Jump to content

Is there a way to change my mac's serial #?


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#41
GreenMac

GreenMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

I recently had my logic board replaced,

When I got my MacBook back, some silly repair-centre person had left a CD in the drive called "SetSysSerSum-3T100". The readme file shows it is a utility that when booted into, allows you to, easily with a GUI, change the serial number of any intel mac!

Kinda wary of posting the dmg here, but if there's interest..!


As a genuine (and $1100 poorer) MacBook owner who merely wanted to add a serial number to a replaced mainboard, I thank you sincerely for the .dmg. However, as a genuine (and paranoid?) MacBook owner, I urge you to remove the access to this software which will surely be used by nefarious thieves to try and legitimise their ill gotten gains. I know the pricks that steal them are usually too dumb to attempt this, but somewhere along the line there will be someone with (just) enough brains to do it.

#42
Tintin07

Tintin07

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Any news on the version for the 2.2 and 2.4GHz version ?

Had to change the logicboard on my water-damaged 2.4 MacBook !!

#43
TheSerialChanger

TheSerialChanger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Any news on the version for the 2.2 and 2.4GHz version ?

Had to change the logicboard on my water-damaged 2.4 MacBook !!



just for the record there are 3 versions of this serial changing software and as some one said before it it gets to the wrong hands they can cause a lot of harm, i happen to have all 3 even the one that works on the new 2.2 2.4 macbook and pro vertion. if any one lives in ny and want to set the number i can help but i wont share it sorry.

#44
Korrupted

Korrupted

    Wandering Samurai

  • Retired
  • 1,623 posts
  • Location:Wandering the world over.
  • Interests:Mac<br />Laptops
Why bother posting that you have it if you won't share it? Useless post.

#45
sonix22

sonix22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Because its illegal afaik...

I know how to change the serial of the LogicBoard (only tested on macbook pro 2.6), too...

#46
muralidhar

muralidhar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
is it possible to change to serial number of a macbook air? does the posted .dmg work for mac book air? is there a way to change serial numbers just with commands at startup? in open firmware, or you need to use a boot disk? my Air doesnt have a cd drive XD

#47
sonix22

sonix22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
i think yes (with my method), but i dont know it exactly :/
i think the dmg wouldnt work.
no, not wit commands, you need a bootable cd or usb stick with a special efi software (like the postet dmg, but that dont work anymore)
and macbook air has efi not open firmware?!

#48
b14k

b14k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I know how to change the serial of the LogicBoard (only tested on macbook pro 2.6), too...


I am very much interested -- I need this for a 2.4ghz macbook pro. If anyone can help, please PM me. Thank you.

#49
жижа

жижа

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
i think that if anyone wants to get this working for newer notebooks, they will have to try and figure out the grittier tech aspects of it. i myself have been trying, but lack the code savvy to draw any sound conclusions. i know that i could change the serial through the command line or through one of the various startup modes if i could find where it is and the format in which it is stored (probably a .string, but i dont know for sure). according to the original poster, the serial number is in NVRAM. as far as i can tell, this is not the case. perhaps other users will find this to be otherwise, but on my imac g5 (1gen) it is not here. you can derive conclusive evidence on this simply by opening terminal and entering
nvram -p
which will print the contents of NVRAM to the display. on my computer, the serial number is not among the items that show up.

it seems that the serial number is declared in the IOPlatformExpert header file in IOKit, but because it is a variable that will, well, vary depending on the computer, finding the actual value and storage location of such is something I don't quite understand. if anyone here has a deeper understanding of these things that me, please shed some light on this for us. i have a feeling that this is the only way that a functional means of doing this will be found.

edit: so in the IOKit.framework directory, there is a folder labeled serial. in this folder, there are two c header files. One is titled IOSerialKeys.h, the other ioss.h. The following tags contain their respective contents:

/*
 * IOSerialKeys.h
 *
 * 2000-10-21	gvdl	Initial real change to IOKit serial family.
 *
 */

/*
Sample Matching dictionary
{
	IOProviderClass = kIOSerialBSDServiceValue;
	kIOSerialBSDTypeKey = kIOSerialBSDAllTypes
			| kIOSerialBSDModemType
			| kIOSerialBSDRS232Type;
	kIOTTYDeviceKey = <Raw Unique Device Name>;
	kIOTTYBaseNameKey = <Raw Unique Device Name>;
	kIOTTYSuffixKey = <Raw Unique Device Name>;
	kIOCalloutDeviceKey = <Callout Device Name>;
	kIODialinDeviceKey = <Dialin Device Name>;
}

Note only the IOProviderClass is mandatory.  The other keys allow the searcher to reduce the size of the set of matching devices.
*/



/* Service Matching That is the 'IOProviderClass' */
#define kIOSerialBSDServiceValue	"IOSerialBSDClient"

/* Matching keys */
#define kIOSerialBSDTypeKey		"IOSerialBSDClientType"

/* Currently possible kIOSerialBSDTypeKey values. */
#define kIOSerialBSDAllTypes		"IOSerialStream"
#define kIOSerialBSDModemType		"IOModemSerialStream"
#define kIOSerialBSDRS232Type		"IORS232SerialStream"

// Properties that resolve to a /dev device node to open for
// a particular service
#define kIOTTYDeviceKey			"IOTTYDevice"
#define kIOTTYBaseNameKey		"IOTTYBaseName"
#define kIOTTYSuffixKey			"IOTTYSuffix"

#define kIOCalloutDeviceKey		"IOCalloutDevice"
#define kIODialinDeviceKey		"IODialinDevice"

// Property 'ioctl' wait for the tty device to go idle.
#define kIOTTYWaitForIdleKey		"IOTTYWaitForIdle"

#if KERNEL
extern const OSSymbol *gIOSerialBSDServiceValue;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOSerialBSDTypeKey;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOSerialBSDAllTypes;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOSerialBSDModemType;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOSerialBSDRS232Type;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOTTYDeviceKey;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOTTYBaseNameKey;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOTTYSuffixKey;
extern const OSSymbol *gIOCalloutDeviceKey;
extern const OSSymbol *gIODialinDeviceKey;
#endif /* KERNEL */

/* Copyright  1997 Apple Computer, Inc. All Rights Reserved */

/* ioctl's for all Apple IOSerialStream based streaming serial ports */

#ifndef _SYS_IOSS_H
#define _SYS_IOSS_H

#ifndef _POSIX_SOURCE

#include <sys/termios.h>
#include <sys/ttycom.h>

/*
 * External clock baud rates, for use with cfsetospeed
 */
#define _MAKE_EXT(x)	(((x) << 1) | 1)
#define BEXT1			_MAKE_EXT(1)
#define BEXT2			_MAKE_EXT(2)
#define BEXT4			_MAKE_EXT(4)
#define BEXT8			_MAKE_EXT(8)
#define BEXT16			_MAKE_EXT(16)
#define BEXT32			_MAKE_EXT(32)
#define BEXT64			_MAKE_EXT(64)
#define BEXT128			_MAKE_EXT(128)
#define BEXT256			_MAKE_EXT(256)
#undef _MAKE_EXT

/*
 * Sets the receive latency (in microseconds) with the default
 * value of 0 meaning a 256 / 3 character delay latency.
 */
#define IOSSDATALAT	_IOW('T', 0, unsigned long)

/*
 * Controls the pre-emptible status of IOSS based serial dial in devices
 * (i.e. /dev/tty.* devices).  If true an open tty.* device is pre-emptible by
 * a dial out call.  Once a dial in call is established then setting pre-empt
 * to false will halt any further call outs on the cu device.
 */
#define IOSSPREEMPT	_IOW('T', 1, int)

/*
 * Sets the input speed and output speed to a non-traditional baud rate
 */
#define IOSSIOSPEED	_IOW('T', 2, speed_t)

#endif  /*_POSIX_SOURCE */

/*
 * END OF PROTECTED INCLUDE.
 */
#endif /* !_SYS_IOSS_H */

taking a break now but will be back.

#50
sandraclarck

sandraclarck

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

i think yes (with my method), but i dont know it exactly :/
i think the dmg wouldnt work.
no, not wit commands, you need a bootable cd or usb stick with a special efi software (like the postet dmg, but that dont work anymore)
and macbook air has efi not open firmware?!


Hello,
I tried the 'famous' set system num serial boot CD found in the topic with my water-damaged intel macbook 2,4. Not working (doesn't boot) but I know there is something inside the dmg, opened it and explored it with FIlebuddy and found a great structure of files .
What is your working method ?
the 'special' EFI software you say it's needed would be " refit " boot CD ? (http://refit.sourceforge.net/)


S.

#51
mirrorthis

mirrorthis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Any updates?

Would love to learn how to do it with a MacPro tower of early 09 build.

#52
Tony Conte

Tony Conte

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Aikido, Music, Drawing and Mac :)
This thread is good, someone should make it sticky. :unsure:

And i bought my mb from apple so hoping it's no stolen :P
but if my serial number will have been gone on new motherboard then I'll use this method thanks! :)

#53
babloo

babloo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
after searching and searching : I found that there are 3 public tools to serialize the new logic-board ... for people with macbook pro core Dou the tool called Set_Sys_Ser_Num.dmg is needed ... with efi ROMs Core 2 Dou 2.2 / 2.4 and above the tool BBS " Blank Board Serializer Tool " is needed 3T106 /3T110 ....

I have all 3 tools : with my 2.4 C2D MacBook Pro early 2008 I could serialize my swapped logic-board . But the bad thing is that I miss-typed the number ( {censored} na ) ... now after rebooting with the tool again: a message comes out saying " this tool is only for blank boards " .... another {censored}

so, be careful you can only serialize once and only once with the tool ...

I know that I can send my macbook to an apple service center and have it re-serialized again ... but that is to hard for me as I need my notebook for work and private and cannot wait so long to have it flashed...

I found out that Apple service centers ( some of them, not all ) have a special tool to re-serialize ... this is the tool I need

#54
wtf69wtf

wtf69wtf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
Is there any new updates?
So this cannot be be done on a MBP that is retail, only the ones that have come back from service without a serial # right?

Thanks

#55
CoolDessert

CoolDessert

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Are there any new versions of the Serial CD or something just like that? I've a mid 2007 iMac 2,4GHz Intel 2 Duo with a new blank logic board (got it yester back from apple).

I'm looking for any solution to get my SN on the new logic board and I DON'T want to send me my back for another two weeks again!

So please, is there an option to do this?

#56
brainchill

brainchill

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Was there ever a resolution to this? I'm in the same boat and I'm not willing to mail this thing out again and wait for it to come back....


Are there any new versions of the Serial CD or something just like that? I've a mid 2007 iMac 2,4GHz Intel 2 Duo with a new blank logic board (got it yester back from apple).

I'm looking for any solution to get my SN on the new logic board and I DON'T want to send me my back for another two weeks again!

So please, is there an option to do this?



#57
Dopeyman

Dopeyman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

:)  Reviving an old thread  :)

 

Any updates to this thread? Any new versions? Will this work on a 2011 27" iMac i7?



#58
NotYourKindOfGeek

NotYourKindOfGeek

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I just wanted to make a lot of people happy but I almost gave up after having to follow so many silly questions about computer knowledge.  B)  So geek!!!

 

Last year I've upgraded my iMac hard drive and right after I've updated to Lion and just this month after wanted to use again Facetime I've noticed I didn't have the SN on it anymore, what the heck? Who stole it from me? From a lot of reading and searching I found out updating to Lion is on of the possibilities.

 

Anyway, I thought I'd find the answer at the end of this threat unfortunately the golden pot wasn't here. Almost gave up when I stump upon a German forum that linked me to an English link with exactly the link with we all have been looking for, one that would work with newer versions of mac.

 

I've done, I've tested and everything is working. Just make sure you get the correct SN, and the process makes sure you get your chills by asking you about it several times. :)

 

Here's the link to it. Use at your own risk!







4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy