Jump to content

ESXi 5 Mac OS X Unlocker


  • Please log in to reply
725 replies to this topic

#501
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

I was able to get Mavericks installed with no issues using ESXi and Donk's unlocker. Details: http://www.insanelym...with-no-issues/



#502
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

New build available with the scripts fixed not to screw-up if run in root of ESXi plus some other changes.

http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/



#503
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Sorry, we couldn't find that!

#504
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Sorry, we couldn't find that!


Ah thra was the temp URL for me. You can find it on the downloads page here.

http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/



#505
caviwipes

caviwipes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Hmm. Not sure why this is not working. Is there any log files I can look at? 

 

VMkernel orca 5.1.0 #1 SMP Release build-1065491

 

/vmfs/volumes/4eccd6b6-7191d638-26d6-bc305bd549e8/unlock-all-v111/esxi # ./install.sh
VMware ESXi 5.x Unlocker 1.1.1
==============================
Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-13
Patching files...
Patching bin/vmx
File mapped @0x3ffd30cc010 length 16890352
Found OSK0 @ 0x3ffd3acb205
Found OSK1 @ 0x3ffd3acb23d
Found SRVR @ 0x3ffd3b0f2c6
Patching bin/vmx-debug
File mapped @0x3ffd30cc010 length 21347720
Found OSK0 @ 0x3ffd3bf4a45
Found OSK1 @ 0x3ffd3bf4a7d
Found SRVR @ 0x3ffd3c39406
Patching bin/vmx-stats
File mapped @0x7416d0 length 19607592
Found OSK0 @ 0x1160b25
Found OSK1 @ 0x1160b5d
Found SRVR @ 0x11a63e6
Patching vmwarebase is not supported on this platform
Setting permissions...
Creating darwin.tgz...
bin/
bin/vmx
bin/vmx-debug
bin/vmx-stats
addr: 0, sz: 10442140, flags: 5
addr: 0x9f7044, sz: 2206780, flags: 6
bin/vmx: textPgs: 2549, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx
addr: 0, sz: 11667172, flags: 5
addr: 0xb2277c, sz: 2242564, flags: 6
bin/vmx-debug: textPgs: 2848, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx-debug
addr: 0, sz: 10575212, flags: 5
addr: 0xa1665c, sz: 2371908, flags: 6
bin/vmx-stats: textPgs: 2581, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx-stats
Adding darwin.tgz to boot.cfg...
Acquiring lock /tmp/bootbank.lck
Copying darwin.vgz to /bootbank/darwin.vgz
Editing /bootbank/boot.cfg to add module darwin.vgz
/vmfs/volumes/4eccd6b6-7191d638-26d6-bc305bd549e8/unlock-all-v111/esxi
Please now reboot the host system!
 
Rebooted but still says OS is not supported!


#506
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

 

Hmm. Not sure why this is not working. Is there any log files I can look at? 

 

VMkernel orca 5.1.0 #1 SMP Release build-1065491

 

/vmfs/volumes/4eccd6b6-7191d638-26d6-bc305bd549e8/unlock-all-v111/esxi # ./install.sh
VMware ESXi 5.x Unlocker 1.1.1
==============================
Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-13
Patching files...
Patching bin/vmx
File mapped @0x3ffd30cc010 length 16890352
Found OSK0 @ 0x3ffd3acb205
Found OSK1 @ 0x3ffd3acb23d
Found SRVR @ 0x3ffd3b0f2c6
Patching bin/vmx-debug
File mapped @0x3ffd30cc010 length 21347720
Found OSK0 @ 0x3ffd3bf4a45
Found OSK1 @ 0x3ffd3bf4a7d
Found SRVR @ 0x3ffd3c39406
Patching bin/vmx-stats
File mapped @0x7416d0 length 19607592
Found OSK0 @ 0x1160b25
Found OSK1 @ 0x1160b5d
Found SRVR @ 0x11a63e6
Patching vmwarebase is not supported on this platform
Setting permissions...
Creating darwin.tgz...
bin/
bin/vmx
bin/vmx-debug
bin/vmx-stats
addr: 0, sz: 10442140, flags: 5
addr: 0x9f7044, sz: 2206780, flags: 6
bin/vmx: textPgs: 2549, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx
addr: 0, sz: 11667172, flags: 5
addr: 0xb2277c, sz: 2242564, flags: 6
bin/vmx-debug: textPgs: 2848, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx-debug
addr: 0, sz: 10575212, flags: 5
addr: 0xa1665c, sz: 2371908, flags: 6
bin/vmx-stats: textPgs: 2581, fixUpPgs: 0
Aligning executable bin/vmx-stats
Adding darwin.tgz to boot.cfg...
Acquiring lock /tmp/bootbank.lck
Copying darwin.vgz to /bootbank/darwin.vgz
Editing /bootbank/boot.cfg to add module darwin.vgz
/vmfs/volumes/4eccd6b6-7191d638-26d6-bc305bd549e8/unlock-all-v111/esxi
Please now reboot the host system!
 
Rebooted but still says OS is not supported!

 

OK,

We are going to need a little more information, regarding your hardware and what you are trying to install, and what media you are using, the log shows that the Unlocker installed OK as we would expect with ESXi 5.1 U1, OS X 10.7 and 10.8 should install without any issues on ESXi 5.1 U1.



#507
wally007

wally007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

I just wanted to post my successful story of installing Unlocker.

 

I've downloaded latest ESXi 5.1 version ( as of yesterday ).

My Hardware:

CPU: Quadcore 4770S i7 (Haswell)

Motherboard: GA-Q87M-D2H (has Intel vPro - cheap mans iLOM, great for controlling the Server that's in the attic )

RAM: 32GB RAM

Storage: 256GB Samsung 840 Pro(VM storage), 4x3TB Seagate NAS HDD (Pass through to guest Mac VM)

NIC: Intel NIC card (on board NIC is not recognized by ESXi)

 

1, Installed ESXi from USB flash key to USB flash key

2, Ran unclocker from SSD (data storage for VM's)

3, Installed Windows 7 and Mac 10.8

4, Updated Mac 10.8 to 10.8.4

 

So far most things are working very well except when i copy alot of data between 3TB had disks after about 10 - 20GB copied I get bunch of errors. 

 

I'm using THIS method of passing through the disks elusively to Mac and drives are working fine in my real Mac Pro (2008).

 

Anybody ever experienced this ? I will take a screenshot of the errors later today

 

Btw, Thanks a lot for the Unlocker. It's very nice to play with Visualized Mac on modern hardware :-)



#508
caviwipes

caviwipes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Hi,

 

Thank you for the response. 

 

Trying to install 10.7 or 10.8 from dmg files.

 

"The guest operating system 'darwin11_64Guest' is not supported."

 

Hardware:

Dell Inc.

PowerEdge R610

4 CPUs x 2.39 GHz

RAM 24,563.02 MB

 

VMware ESXi, 5.1.0, 1065491

 

Anything else?

 

Thanks



#509
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Hi,

 

Thank you for the response. 

 

Trying to install 10.7 or 10.8 from dmg files.

 

"The guest operating system 'darwin11_64Guest' is not supported."

 

Hardware:

Dell Inc.

PowerEdge R610

4 CPUs x 2.39 GHz

RAM 24,563.02 MB

 

VMware ESXi, 5.1.0, 1065491

 

Anything else?

 

Thanks

ARe you trying to use this via vCenter? If so that does not work, you have to connect directly to the ESXi host with the Client.



#510
caviwipes

caviwipes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

vCenter was the problem. Working as intended now. Appreciate the input.

 

Thanks



#511
wally007

wally007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Once Mac VM is installed (using vSphere client) , can I use vCenter to administer the host and Virtual Machine or is that off-limit as well ? (we've got one license at work which we are not using and I was thinking of using it at home for testing purposes)

 

( btw, one of my 3TB disks is failing (couple of bad sectors) so that was the reason for errors when copying in ESXi. When I tested drives in Mac pro, I must have copied files that were not associated with those bad sectors )

 

ARe you trying to use this via vCenter? If so that does not work, you have to connect directly to the ESXi host with the Client.



#512
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Once Mac VM is installed (using vSphere client) , can I use vCenter to administer the host and Virtual Machine or is that off-limit as well ? (we've got one license at work which we are not using and I was thinking of using it at home for testing purposes)

 

( btw, one of my 3TB disks is failing (couple of bad sectors) so that was the reason for errors when copying in ESXi. When I tested drives in Mac pro, I must have copied files that were not associated with those bad sectors )

Wally,

 

In a word no, unless your ESXi hosts are on Apple Hardware, you cannot use vCenter Server to manage OS X guests. In fact we have seen issues when adding an "Unlocked" host to a vCenter cluster, so needs to stay standalone.



#513
wally007

wally007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Tha'ts a bummer .. i guess no cloning for me :-)

 

Thanks for the Unlocker though. 

 

Btw, have you tried Mavericks on ESXi ? I run ESXi on Haswell's iGPU 4600 and I think i've seen somewhere that Mavericks requeire dedicated GPU (so only aplicable pass-through GPU's would qualify)

Wally,

 

In a word no, unless your ESXi hosts are on Apple Hardware, you cannot use vCenter Server to manage OS X guests. In fact we have seen issue when adding an "Unlocked" host to a vCenter cluster, so needs to stay standalone.



#514
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Tha'ts a bummer .. i guess no cloning for me :-)

 

Thanks for the Unlocker though. 

 

Btw, have you tried Mavericks on ESXi ? I run ESXi on Haswell's iGPU 4600 and I think i've seen somewhere that Mavericks requeire dedicated GPU (so only aplicable pass-through GPU's would qualify)

Wally,

 

I have Mavericks running fine under both Workstation 9.0.2 and ESXi 5.1 Build 1157734, although I have seen a number of topics on InsanelyMac doing fresh installs by creating boot VMDK's, I have just downloaded Mavericks from the App Store on a fresh install of Mountain Lion (10.8.4) and done an upgrade followed by the couple of Software Updates needed to get to the latest DP version 4 1.0, also VMware tools install and work fine as well.

 

The current "Unlocker" v1.1.1 was created by Donk from work done by both Donk and Zenith432, so it is them you should be thanking, as regular contributors to this and other topics on InsanelyMac I am sure they will see your comment. 



#515
wally007

wally007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

MSok,

 

just a quick question .... Is there any hope that Unlocker might ever work with vCenter or is there something fundamentally prohibiting from working ?

 

I ask because as I'm about to build out small ESXi test lab at home, I will probably use 2 hosts and to learn/test anything substantial I shall have to use vCenter features in the near future. I've used bare metal OS X Server at home for years and would hate to lose it....but work is work.

 

Thanks !



#516
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Wally,

 

Donk, is really the man to ask, but my understanding is the complexities of vCenter make creating an "Unlocker" to support vCenter very unlikely, if not impossible, sorry!



#517
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Wally,

 

Donk, is really the man to ask, but my understanding is the complexities of vCenter make creating an "Unlocker" to support vCenter very unlikely, if not impossible, sorry!

There is one possibility which is not using the unlocker but spoofing the fact the the host hardware is genuine Apple. However it would require a patched BIOS and possibly a new ESXi device driver. These are things I just don't have time to look at presently.



#518
reebzor

reebzor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male

Once Mac VM is installed (using vSphere client) , can I use vCenter to administer the host and Virtual Machine or is that off-limit as well ? 

I get what all the other guys are saying that "it may cause problems" but just to let you know, I have multiple OS X VM's that are on a host managed by a Vcenter server. There are limitations (i.e. can't power on an OS X VM, no vMotion, etc), but it hasn't really caused me any issues. If you need to power on the VM, just go right to the host and power it on. 99% of the time I am using Vcenter.



#519
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Reebzor,

 

We are not saying it will not work, but we are saying the "Unlocker" carries a health warning "NOT supported with vCenter Server", so do not use in a Production environment, as things may not work as you might expect.



#520
wally007

wally007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Reebzor,

 

Thanks for letting me know. I have all my VMs start up automatically after host comes online (set up in vSphere Client ) , would this work ( also does 'cloning OSX VM work' )? 

 

(btw, I understand that its unsupported but for my home env. it would be good enough) 

 

Thanks MSok, Donk for your work and looking forward to your answers reebzor.







1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy