Jump to content

Mountain Lion 10.8.2 + 6950 2GB = Bwah... HELP!

mountain lion 6950 2gb radeon HD compatible saphire AMD ATI

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
Luke Bussey

Luke Bussey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Hi all,
I've got a 10.8.2 iAtkos install on my Hackintosh at the moment.

It's using...
  • 8GB of Crucial Ballistix DDR3 1600Mhz RAM @1.5V
  • 3570K CPU @ standard clocks
  • GIGABYTE Z77-D3H motherboard @ F14 bios (F18 has usb problems, F14 works better)
  • Intel HD 4000 intergrated graphics (currently what I'm using - not happy with performance)
  • Saphire 6950 2GB Dual Fan edition on standard firmware. No unlocked shaders or anything, completely stock.
So basically, I've no problems with OSX, it installed fine (I needed to use -x on install and I had to delete a kernel patcher or something from my install USB), and it boots and runs fine with no boot tags necessary.

I'm not happy with it though, because at the moment it won't even boot unless I take out my dedicated GPU (the 6950). Once I do that it works fine, but it's annoying having to open my case every time I wanna switch between OSX and Windows.

So my question is - how can I use my 6950 with OSX ML? Or at least not have to unplug my GPU each time I boot OSX

I've heard that the 6950 does work with ML, but only on genuine macs and not hacktintoshes. On random forums and blogs people are claiming they've got their working - but never explained how. I've been trying to get all the info I can but it's all jumbled and different people are saying different things.

Does anybody have anything definitive they can tell me about if/how I can get my card working with OSX?

Thanks,
Luke

#2
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,975 posts
  • Gender:Male
GPU is unsupported. You must use the IGPU ie HD4000.

#3
carbo178

carbo178

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Local Moderators
  • 5,834 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dalle paludi della Pianura Padana
Hi, have you injected device properties key for HD4000 in org.chameleon.boot.plist?

<key>device-properties</key>


<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>



#4
Luke Bussey

Luke Bussey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

GPU is unsupported. You must use the IGPU ie HD3000.


Nope. Thanks for reply, but the GPU actually is supported, just without hardware acceleration in ML yet. I just can't get it working because I haven't got any of the custom kexts and I don't know the method.


Hi, have you injected device properties key for HD4000 in org.chameleon.boot.plist?

<key>device-properties</key>

<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>


Hi, I don't quite understand what this would do? My HD4000 works perfectly - it's just the 6950 that's causing problems with OSX. Thanks for reply :)

#5
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Moderators
  • 3,769 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain
delete all ATI kexts and repair permissions

#6
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,975 posts
  • Gender:Male

delete all ATI kexts and repair permissions


No need to do this. Just set the Intel HD4000 as main GPU in the BIOS and connect your monitor(s) to that.

#7
Luke Bussey

Luke Bussey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

No need to do this. Just set the Intel HD4000 as main GPU in the BIOS and connect your monitor(s) to that.


I tried this, assuming it would bypass by dedicated GPU, but for some reason it doesn't.

In my BIOS (It's the GIGABYTE UEFI) there are 4 options - Auto, iGPU, PCI, or PEG. PCI & PEG are both for dedicated, iGPU is effectively the integrated - but is associated with VirtuaMVP and stuff, so it still uses my 6950 somehow. Auto mode chooses the best option automatically - obviously the dedicated card.

Any other ideas?

Thanks :D


delete all ATI kexts and repair permissions


Okay will do. How do I fix the perms, with the kext utility? Do I need to add any others before removing them?

#8
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,975 posts
  • Gender:Male
Selecting IGPU in the BIOS should work fine.

#9
MacFaulty

MacFaulty

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Programming, programming, programming... AND scripting :)
I know this thread is reasonably old, but I finally got it working on my desktop by setting the integrated as primary and if you boot in the mac you switch the cable to your dedicated card right away to bypass the cold boot bug. After a fes mins you have a fully working desktop with your HD6950 as primary card.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: mountain, lion, 6950, 2gb, radeon, HD, compatible, saphire, AMD, ATI


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy