Jump to content

[GUIDE] Lenovo ThinkPad T510/510i (plus T410 and W510) 10.6-10.7-10.8-10.9 all working OK! 2013.11.12 Update

lenovo lion t510 osx mountain lion

  • Please log in to reply
465 replies to this topic

#1
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel

OS X Lion on ThinkPad T510i:

ThinkPad T510i 4314-6BG (also works on T410, T410 AMT, T510 and W510)

Before asking it thread. Please fill data about your hardware and software. Without it I can't help


0_a1d97_54460065_orig.jpg
0_a1d98_63ca6ab7_orig.jpg
0_a1d96_1cd1e1fb_orig.jpg

0_a1d9e_d0030ba2_orig.jpg

0_a1d9a_bd7b5a60_orig.jpg0_a1d9c_e97dfcba_orig.jpg0_a1d9f_ccbd1fa6_orig.jpg

0_a1d9b_af92e8a5_orig.jpg0_a1d9d_63ce4c51_orig.jpg0_a1da0_9750dc5c_orig.jpg


Custom working WLAN cards in Lenovos


There is a list of current half and full size WLAN cards working native in OSX

I use Atheros AR5BHB92 (Atheros 9280) in my T510i + modded BIOS without whitelist check

And one important remark about full size cards in all lenovo lineup - WWAN slot is only USB or USB+mSATA capable on Lenovos, there is no mini-PCIe lines in WWAN slot - so full size cards won't work at all. Only way to drive it is to make some mini-PCIe cable extender for WLAN slot and place connected to that cable card instead of WWAN.

Half size cards

Atheros AR5B93


- 802.11 b/g/n

- single-band: 2.4GHz only. МасOS up to 150 Mbps, Windows up to 300 Mbps.

- PCI-id [168c:002a]

- Native in Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 и 10.8. AirDrop Works.

Atheros AR5BHB92

- 802.11 a/b/g/n

- dual-band: 2.4GHz + 5GHz. МасOS up to 150 Mbps on 2.4GHz and up to 300 Mbps on 5GHz, Windows up to 300 Mbps on both bands.

- PCI-id [168c:002a]

- Native in Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 и 10.8. AirDrop Works.

Broadcom BCM94322HM8L


- 802.11 a/b/g/n

- dual-band: 2.4GHz + 5GHz. МасOS up to 150 Mbps on 2.4GHz and up to 300 Mbps on 5GHz, Windows up to 300 Mbps on both bands.

- PCI-id [14e4,432b]

- Native in Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 и 10.8. AirDrop Works.

Full list of supported cards is here


Recent changes

 

2013.11.12

 

-OS X Mavericks update guide with links

2012.12.02

- Calibration profile for
 

1920x1080 AUO B156HW01 V5 95% Gamut screen

Attached File  dispcalGUI ThinkPad W520 Display 1920 2012-04-30 D6500 2.2 HQ 3xCurve+MTX.icm.zip   13.63KB   243 downloads


2012.11.29

- Fixed and tested with WWAN card whitelist in Lenovo T510 Bios file (T410 and W510 bioses was patched successfully before)

Sierra MC8781 works fine and depends on signal strength works UMPS or HSPA speeds

Attached File  Screen Shot 2012-11-25 at 21.43.57.png   48.14KB   131 downloads
Attached File  Screen Shot 2012-11-25 at 21.27.39.png   50.36KB   68 downloads
Attached File  Screen Shot 2012-11-25 at 21.36.10.png   54.52KB   60 downloads

2012.11.14

- Starting huge update of files for all T/W*10 Thinkpads lineup
- Added file packs for T410/T510/W510 for OSX 10.6/10.7/10.8 installation
- Added modified versions of Thinkpad's BIOS with removed whitelist for WLAN and WWAN cards

2012.10.02

Simple install guide for Lion and Mountain Lion

added T510 step by step patches archive
added T410/W510/W520 dsdts


2012.09.13

Kexts + dsdt + info update

2012.08.01

DSDT + Kexts update

2012.07.18

LAN kext updated for OSX 10.8

2012.07.14

OSX Mountain Lion easy install guide

2012.07.13

Files updated for OSX 10.8 GM Installation

2012.02.07


Latest DSDT with Battery indication fix and fan sensor fix by acediac, works del with Lion AppleACPI 1.4, but for now USB wake after sleep doesn't work well, hope to deal with usb soon



2012.02.05

Spoiler



2012.01.22

HDMI Audio freeze desktop after boot for about few minutes
I rollback some changes to dsdt and replaced older AppleHDA with no HDMI patch applied

Files here http://www.insanelym...dpost&p=1788533


2012.01.21

Spoiler


2012.01.17

Spoiler


Donations are welcome


btn_donateCC_LG.gif


Latest DSDT and kexts are included in archive below



Latest DSDT with Battery indication fix and fan sensor fix by acediac, works well with Lion AppleACPI 1.4, but for now USB wake after sleep doesn't work well

 



#2
gothic860

gothic860

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany, Bavaria
Hey,

thanks for Mini-Guide :king: . I tried the AppleHDA.kext but looks like it doesn't work with my W520.

Video - screen brightness values was corrected a bit

Can you explain how? Did you get the same brightness level after a reboot?

#3
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
For AppleHDA you need to add this code to your dsdt

After AppleHDA should work well

Screen brightness levels saved after reboot if i change it but scale levels not correct compare to ubuntu

On ubuntu I have linear brightness level changing, in osx I've got exponential growth from minimal brightness(screen is off, in ubuntu it's dim a little) to maximum, first 3-5 low levels increase brightness fast to about 70% of maximum, other do it with little steps.

If you know how to fix pwm-info section in video card settings in dsdt tell us, I have dump of brightness levels from ubuntu think it may help

		    Device (HDEF)
		    {
			    Name (_ADR, 0x001B0000)
			    Name (_S3D, 0x03)
			    Name (RID, Zero)
			    Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
			    {
				    0x0D,
				    0x04
			    })
			    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
			    {
				    Store (Package (0x0E)
					    {
						    "AAPL,slot-name",
						    Buffer (0x09)
						    {
							    "Built in"
						    },
						    "device-id",
						    Buffer (0x04)
						    {
							    0x69, 0x50, 0xF1, 0x14
						    },
						    "layout-id",
						    Buffer (0x04)
						    {
							    0x0C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
						    },
						    "model",
						    Buffer (0x1A)
						    {
							    "HD Audio Conexant Cx20585"
						    },
						    "name",
						    Buffer (0x11)
						    {
							    "Conexant Cx20585"
						    },
						    "device_type",
						    Buffer (0x11)
						    {
							    "Audio Controller"
						    },
						    "PinConfigurations",
						    Buffer (One)
						    {
							    0x00
						    }
					    }, Local0)
				    DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
				    Return (Local0)
			    }
		    }

Hey,

thanks for Mini-Guide :king: . I tried the AppleHDA.kext but looks like it doesn't work with my W520.


Can you explain how? Did you get the same brightness level after a reboot?



#4
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
I've seen this guide yesterday. Good work!

Everything works except that the sleep on psu will not work. The ThinkPad goes to sleep, but 2 seconds later it wakes up.

Is there a little tool for the menubar to switch from the speakers to headphones?

I have a T510 4349 with nVidia NVS 3100m (512MB).

#5
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
For sleep on psu check my dsdt in sections UHCI1/UHCI2 and replace its content, after that sleep should work perfect

Everything works except that the sleep on psu will not work. The ThinkPad goes to sleep, but 2 seconds later it wakes up.



If you still use VoodooHDA you can switch speakers with Alt/Option+Click, for AppleHDA auto switching works perfect itself

Is there a little tool for the menubar to switch from the speakers to headphones?



#6
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Thanks, i have installed Lion new and i found a bug in the applehda kext or in the dsdt.

If I turn the sound with the - button to no mute, the volume bar in the menubar is at 0 percent. If i press the + volume button on the keyboard, the volume bar at the menubar is at 95% and the thinkpad displays 1 from 15?. So the sound volume display isn't sync.

The turbo fan mode is also broken.

However, the hdd was recognized as an external hdd. (The hdd is in the ultrabay, the ssd with win7 is in the hdd bay)

The sleep was fixed with the new install.

But anyways, your work is great. I'm happy to have osx on my T510 ;)

Update:

At home I'm using a Docking Station, so i've tested 2 things:

Audio isn't working
No Displayport-port isn't working

#7
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Can you share the updated files from the 21.01.2012 Update?

I would like to test the new Displayport-feature ;)

It's great to see someone that wants a T510 with Lion. Have you a docking station? I would like to use the external screen in the dock without the internal display - like a real mac :)

Update 21-01-2012 19:51:

I've seen your "easy install" zip file, just great. I would remove the default partition from the plist. Just a little tip from me.

By the way, any solution for the fingerprint reader?

#8
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
I recommend you to see my latest updates above.

Try to update your installation with all my kexts and dsdt

Yes this may occur with AppleHDA until I get correct pin configuration of CX20585 codec. Now It works 99% perfect with sound.

Thanks, i have installed Lion new and i found a bug in the applehda kext or in the dsdt.

If I turn the sound with the - button to no mute, the volume bar in the menubar is at 0 percent. If i press the + volume button on the keyboard, the volume bar at the menubar is at 95% and the thinkpad displays 1 from 15?. So the sound volume display isn't sync.


I've changed Turbo fan mode to silent mode. If you need this check ghotic860 post about osx on w520

The turbo fan mode is also broken.


That strange about hdd. Mine default hdd shows as internal. eSATA and SataLink card hdds as external as it should be.

However, the hdd was recognized as an external hdd. (The hdd is in the ultrabay, the ssd with win7 is in the hdd bay)



I've changed some things about sleep in latest changes(USB and bluetooth detection)

The sleep was fixed with the new install.



About docking station. Please check my latest edits, I've fixed DisplayPort detection and maybe it will work with Dock now

About sound via docking station, I need more info about that. Maybe some switches inside lock sound or it electronically enabled/disabled. Need more info from ioreg to deal with.

Update:

At home I'm using a Docking Station, so i've tested 2 things:

Audio isn't working
No Displayport-port isn't working



#9
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
So, i've installed your update, i found something that will interest you:


I found why the hdd is recognized as a external drive:
HDD-bay SSD: IODeviceTree:/PCI0@0/SAT1@1F,2/PRT0@0/PMP@0
Ultrabay HDD: IODeviceTree:/PCI0@0/SAT1@1F,2/PRT1@1/PMP@0

The macbook pro has only one hdd, the second hard drive or sad must be external. It's cosmetic, i have to change the drives.

I found that you fixed the display with F14 and F15, nice!

You know "About your mac"? There is a little bug, my Thinkpad shows "spdisplays_display" integrated.

The next things are the important things:

Sound isn't working if the headphones are connected with the dock.
The internal display is on while the TP is in the docking station, it should be of in the docking station
Lion is after about 1 minute usable, while this time, i cannot click or write, but i am able to move the cursor.
Ethernet is buggy, i have sometimes a APIPA adress, but after sleep it works again.


The sound works with the 21.01.2012 Update very well.

If i can help you with the docking station problem, feel free to ask!

Edited by Erdbeeere, 21 January 2012 - 08:09 PM.


#10
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
I'll check this thing, should be easy. I did masking on my desktop hackinposh

I found why the hdd is recognized as a external drive:
HDD-bay SSD: IODeviceTree:/PCI0@0/SAT1@1F,2/PRT0@0/PMP@0
Ultrabay HDD: IODeviceTree:/PCI0@0/SAT1@1F,2/PRT1@1/PMP@0

The macbook pro has only one hdd, the second hard drive or sad must be external. It's cosmetic, i have to change the drives.




Thats voodoops2 fix. Ideal way map brightness to system fn+home/end

I found that you fixed the display with F14 and F15, nice!


This possible. Guide later to come

Attached File  Screen Shot 2012-01-22 at 15.22.25.png   104.63KB   123 downloads

You know "About your mac"? There is a little bug, my Thinkpad shows "spdisplays_display" integrated.



I need two linux codec dumps from ubuntu 10.04 live cd

run in terminal

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 > ~/Desktop/codecDump0.txt
or
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#1 > ~/Desktop/codecDump1.txt
or
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#2 > ~/Desktop/codecDump2.txt

do it with dock and without

Sound isn't working if the headphones are connected with the dock.

The sound works with the 21.01.2012 Update very well.

If i can help you with the docking station problem, feel free to ask!




Now I'm try to figure out this bug with freeze screen after boot. You can temporary try to use GraphicsEnabler=Yes to fix that until dsdt section will be corrected

The internal display is on while the TP is in the docking station, it should be of in the docking station

Lion is after about 1 minute usable, while this time, i cannot click or write, but i am able to move the cursor.


Didn't have ethernet problems at all before I replaced wi-fi intel module to atheros 9285 and start using only wi-fi. With some old E1000 next ethernet was unstable
but with new one its stable

Ethernet is buggy, i have sometimes a APIPA adress, but after sleep it works again.



#11
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Well, here is the dump:

Attached File  t510-audio-dock.zip   3.6KB   30 downloads

Update: I enabled the GraphicsEnabler, but no difference.

Are you using the wlan card also with Windows 7? If yes, are you able to deactivate the card with FN+F5? However, thats important for me.

What wlan card do you recommend for me?

eBay is full of cards ;)

http://www.ebay.at/i...#ht_3011wt_1165

Update 2: The new AppleIntelE1000e.kext from here have the same bug. If I plugged out the ethernet cable and plug it in, there will be a apipa adress and no adress from my dhcp. However, standby fixes the problem. (Tested in the dock, i havn't tested it with the port on the T510)

Edited by Erdbeeere, 22 January 2012 - 01:37 PM.


#12
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
Ok

I'll check dumps today or maybe tomorrow

No, fn+f5 don't do anything with my wlan under osx, under win 7 it deactivate wireless cards. Think its possible to fix with dsdt Device (_QXX sections but I don't need it for now

For Lenovo T and W series only half height card can be installed

Here is list of card with native support:

Atheros AR5B91
b/g up to 54mbps

Atheros AR5B93
2.4ghz b/g/n up to 150mbps in OSX

Atheros AR5BHB92
2.4 and 5ghz a/b/g/n up to 150mbps in OSX on 2.4ghz and up to 300 on 5ghz

Broadcom BCM94322HM8L
2.4 and 5ghz a/b/g/n up to 150mbps in OSX on 2.4ghz and up to 300 on 5ghz

On desktop hack I used AR5BXB92 full height card from 2010 iMac, this card doesn't fit lenovo slot without little dremeling magnesium chassis of laptop. So I temporary replace Intel Wi-Fi Link 1000 to AR9285 from brother's laptop. Asus has this card locked to b/g mode so max speed is only 54mbps. AR9285 with enabled N mode can operate up to 65mbps because of 1x1 MIMO configuration, that's why OSX driver drops speed from 150mbps as possible with 1x2 and 2x2 configs.

So the best card I think is half AR9280 or possible AR9380 3x3 MIMO up to 450mbps on 5ghz. I ordered AR5BHB112 AR9380 card few weeks ago for replacement of AR9280.

http://www.ebay.at/s...-All-Categories

Well, here is the dump: Attached File  t510-audio-dock.zip   3.6KB   30 downloads

Update: I enabled the GraphicsEnabler, but no difference.

Are you using the wlan card also with Windows 7? If yes, are you able to deactivate the card with FN+F5? However, thats important for me.

What wlan card do you recommend for me? eBay is full of cards ;) http://www.ebay.at/i...#ht_3011wt_1165



#13
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
The unuasble-time after start is about 140 seconds, i changed the GraphicsEnabler to yes, but no difference.

Maybe you are able to fix the bug with the screen: The ThinkPad is closed, only the external display at display-port should be display osx. I mean that only external devices should display something if the notebook is closed bud on.

I've seen jet that you are using a modded BIOS "

BIOS with removed whitelist + small DSDT mod + terminal"



What do you mean with small DSDT mod? Is that maybe the reason that the fan control doesn't work?



Next thing that i have changed are the drives. I put the Lion HDD into the HDD-Bay and yet it is shown as a internal HDD - Great!


Are you able to share the BIOS-Update with us? I prefer BIOS Updates as a ISO :)



#14
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
I figured out freeze problem. That was HDMI audio patch. So I removed code from DSDT and replaced AppleHDA with older one

No freeze now and DisplayPort working fine with it

Attached File  AppleHDA+dsdt-fixed-screen-freez.zip   1.35MB   189 downloads



The unuasble-time after start is about 140 seconds, i changed the GraphicsEnabler to yes, but no difference.

Maybe you are able to fix the bug with the screen: The ThinkPad is closed, only the external display at display-port should be display osx. I mean that only external devices should display something if the notebook is closed bud on.


I'll try to figure out this case if it's possible


Maybe you are able to fix the bug with the screen: The ThinkPad is closed, only the external display at display-port should be display osx. I mean that only external devices should display something if the notebook is closed bud on.


Ok I patched Lenovo bios version 1.47 to remove whitelist both WLAN and WWAN card slots. It works fine

Also found 1.48 version patched by one man

Whitelisted BIOS Lenovo T510/510i
Attached File  Len_T510_6muj27us_NWL_ByCamiloml-1.48.zip   3.42MB   79 downloads

Small dsdt mod is to be able use AR9285 card that is not supported by default in osx. For cards listed above this mod is not necessary

To fix fan control on ThinkVantage button find

Method (_Q19, 0, NotSerialized)

and replace code to following, after that fan boost should work


Method (_Q19, 0, NotSerialized)
						 {
								 Name (FANS, One)
								 Store (HFSP, FANS)
								 XOr (FANS, 0x40, Local0)
								 If (Local0)
								 {
										 LED (0xFF, 0x80)
										 Store (0x40, HFSP)
								 }
								 Else
								 {
										 LED (0xFF, 0x80)
										 Store (0x80, HFSP)
								 }
						 }


I've seen jet that you are using a modded BIOS "

BIOS with removed whitelist + small DSDT mod + terminal"


What do you mean with small DSDT mod? Is that maybe the reason that the fan control doesn't work?

Next thing that i have changed are the drives. I put the Lion HDD into the HDD-Bay and yet it is shown as a internal HDD - Great!

Are you able to share the BIOS-Update with us? I prefer BIOS Updates as a ISO :)


Here is guide how to fix this annoying spdisplay

[GUIDE] How to fix [spdisplays_display] in About This Mac window

spdisplay



#15
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Thanks, the ThinkPad isn't hanging up anymore ;) Great!

Update: I found a solution for the fingerprint reader: http://support.authe...aspx?EntryId=50

The

TrueSuiteLion_5.0.0.18.dmg works, but it has bugs. You can't compare it with the Windows version.



#16
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
If tested OSX few days and in my opinion OSX Lion is running very stable and fast on the T510.

There are some bugs at the moment. joshhh, if you have time please fix it :) Just a summary:

- audio isn't shown the correct volume if i am using the speaker of the notebook
- mic can't be muted with the button on the keyboard (unnessesary, i know)
- the internal display is active if the display is closed and a external display is connected - the internal display should be of
- Fingerprint is buggy with the official driver from authentec

That components never worked:

Intel WLAN (I ordered on ebay another card, I am waiting for it)
Gobi 2000 WWAN Card (Just draming for a working solution :))

#17
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
I use osx on my T510 about two month and it works perfect


I'm working on audio solution now, possible I'll fix slider bug and hdmi audio too

display fixing is on the way too

fingerprint working not so precise as I expected, faster enter pass with keyboard than 4-5 times to swipe finger on reader, don't use this capabilities now

- audio isn't shown the correct volume if i am using the speaker of the notebook
- mic can't be muted with the button on the keyboard (unnessesary, i know)
- the internal display is active if the display is closed and a external display is connected - the internal display should be of
- Fingerprint is buggy with the official driver from authentec

That components never worked:

Intel WLAN (I ordered on ebay another card, I am waiting for it)
Gobi 2000 WWAN Card (Just draming for a working solution :))



#18
Erdbeeere

Erdbeeere

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
So, i've tested Lion one week more and there are two other bugs/limitations:

* Don't plug a battery in the notebook while its on, you will receive a OS X Bluescreen.
* Final Cut, iMovie and Quick Time isn't able to play mpeg4 videos, its very buggy - I can't use iMovie for video editing, thats bad.

Have you found some bugfix for the audio and display?

#19
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
Almost fixed sound bug with slider

sound output from dock station is limitation of dock not OSX, there is no any electronics between laptop out and dock out, only mechanical switch somewhere

Screen disable is not yet finally tested

So, i've tested Lion one week more and there are two other bugs/limitations:

* Don't plug a battery in the notebook while its on, you will receive a OS X Bluescreen.
* Final Cut, iMovie and Quick Time isn't able to play mpeg4 videos, its very buggy - I can't use iMovie for video editing, thats bad.

Have you found some bugfix for the audio and display?



#20
joshhh

joshhh

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Israel
LAN Intel E1000 kext not working after 10.7.3 update, need something to deal with it
AR9285 not working too, but if I revert to 10.7.2 driver it's working again





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: lenovo, lion, t510, osx, mountain lion


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy