Jump to content

OS X for SSE (qemu)


  • Please log in to reply
416 replies to this topic

#41
DrJägermeister

DrJägermeister

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,028 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in France
  • Interests:Sex, drugs and rock & roll
No, OSX doesn't run natively on a SSE CPU but only with Qemu. I tried it long time ago with 0.7.2, 0.8.0 and a CVS Version .
I got OSX running in Qemu with only 192 MB and it was working.
Even if I gave OSX more RAM in Qemu, it was still very slow.
http://forum.insanel...?showtopic=5055


On the apple website, it says that you must have "At least 256MB of physical RAM" to run tiger. Seeing as Featherlinux is going to be taking up a small portion of the ram, we are going to need more than 256mb. I have tried with 256mb and I think that is what is causing OS X to crash so I think the minimum amount of ram that we need to get OS X running is 384mb. That's only a 256mb + 128mb.
What do you mean? Did they get it running natively or using qemu?

Dragon


Edited by DrJägermeister, 22 January 2007 - 09:21 AM.


#42
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum

Ok, the first is the error, the second is the Ext. Drive mounted on /dev/sr0 << the picture presents the contents that it actually is MAC OSX X86 10.4.6


Try booting from the 10.4.6 iso instead of the dvd.
Also when you start your knoppix cd, check what your cd is mounted as, at knoppix startup it says "searching for KNOPPIX cdrom at /dev/scd0".

Try copy the 10.4.6 iso into your root directory and run it from there.


@Pu7o
We are running linux in RAM which will hopefully increase the speed.

Dragon

#43
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum

No, OSX doesn't run natively on a SSE CPU but only with Qemu. I tried it long time ago with 0.7.2, 0.8.0 and a CVS Version .
I got OSX running in Qemu with only 192 MB and it was working.
Even if I gave OSX more RAM in Qemu, it was still very slow.
http://forum.insanel...?showtopic=5055


What distro were you using? and did you load it into ram like we are doing?
We don't just plan on running OS X with qemu. We want to make qemu load up on a super quick linux distro and let it perform as fast as possible.

#44
DrJägermeister

DrJägermeister

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,028 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in France
  • Interests:Sex, drugs and rock &amp; roll
It was long time ago (Nov 2005), I used a Suse 9.3 installation but it should work with every Distro (also live-CDs).
Maybe it will run a little bit fast faster if you are using a small linux Distro into RAM, but I doubt that it will be real fast ;)
Did you take a look at DSL Linux? It's very small (50MB), you can load it into RAM, possibility for remastering and it was already used for a similar projekt (Atari Falcon as live-CD based on DSL with ARAnyM emulator)
Remaster DSL:
https://www.eng.uwat...emasteringGuide
AFROS Live-CD as example:
http://aranym.source...net/livecd.html

P.S: I don't know if the Qemu binary in Featherlinux will work for OSX; for 0.7.2 and 0.8.0 I had to compile my own binary with a small modification (see the other topic)



What distro were you using? and did you load it into ram like we are doing?
We don't just plan on running OS X with qemu. We want to make qemu load up on a super quick linux distro and let it perform as fast as possible.


Edited by DrJägermeister, 22 January 2007 - 11:52 AM.


#45
Pu7o

Pu7o

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 351 posts

@Pu7o
We are running linux in RAM which will hopefully increase the speed.

Dragon

It'd still be faster it you did all that you're doing, but using PearPC instead of QEMU.

#46
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
Thank you for the info. I read the other topic you posted and compiled the modified source. I tried with DSL but it was missing things and I didn't feel like screwing around with it. But remastering DSL wouldn't be a bad idea. We can probably add the missing stuff.

Thanks for that,
Dragon

#47
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
@Pu7o

Emulating a whole different architecture would be faster than emulating x86?

#48
Pu7o

Pu7o

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 351 posts
I don't know the technical aspects of it, but I do know from experience that running OS X Intel on QEMU is slower than running OS X PPC on PearPC. Remember that in both cases, you're emulating a whole architecture, which means it basically comes down to what was better implemented.

#49
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY
It's all going to be ssllloooww :unsure:

#50
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
That is true, I guess. I have never actually used PearPC so I am downloading now and am about to give it a shot.

#51
Cruxado

Cruxado

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puerto Rico
Dragon,

I also tried aside from /dev/sr0 I also tried using /dev/scd0. No go. I guess I'll have to download that ISO file again. :unsure: No wait, I can just image the original DVD... duh... well am on it then.

#52
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY
I used PearPC back when things first got started 3.9/4.1. It works but is slow also. Pear was out done by VM.

I don't know if you can get Pear to work in the same way you're using QEMU :unsure:

#53
MacRetail

MacRetail

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
I would advise you to use PearPC, too. PearPC has processor acceleration, while QEMU hasn't (well, OSX86 doesn't work if you enable it).

In fact, there have been idea's for a 'PearPC OS' in the past. The concept of PearOS was identical (DSL LiveCD + PearPC...).

#54
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
Wow, what progress was made?

#55
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
Made a few attempts at compiling pearPC. DSL uses old packages... i'm going to sleep, try again in the morning.

#56
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
Got PearPC installed in knoppix. Just getting deadmoo image copied to the harddrive.

#57
Cruxado

Cruxado

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puerto Rico
I tried using MagicISO to compile the .iso file from the DVD... no go :(
Any other suggestion for a program? Perhaps PowerISO?

Re-Downloading the 4gig ISO sucks :D

#58
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Any other suggestion for a program? Perhaps PowerISO?

I like UltraISO.Premium :)

http://www.mediafire.com/?fbmwyjzwyot

#59
Cruxado

Cruxado

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puerto Rico
MAC OS X x86 10.4.6 DVD >> Use alternate Source >>>>

Create / Obtain MAC OS X x86 10.4.6 ISO >> DONE

Burnt Knoppix 5.1.1 CD >> DONE

Use Qemu >> Done
Used the following command: qemu platform=x86pc "graphics mode"="800x600x16" /dev/hda6



Post Results >> Errors

Error #1 = cannot load Kqemu
Hence I used the following command: qemu platform=x86pc "graphics mode"="800x600x16" -no-kqemu /dev/hda6

Error #2 = qemu does NOTHING
LOL, it says that it is booting from my HDD partition (dev/hda6) but that is about it.
Attached File  error2.png   11.66KB   72 downloads

Any bright ideas guys??

Edited by Cruxado, 24 January 2007 - 05:00 PM.


#60
Embio

Embio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
swear very loudly....?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy