Wishing to know how to have a kext load after everything else

Kiefers

11 posts in this topic

Hi all and thanks for any help in advance.

I am wanting to know if there is away to have a kext load after everything else is loaded into memory.

I have notice when I am booting VoodooHDA sometimes crashes the system and this is very early in the boot stage. This does not happen all the time but it has gotten annoying and I would like to be able to fix this.

Please take into account I am a NOOB in this area but I am willing to learn. After all I was able to get my Gateway NV57H44u up and running Lion 10.7.1 with everything working...

Thanks,

Kiefer

You might be able to write a little bash script using the kextload command.

Something like:

kextload Extra/ExtraKexts/ExtraKextToBeLoaded.kext

exit

You could then put this in your login programs and it would be loaded when you boot into the GUI.

JamesLittler,

The way I executed the script may have had something to do with the panic. I executed the script after I was at the desktop and I now realize this was a no, no.

I guess my next question is where would I place the script to execute properly during the start up process. As I noticed a marked improvement in the over all boot time and the system was a lot more responsive without the kext loaded when I did a test run without it...

Like I said, I am a NOOB and I really know just enough probably to be dangerous to my own system.

Though the journey of all of this has been a fun one....

Sometimes VoodooHDA causes a panic because it conflicts with AppleHDA. AppleHDA will sometimes load even when it doesn't work with your sound hardware, IIRC it will load if you have a HDEF device in your DSDT for example.

Either delete AppleHDA.kext or try to find out if there is a disabler.kext for it out there somewhere. It's better if you can use a disabler, otherwise you'll get kernel panics again once you install the next Lion update, which will of course reinstall AppleHDA.