Jump to content

Is it really that easy to change the background color?

boot screen

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
nyolc8

nyolc8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
Yesterday I was on the "other" forum and somebody said for a guy, that you can change the boot screen (apple logo with spinner) background with a simple terminal command.
The command he wrote was this:
sudo perl -pi.bak -e 's;\xff\xff\xff\xbf\xbf\xbf;\xff\xff\xff\x00\x00\x00;g' boot
I understand that with this command, basically I change all the three 191(grey) colordata to 0(black).

My question is, this should really work? I searched the internet many-many times for this background color thing, and never ever found anything, and everyone said that it's not possible to change the background color of the bootscreen. So, it is really that easy to change the background color?
I wanted to ask before I try this, because I don't know how to recover my "boot" file if it gets broken.

#2
CooSee

CooSee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 566 posts
  • Gender:Male
why change ?

how often you boot ?

" never change a running system "

greetings

#3
nyolc8

nyolc8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
Because I can't get my bootscreen into 16:9 resolution, so in default I get two big black area in the two side of the screen, and it's ugly. I "fixed" the problem by making a big boot.png which have the apple logo in the middle, black background and has the same resolution as the bootscreen. But because of this, I don't see the spinner. By the way I boot everyday.

But do you think this terminal command could work?

#4
CooSee

CooSee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 566 posts
  • Gender:Male
it's just cosmetic.

make a Carbon Copy Cloner backup of your osx, install Chameleon on the Backup HD and try it yourself !

i won't risk it.

greetings


P.S. i found the site where you get this, ASK THEM, but don't blame me if it's not working !!!

#5
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Supervisors
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
hi nyolc8


I just tested this command and it works!!! the result is not very nice (black background) but it works!!! ;)

after this command, you'll have a boot.bak so if you don't like the result, you can restore the .bak file ! ;)

#6
nyolc8

nyolc8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary

it's just cosmetic.

make a Carbon Copy Cloner backup of your osx, install Chameleon on the Backup HD and try it yourself !

i won't risk it.

greetings


P.S. i found the site where you get this, ASK THEM, but don't blame me if it's not working !!!

I know it's just cosmetic, I just asked because the solution looks too easy when everyone said it is not possible.


hi nyolc8


I just tested this command and it works!!! the result is not very nice (black background) but it works!!! ;)

after this command, you'll have a boot.bak so if you don't like the result, you can restore the .bak file ! ;)

Thanks! Then i think you can set any color by changing the "x00"s to other color.

edit: works for me too, sadly I can't see the spinner with this solution too, but with this method I don't need a big 1280x1024 boot.png to get black bootscreen :D

#7
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
Or, you could try Clover and get a full boot screen and avoid hacks like this.

#8
nutric

nutric

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

Or, you could try Clover and get a full boot screen and avoid hacks like this.


Hi! Can you point me to a thread or guide that solved the black borders on the boot screen?

#9
nyolc8

nyolc8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
I read somewhere that this resolution problem is because some VGA card can't handle 1920x1080 resolution in VESA mode. So I think it's only possible with modded VGA ROM.

#10
nutric

nutric

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

I read somewhere that this resolution problem is because some VGA card can't handle 1920x1080 resolution in VESA mode. So I think it's only possible with modded VGA ROM.


I thought the exactly same thing since VESA resolutions are in the 4:3 format but figured that there were something new on this issue. Additionally the black borders occur even with the vbios resolutions changed... In my limited experience it is a strictly monitor related problem and cannot be changed by modding the vbios. Someone correct me if i'm wrong.

#11
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
I simply added:

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>PatchVBios</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>

To my config plist and I have a full HD boot screen, so Clover indeed patches the Video Bios and adds support for higher resolutions.


7:848  0:000   Bios: ATI, MasterDataTables: 0xCA948, std_vesa: 0xCA98C, ati_mode_table: 0xCA990, mode_table_size: 0x1F8 BT_ATI_2
7:848  0:000   VideoBiosPatchInit(LegacyRegion = Not Found, LegacyRegion2 = Success) = Success
7:848  0:000   VideoBiosUnlock:  unlocked
7:848  0:000   Patching: BT_ATI_2
7:848  0:000   Parse Edid: descriptor block 0 is timing descriptor (h_active: 1920, v_active: 1080, h_sync_offset: 88, h_sync_width: 44, h_blanking: 280, v_blanking: 45, pixel_clock: 60960, v_sync_offset: 4, v_sync_width: 5)
7:848  0:000   mode 0 (320x200) patched to 1920x1080
7:848  0:000   VideoBiosLock: Success


#12
nutric

nutric

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia
After some research i stumbled upon this solution aswell. Now booting in 1920x1080 res but still have black borders from underscanning. No solution to this yet for all i know





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy