Jump to content

ESXi 5 Mac OS X Unlocker


  • Please log in to reply
728 replies to this topic

#581
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Ka Hooli,

 

The Filesystem sizes are the default for any ESXi 5.x install, and I have never run out of space on the volume containing the bootbank files (literally hundreds of installations), yes on the log volume especially if the ESXi is installed to SD, then we relocate the syslog to a location on a persistent Datastore.

 

So I can only suggest reinstall (be careful if your ESXi is installed on your 250GB disk as you will need to preserve the OS Datastore, by default it deletes all that is on the boot disk) ESXi, re-run the unlocker,add your Datastores and import your VM's, alternatively install ESXi to an SD Card or USB stick and see if you have the same problem.



#582
Ka Hooli

Ka Hooli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Ka Hooli,

 

The Filesystem sizes are the default for any ESXi 5.x install, and I have never run out of space on the volume containing the bootbank files (literally hundreds of installations), yes on the log volume especially if the ESXi is installed to SD, then we relocate the syslog to a location on a persistent Datastore.

 

So I can only suggest reinstall (be careful if your ESXi is installed on your 250GB disk as you will need to preserve the OS Datastore, by default it deletes all that is on the boot disk) ESXi, re-run the unlocker,add your Datastores and import your VM's, alternatively install ESXi to an SD Card or USB stick and see if you have the same problem.

Thanks for the advise, ESXi is installed to a 2GB USB flash drive...  so with what you've said in mind, I'm thinking of (1) shutdown the server, (2) disengage the HDD's (to remove the datastores with the OS and file share data), (3) remove the USB flash drive and remove all partitions with my laptop, (4) reinstall the USB flash drive (5) power on server & reinstall ESXi 5.5 from fresh install, (6) reapply the unlocker, (7) shut down and re-engage HDD (as they are simple-swap, not hot-swap), (8) add the datastores and import the VM's.

 

The current ESXi install had started of as 5.1, then upgraded to 5.1u1, then yesterday to 5.5.  Not sure if that's had anything to do with it.

 

Once again, thanks :D



#583
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Ka Hooli,

 

Since your ESXi install is on a USB flash drive, you should be able to do a simple install of ESXi 5.5 choosing your existing USB flash drive, a fresh install will delete all the existing partitions on the selected (USB) install drive, and leave all the other drives intact. Once you are up and running install the Unlocker and add your existing Datastores to the new ESXi environment and add the VM's to your inventory.

 

It maybe the upgrade path from 5.1 via u1 to 5.5 has resulted in the full partition problem, perhaps uninstalling the Unlocker between upgrades may have helped, but I generally do a fresh install of ESXi rather than upgrade, especially if the ESXi install is on SD or USB (less risk of deleting important Datastores and VM's).



#584
Rubyducky

Rubyducky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Quick note, I also could not get the console to work reliably similar to ipas. I am on ESXi 5.5 and am also using vCenter (5.5?). The console would work for a while, but then it would give the "Unable to connect" error on all VMs. I could not connect to the console through the web client, vSphere connected to vCenter, or even vSphere connected directly to the host. Restarting the VMs would bring the console back, but it would stop connecting again after a while. The host would also sporadically disconnect and reconnect to vCenter. Uninstalling the unlocker seems to have resolved everything. However, my other host running ESXi 5.1 and the unlocker but connected to the same vCenter server does not have these console connection issues. 



#585
zm_os

zm_os

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
copying darwin.vgz to /bootbank/darwin.vgz
cp: error writing to '/bootbank/darwin.vgz': No space left on device
Copying darwin.vgz to /bootbank/darwin.vgz failed: 1

I'm getting the error above under ESXi 5.5.

When I run the following, I get this output...

# df -h /bootbank
vfat       249.7M 249.2M    568.0K 100% /vmfs/volumes/d7e74ee2-3e936149-8a7b-27a1934ec1a3
vfat       249.7M 146.4M    103.4M  59% /vmfs/volumes/fb2745ee-2b19c1b9-364f-70789c4fa29d
vfat       285.8M 191.3M     94.6M  67% /vmfs/volumes/50fd9f3b-fa88e970-9e33-6805ca114558

...so yes, I've run out of space on the "/vmfs/volumes/d7e74ee2-3e936149-8a7b-27a1934ec1a3" volume which is "/bootbank".

 

 

We've run into the same issue with our HP based server as their custom ESXi image contains additional drivers which results in a large bootbank by default already. As far as I could tell the current unlocker script does not compress the built vtar file at the end, resulting in a rather large file to be copied to the bootbank partition. I was able to resolve this by adding an additional compression step with gzip at the end (all commands are basically reflecting what the unlocker script does and are relative to the path where the script is extracted):
# mkdir bin
# cp /bin/vmx bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-debug bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-stats bin/
# chmod +x ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi
# ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi bin/
# chmod 4555 bin/* 
# tar -czvf darwin.tgz bin/
# vmtar -c darwin.tgz -v -o darwin.vtar
# gzip darwin.vtar
# mv -i darwin.vtar.gz darwin.vgz
# BootModuleConfig.sh --add=darwin.vgz --verbose
# reboot

Maybe this could help you as well...



#586
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

 

We've run into the same issue with our HP based server as their custom ESXi image contains additional drivers which results in a large bootbank by default already. As far as I could tell the current unlocker script does not compress the built vtar file at the end, resulting in a rather large file to be copied to the bootbank partition. I was able to resolve this by adding an additional compression step with gzip at the end (all commands are basically reflecting what the unlocker script does and are relative to the path where the script is extracted):
# mkdir bin
# cp /bin/vmx bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-debug bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-stats bin/
# chmod +x ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi
# ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi bin/
# chmod 4555 bin/* 
# tar -czvf darwin.tgz bin/
# vmtar -c darwin.tgz -v -o darwin.vtar
# gzip darwin.vtar
# mv -i darwin.vtar.gz darwin.vgz
# BootModuleConfig.sh --add=darwin.vgz --verbose
# reboot

Maybe this could help you as well...

 

 

Thanks for that. I didn't realise you could or should gzip the vtar as the input file is a tar.gz archive. I will look into this for next version.



#587
zm_os

zm_os

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks for that. I didn't realise you could or should gzip the vtar as the input file is a tar.gz archive. I will look into this for next version.

 

After quite some investigations I realised that the resulting file from

vmtar -c darwin.tgz -v -o darwin.vtar

is in fact a .tar (or rather .vtar) and not a .vgz file, although I would have expected a compressed file as well. It seems that vmtar decompresses the .tgz file but is not able to re-compress it again... somehow the syntax or the way vmtar works is not all that clear to me. To actually find out what is happening, I just looked at the provided files in the current bootbank and found out that these are mostly vtar files compressed with gzip. 



#588
Ka Hooli

Ka Hooli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

 

We've run into the same issue with our HP based server as their custom ESXi image contains additional drivers which results in a large bootbank by default already. As far as I could tell the current unlocker script does not compress the built vtar file at the end, resulting in a rather large file to be copied to the bootbank partition. I was able to resolve this by adding an additional compression step with gzip at the end (all commands are basically reflecting what the unlocker script does and are relative to the path where the script is extracted):
# mkdir bin
# cp /bin/vmx bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-debug bin/
# cp /bin/vmx-stats bin/
# chmod +x ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi
# ./esxi/Unlocker.ESXi bin/
# chmod 4555 bin/* 
# tar -czvf darwin.tgz bin/
# vmtar -c darwin.tgz -v -o darwin.vtar
# gzip darwin.vtar
# mv -i darwin.vtar.gz darwin.vgz
# BootModuleConfig.sh --add=darwin.vgz --verbose
# reboot

Maybe this could help you as well...

 

 

That is exactly the issue I am having, as I too am using the HP customized ESXi image on my HP Server.

 

Thanks both MSoK & z.m_gmx :thumbsup_anim:



#589
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Ka Hooli, z.m_gmx and Donk,

 

We use the HP custom image extensively as the majority of the ESXi hosts we install are HP ProLiant, however since they are in production environments we do not apply the Unlocker, so have never experience the out of space issue with the bootbank partition. I will roll up an ESXi host using the latest HP custom image of 5.5 and see if I run in to the same problem Ka Hooli had and hopefully Donk can provide me with a new version of the Unlocker with the compress version of the darwin.vgz, and I will report back on the results, if that is of value.

 

Cheers,

MSoK.



#590
Ka Hooli

Ka Hooli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

After doing a fresh install with the HP ESXi 5.5 image, this is the free file space...

# df -h /bootbank
Filesystem   Size   Used Available Use% Mounted on
VMFS-5     232.8G 157.1G     75.7G  67% /vmfs/volumes/Operating Systems
VMFS-5       2.7T   2.7T      8.0M 100% /vmfs/volumes/Data 2
VMFS-5       2.7T   2.7T      0.0B 100% /vmfs/volumes/Data 1
vfat       249.7M 174.2M     75.5M  70% /vmfs/volumes/ae4d62e7-f1e6bec1-7052-8b2157bdd288
vfat       249.7M   8.0K    249.7M   0% /vmfs/volumes/a98bd1ee-4d576dea-9891-c12e5d645944
vfat       285.8M 191.3M     94.6M  67% /vmfs/volumes/52539407-57c3eb29-138b-6805ca114558

I tried running the script unmodified OSx Unlocker v1.20 ESXi script, and it still had issues.  But when I run zm_os's script above, it worked fine.  I did add the command "BootModuleConfig.sh --add=darwin.vgz --verbose" to the end of zm_os's script, so to add the created file to the boot.cfg.

 

I'd say zm_os's script this worked because the files are being modified in the ../bin folder to where the Unlocker.ESXi file is.  On my machine this was on one of the datastores (the OS one).

 

Now in the process of copying over my OSx VM image, and will test to see if it works fine.

 

At the end of the day, it seems with all your help I was able to get this patch installed.  Thank you all :)



#591
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Can you try this updated installer script for ESXi please? It should fix the problem by compressing the vtar. Saves about 60MB of space in the bootbank partition. Copy the text below to installer.sh, overwrite the one in the unlooker ESXi folder and then upload and run as usual.

 

#!/bin/sh
set -e


echo VMware ESXi 5.x Unlocker 1.2.1
echo ===============================
echo Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-13


# Ensure we only use unmodified commands
export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin


# Copy Unlocker to tmp
script_dir=$(dirname $0)
cp $script_dir/Unlocker.ESXi /tmp


# Make sure working files are removed
cd /tmp
rm -f darwin.tgz
rm -f darwin.vtar
rm -f darwin.vgz
rm -rf ./bin


# Patch the vmx files and place into bin folder
echo Patching files...
mkdir bin
cp /bin/vmx bin/
cp /bin/vmx-debug bin/
cp /bin/vmx-stats bin/
./Unlocker.ESXi bin/


# Ensure correct permissions are set
echo Setting permissions...
chmod 4555 bin/*


# Create the tar file for ESXi kernel
echo Creating darwin.tgz...
tar -czvf darwin.tgz bin/
vmtar -c darwin.tgz -v -o darwin.vtar
rm -f darwin.tgz
gzip darwin.vtar
mv -i darwin.vtar.gz darwin.vgz


# Add entry to the boot configuration file
echo Adding darwin.tgz to boot.cfg...
BootModuleConfig.sh --add=darwin.vgz --verbose


# Clean up
rm -f Unlocker.ESXi
rm -f darwin.tgz
rm -f darwin.vtar
rm -f darwin.vgz
rm -rf ./bin
cd -


echo Please now reboot the host system!

Thanks for the help on this.



#592
hippoth

hippoth

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts

Hi,

 

one question: why do we need to patch the ESXi host with the unlocker if the host supports Mac OS X native? The compatibility says Mac OS 10.8 desktop and server is supported -->

 

http://www.vmware.co...c&testConfig=16

 

So why to patch the ESXi (5.1/5.1U1/5.5) with the unlocker?

 

I don´t have a install medium here, so I can´t test and that´s why I ask you.



#593
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

hippoth,

 

ESXi supports OS X only on Apple hardware, thanks to the restrictions of the Apple EULA, so if ESXi is installed on non Apple hardware VMware do a hardware check for an Apple SMC and if it is not present disables support for OS X. The unlocker on ESXi removes the SMC check allowing OS X to be run as a virtual guest on non Apple hardware.



#594
hippoth

hippoth

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts

Thank you for the explanation. Good to know!



#595
Amethyst

Amethyst

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

I have some problem with esxi unlocker running on Dell poweredge T420. esxi 5.5 dell image.

 

1) The console keep blank when i standby some of vm for a while, must be restart vm to resolve it.

2) Some connection to Windows client problem (-503).

 

I have tried many solution, remove vcenter, install fresh esxi. etc. I surely it came from the patch because

my another esxi hosts (5.5 runs on Dell PE T310). doesn't found any problems like patched host.

 

Although it hasn't problem about stability of running vm. it rock solid, just only management problems. 

 

Can you guys help me? 



#596
Amethyst

Amethyst

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

I've found some interested behavior.

 

If you doesn't setting start-up vm the problem will gone.

 

Wish this can help you.



#597
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I've found some interested behavior.

 

If you doesn't setting start-up vm the problem will gone.

 

Wish this can help you.

 

 

It could be the bootbank partition running out of space. Please can you uninstall the locker and try the steps here http://www.insanelym...cker/?p=1953036



#598
zm_os

zm_os

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

Can you try this updated installer script for ESXi please? It should fix the problem by compressing the vtar. Saves about 60MB of space in the bootbank partition. Copy the text below to installer.sh, overwrite the one in the unlooker ESXi folder and then upload and run as usual.

 

#!/bin/sh
set -e


echo VMware ESXi 5.x Unlocker 1.2.1
echo ===============================
echo Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-13


Thanks for the help on this.

 

 

I've just tried your modified script in a test environment and it appears to be working as planned.

 

Cheers,

zm_os



#599
scacki

scacki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I've just tried your modified script in a test environment and it appears to be working as planned.

 

Cheers,

zm_os

 

I was observing this thread and waiting especially for fix on ESXi HP custom image running from USB key. Now I patched ESXi 5.5 with latest Unlocker 1.2.1 and it patched successfully. But now I don't see additional radio boxes in vShpere Client (connected directly to ESXi host). I supposed that there will be new Apple radio box like on patched VMware Workstation.

Did I misunderstood or I'm missing something?

 

Regards. 



#600
zm_os

zm_os

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

I was observing this thread and waiting especially for fix on ESXi HP custom image running from USB key. Now I patched ESXi 5.5 with latest Unlocker 1.2.1 and it patched successfully. But now I don't see additional radio boxes in vShpere Client (connected directly to ESXi host). I supposed that there will be new Apple radio box like on patched VMware Workstation.

Did I misunderstood or I'm missing something?

 

Regards. 

The vSphere client under windows only shows the feature set up to version 5.0, for the new options (V5.1 and V5.5) such as OS X 10.8 and 10.9 you'll need the web client (and a vCenter server as far as I know). 

 

If I'm not mistaken version 5.0 already supported OS X 10.6 and 10.7, though. At least these two options should be visible if you create a new custom virtual machine with type "Other".







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy