situation as one of the guys above, i followed the guide and my vendor/device id is in their ( the 167d one) but i still get "ifconfig: interface en0 does not exist"

#14
3bood

3bood

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
hey guys
i have a proble with my notebook
i have
1- Broadcom 440x NIC
i know that MAC has the driver but for some reason it dosen't show
2- intel pro 2915 ABG wireless card

3- ATI R 9000 Video card 128MB

i was looking for the drivers to conig them but i came out with nothing :)

if any one can tell me where i can find them or how i can GET THEM TO WORK

thanks in advance.Posted Image

3bood

#15
Pyro2927

Pyro2927

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hey guys,

I also have the broadcom netextreme gigabit nic, my device id is 1600
I loaded the driver, and it shows that it is loaded, i have tried so many broadcom fixes for my dell d820 that when I load this driver up, my nic shows up as "en2"

when I try to:
sudo -s

ifconfig ether 00:19:b9:58:ce:04

I get:

ifconfig: ioctl (SIOCAIFADDR): Network is down


My first thought was maybe I should plug it in and then try, but same result, while there is a link, the system preferences does not show a difference weither there is a link or not, my dmesg shows:

AppleBCM5151Ethernet: 0 0 wakeUp - reset adapter failed
AppleBCM5151Ethernet: 0 0 wakeUp - enable - failed



Any Ideas??

I'm getting the exact same problem. It recognizes my ethernet card, but I get that error whenever I try to set my mac address. Does anyone know how to fix this?

#16
NGTS

NGTS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
It is working with my HP Desktop. I think the driver file is the key to the Gigabit Ethernet card issue.

#17
Truelies77

Truelies77

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi,

Work for me. But every reboot i've to change the mac address from 00:00:00:00:00:00 to mine.

Don't know how to fix it.

Any idea.

Thanks.


That's exactly my same problem with my Dell OptiPlex GX520... if I do an ifconfig, I see that the MAC address is always 00:00:00:00:00:00.

Thanks a lot in advance for any help.

See ya!
Truelies

#18
TinTim

TinTim

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I think you need to edit the "Info.plist" file its inside "AppleBCM5701Ethernet.kext\Contents" the driver that you've downloaded.
maybe your vendor and device id is not listed in there.

<key>IONameMatch</key>
 <array>
 <string>pci106b,8</string>
 <string>pci106b,9</string>
 <string>pci106b,85</string>
 <string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
 <string>pci14e4,1648</string>
 <string>pci14e4,165d</string>
 <string>pci14e4,1696</string>
 <string>pci14e4,165e</string>
 <string>pci14e4,1659</string>
 <string>pci14e4,1677</string
 </array>

mine is <string>pci14e4,1677</string>
u need to boot it windows or linux Livecd's to to look for your vendor and device ID. After you finish editing the file don't forget to fix the permission.



open the terminal and type ifconfig press return, if u get en0 it means you card its found.


This worked for me!! whoohoo!! I now have internet on my Acer hackintosh, no more booting to windows for internet.

FYI: I have a broadcom netextreme with: manufactid: 14E4 and device id: 1654


All I had to do, to get it working, was to change where it says: 165e to a 1654, so:

<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci106b,8</string>
<string>pci106b,9</string>
<string>pci106b,85</string>
<string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
<string>pci14e4,1648</string>
<string>pci14e4,165d</string>
<string>pci14e4,1696</string>
<string>pci14e4,165e</string>
<string>pci14e4,1659</string>
<string>pci14e4,1677</string 
 </array>

becomes...

<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci106b,8</string>
<string>pci106b,9</string>
<string>pci106b,85</string>
<string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
<string>pci14e4,1648</string>
<string>pci14e4,165d</string>
<string>pci14e4,1696</string>
<string>pci14e4,1654</string>
<string>pci14e4,1659</string>
<string>pci14e4,1677</string 
 </array>

..and change the mac address aswell, as it was just a bunch of 00000000000..


cheers everyone!
Vidar F.

#19
Noosymer

Noosymer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Hi,

Could someone tells me how to fix the MAC address in order not to have to change it at each reboot ?

#20
shoonik

shoonik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I think you need to edit the "Info.plist" file its inside "AppleBCM5701Ethernet.kext\Contents" the driver that you've downloaded.
maybe your vendor and device id is not listed in there.

<key>IONameMatch</key>
				  <array>
					  <string>pci106b,8</string>
					  <string>pci106b,9</string>
					  <string>pci106b,85</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,16a6</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1648</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,165d</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1696</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,165e</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1659</string>
					  <string>pci14e4,1677</string					
				  </array>

mine is <string>pci14e4,1677</string>
u need to boot it windows or linux Livecd's to to look for your vendor and device ID. After you finish editing the file don't forget to fix the permission.



open the terminal and type ifconfig press return, if u get en0 it means you card its found.


When you say edit the "Info.plist".. where is this file and after I edit this what do I do with it?

Thanks





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy