Jump to content

Yosemite on VmWare Unusable

yosemite esxi vsphere vmware

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1
JasF

JasF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Hello Guys,

App named BeamOff can repair Yosemite poor performance on VmWare products, like VmWare Workstation or ESXi vSphere hypervisor.

Also it enable more FPS, smoothly dragging windows

 

Direct link for download "BeamOff": https://www.sendspace.com/file/sm9sf7

Manual, how to make BeamOff autostart when Yosemite start: http://support.apple.com/en-us/ht2602

BeamOff github source code: https://github.com/JasF/beamoff.git

 

other methods

'Quartz Debug' utility direct download link: https://www.sendspace.com/file/g73nim

 
Known issue: Not working on El Capitan


#2
clriis

clriis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I'm a bit new to OS X  :blush: . Could you please detail on how to find / execute the 'Quartz Debug' utility and how to change the setting.



#3
JJTagy

JJTagy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Excellent find JasF!!!! Yosemite graphics scream like Mavericks now! Now just to figure out how to make it permanent without the program running...

 

Thank you!

 

For those looking for Quartz Debug, log in through developer section of apple and download the graphics tools for Xcode 6.1 on 10.10.



#4
JasF

JasF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Updated  :)



#5
clriis

clriis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Thank you very much!!!



#6
eirikw

eirikw

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

Very good! I found out that you may start the beamoff binary from the command line by running 

sudo <path-to>/beamoff.app/Contents/MacOS/beamoff

...and it works! So, provided you put the beamoff program in /Applications/Utilities, you may have it automatically fixing your graphics at startup by creating the file beamoff.auto.plist inside /Library/LaunchDaemons with the following contents:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Label</key>
	<string>beamoff.auto</string>
	<key>ProgramArguments</key>
	<array>
		<string>/Applications/Utilities/beamoff.app/Contents/MacOS/beamoff</string>
	</array>
	<key>LaunchOnlyOnce</key>
	<true/>
	<key>RunAtLoad</key>
	<true/>
	<key>Disabled</key>
	<false/>
</dict>
</plist>

Upon restart, the graphics will just work.



#7
Twa

Twa

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

anyone know this bug with windows corners !? Screen%20Shot%202014-11-12%20at%2007.50.



#8
mrducnguyen

mrducnguyen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Superb JasF! You have saved my day. I've got very slow Yosemite on my VMWare, and your solution helped! Thank you!

Cheers,



#9
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,293 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Possible additional solution here https://communities....m/thread/493294.

Add a boot parameter to OS X:

 

sudo nvram boot-args=debug=0x10



#10
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Just a question.

 

Animation on http://www.google.co.uk/chrome/

 

in Safari on Y 10.10 on Workstation 10.0.4

 

is beyond tragic (that is with beamoff disabled)

 

Is it only me?



#11
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,293 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Just a question.

 

Animation on http://www.google.co.uk/chrome/

 

in Safari on Y 10.10 on Workstation 10.0.4

 

is beyond tragic (that is with beamoff disabled)

 

Is it only me?

 

No - graphics and sound are not great on virtualised OS X. There is no accelerated 3D driver for the VMware virtual video card.



#12
level4200

level4200

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

anyone know this bug with windows corners !? Screen%20Shot%202014-11-12%20at%2007.50.

 

Yep! Seeing this on workstation 10.0.4, Yosemite 10.10.1 using the graphics driver from Fusion 7.0.1

 

Did you find any solution for this?

 

The bug was also reported here:

 

https://communities....m/thread/494282



#13
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham (UK)

A new version of Fusion was released on 1st December 2014 (7.1.0), so should be an updated darwin.iso available soon on the CDS repository.



#14
level4200

level4200

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

A new version of Fusion was released on 1st December 2014 (7.1.0), so should be an updated darwin.iso available soon on the CDS repository.

 

I've installed the Fusion 7.1.0 tools from the darwin iso:

 

http://softwareupdat....darwin.zip.tar

 

Result remains the same. The corner artifacts are still there.



#15
pleasedonthasslehoff

pleasedonthasslehoff

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Thank you for the beamoff fix; this fixed my last issue with the VM running my TV and it now plays HTML5 videos very well.

 

Also if anyone has the issue of crackling output from digital audio (optical) out, for me it was solved in the BIOS. I disabled integrated graphics, the integrated SATA I wasn't using, the serial port, and everything else unnecessary. Now I have crystal clear digital audio again.



#16
HPReg

HPReg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Folks, thanks for raising your voice to let us know that this workaround works. We have implemented this workaround in the VMware Tools, that we will ship as part of an upcoming VMware Fusion release.



#17
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham (UK)

Folks, thanks for raising your voice to let us know that this workaround works. We have implemented this workaround in the VMware Tools, that we will ship as part of an upcoming VMware Fusion release.

HPReg,

 

I have seen your recent post in VMware Fusion (for Mac) VMware Community, please let us know when the workaround has been added to the VMware Tools (darwin.iso) for Fusion.



#18
level4200

level4200

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

I've installed the Fusion 7.1.0 tools from the darwin iso:

 

http://softwareupdat....darwin.zip.tar

 

Result remains the same. The corner artifacts are still there.

 

I've just updated to 10.10.3 and the corner artifacts are gone :-)



#19
SteveNotJobs

SteveNotJobs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi Guys

 

My Yosemite on Workstation 11 VM is a dog.  beamoff and Quartz Debug both make a big difference - but not for long.  The VM freezes under either - typically when scrolling Safari. 

 

Any ideas what I might have done wrong?  The proc is a i7-5820K and I've given the VM 2 cores and 8GB of memory.

 

Thx



#20
Mavaddat

Mavaddat

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Chess, feminism, veganism, social justice, philosophy, software engineering, language.

Yeah, me too... 

 

My Yosemite on Workstation 11 VM is a dog.  beamoff and Quartz Debug both make a big difference - but not for long.  The VM freezes under either - typically when scrolling Safari. 

 

I'm not sure, but I suspect it is a display adapter problem. 

 

 

I had the same problem with guest 10.6 installed on VMware Workstation 7 on WinXP host, and could not boot either right after install. Your workaround did help on boot, thanks! but then I found I could not switch to the native resolution 1440 x 900 that my monitor supports due to the maximum 1280 x1024 restricted by VMware Display setting.

I thought it might be worth to try adding the two lines in vmx file even though my guestOS is configured as darwin10,

svga.enableScreenObject = "TRUE"

svga.enableTracesReg = "TRUE

With the default VMware Display setting, i.e. "Use host setting for monitors" and "Accelerate 3D graphics" under "3D Graphics", the two lines did the trick! I am able to boot again with native solution supported by the monitor!


forgot to mention, Preview "Take Screen Shot" still doesn't work for me after 1.2 installed. and Preview could not open either png or jpeg files, but opening pdf files is fine.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy