Jump to content

Editing Custom connector info for Intel HD 3000 Graphics (sandy bridge, OSX Lion)


  • Please log in to reply
211 replies to this topic

#181
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,277 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yes, all the kext binaries are 64-bit only in 10.8, not FAT.
This makes patching kexts easier as you can skip the FAT offset calculation.
However, as far as I know, there's no need to patch the kext under 10.8.
I'm using the GM release via displayport, no driver event ring problems at all.

#182
Zulakis

Zulakis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
I am having very much graphics artefacts (nearly unusable) and also alot of stuck on main ring hangs. Any idea?
I will post my connector info in a moment so you can have a look at it.

Edit:
So the offset I am looking for is the one that nm returns?

#183
Zulakis

Zulakis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
And i can answer myself: Yes it is.

So this is my default connector info table:

0000000: 0102 0400 1007 0000 1007 0000  ............
000000c: 0503 0000 0200 0000 3000 0000  ........0...
0000018: 0205 0000 0004 0000 0700 0000  ............
0000024: 0304 0000 0004 0000 0900 0000  ............
0000030: 0406 0000 0004 0000 0900 0000  ............

I am using a Dell L702x with Intel HD 3000. The panel is connected with lvds. It also has a HDMI output which is connected to the (unusable) 555M, so this won't work anyways. Also a mini displayport which is connected to the Intel HD 3000. I could not test it yet, because i own no display port monitor or adapter.

As i've written above, I am having problems with screen artefacts and `Looks like MAIN ring is stuck waiting on an event` hangs.

To what do I need to change the above connector info table to get my laptop screen working?

Edit 1 (Additional Info):
Because of someones suggestion on one of the last pages I changed the second line to
000000c: 0503 0000 0000 0000 3000 0000
Sadly, the issues are remaining.

#184
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,277 posts
  • Gender:Male

I am using a Dell L702x with Intel HD 3000. The panel is connected with lvds.

See my post about lvds http://www.insanelym...dpost&p=1832406
and also the other threads & posts discussing working lvds support for the hd3000.
I assume you didn't have a working solution under 10.7, and are just trying this setup with 10.8 (or do you have a working 10.7 solution that just doesn't seem to work under 10.8)?
In any case, my only lvds hd3000 hardware is a genuine macbook air so I don't have anything to add over those other threads&posts.

#185
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
I want to share the working configuration and files for my laptop, using the factory MacbookPro8,1 table of connectors. Because I only have HD3000 iGPU.

System: Mountain Lion 10.8 GM (12A269)
Versión of AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB = 8.0.0 (8.0.51)
Hardware device-id = 0x0116 (1366 x 768)


I am using a little modified script patcher to simplify the work. Of course all credits go to bcc9 and modigliani (big thanks guys). This is how, but please read all before do anything:
- Put the "Patch_HD3000_ML" folder into your /Extra
- Put your vanilla or base "AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext" into the new folder "/Extra/Patch_HD3000_ML"
- Run (execute) "modgliani-intelHD3000"
- Edit the "hex" file (e.g. with "Hex Fiend.app") for customize the table of connectors, and save it.
- Run (execute) "modgliani-intelHD3000_Patch"
- Install the new patched "AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext", rebuild cache and repair permissions (whit Disk Utility).


- I specially needed (was necessary) in my case for three (3) functional connectors (frame buffers) add this code to my IGPU device into DSDT, to avoid black screen (backlight off) at login. My graphics injection for ML 10.8:
Spoiler


Some results:
Here tested VGA (ok) = Extended ONLY (enough for me) - mirror not working at all is working perfect from VGA.
HDMI not tested yet, but I am expecting mirror function from this port, is working as expected. I have full support for VGA (602) & HDMI (406).

I hope this is fine, and helps. Good Luck to everyone.

Attached Files



#186
Ravven

Ravven

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koszalin, Poland
Out of curiosity I reinstalled Snow Leopard on my LVDS rig and interestingly I found out that I also have the ring stall issue on Snow! Now it doesn't happen very often, so I didn't notice it before, but one look in the log made it all clear.

I also think that ring stall is connected with artifacts on HD3000, as every time it happens I get artifacts on my screen in SL, Lion and ML.


I have no idea how to fix that for LVDS rigs. I've seen someone get results with using EDID, maybe I'll try that.


EDIT:
Another interesting thing: apparently on Lion HDMI connection doesn't work, when using MacBookPro8,3 smbios. With 8,1 it works fine, haven't check 8,2 yet.

#187
fishy8082

fishy8082

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
So I am happy and sad to report that I have resolved the issue.

The 10.7 (Lion) installation slowly got worse and eventually got completely unusable like 10.7.4 So I loaded 10.8 (Mountain Lion) onto the machine hoping to solve the issue but it really made no difference. So based on the information that we learned by disabling the internal display the stall goes away, not all HD3000 laptops have this issue, and every laptop basically has the same connections to the LVDS port everything seemed to point to the display itself.

I'm not certain on this but it seems that the original display in this computer had bad EDID data. Most of the EDID data was zeros and the build date was from Quarter 1 2004, far before AU Optronics made an 1366x768 11.6 display. I couldn't find a way to get the correct data to override the bad data so the only solution I could come up with was to swap the display. I happened to have an Acer 1810T which is also an 11.6 inch laptop. I opened up the 1810T and it had the same display connector so all it took was pulling the old one out and dropping the new one in. I haven't seen a single ring stall or artifact.

Thanks guys



The bad display was: AUO Optronics B116XW02 V.0 F/W 1
The good display is: CHI MEI Optoelectronics N116B6-L02 REV:C1

#188
Matt_H

Matt_H

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I have read this thread from top to bottom a couple of times. I am tring to follow bcc9's directions on the first page, and I too can't get past the "nm" command. I am using OS 10.7.4 and I have Xcode installed. When in a terminal window and I type in "nm" , it comes back with a "command not found" I get this regardless if whether I precede this with "sudo" or not. I thought "nm" was a basic Unix command. Why can't I get it to recognize it? I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Thanks for all of the great info in this thread!

#189
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,277 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have read this thread from top to bottom a couple of times.

See my latest post here http://www.insanelym...dpost&p=1839017 concerning path issues if you're using xcode 4.3 or 4.4.

#190
THEHAWKs

THEHAWKs

    The UnKnown Leader

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:N.Y.C

I have read this thread from top to bottom a couple of times. I am tring to follow bcc9's directions on the first page, and I too can't get past the "nm" command. I am using OS 10.7.4 and I have Xcode installed. When in a terminal window and I type in "nm" , it comes back with a "command not found" I get this regardless if whether I precede this with "sudo" or not. I thought "nm" was a basic Unix command. Why can't I get it to recognize it? I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Thanks for all of the great info in this thread!


Make sure Command line tools is installed look for it in Xcode preference/Downloads

#191
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,277 posts
  • Gender:Male

Make sure Command line tools is installed look for it in Xcode preference/Downloads

Or simply update your path as detailed in the post I just referenced.

#192
Matt_H

Matt_H

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Thanks for the help. I installed the command line tools as suggested and that worked great. I had previously tried to update my path, but I must have done something wrong since it didn't seem to work.

I have edited my connector info, and I am experimenting with editing entries other than just the first one. I want to see if I can get the Mac Mini connector table properly edited so that I can try changing my system definition from Mac Book Pro to Mac Mini.

#193
Matt_H

Matt_H

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I don't know what I did,but I can't get my VGA output to work after booting any more. I was experimenting with various connector info table entries and trying to use multiple monitors (VGA and DVI), and now I can only boot with the DVI monitor. If I look in System Preferences -> Displays, both monitors are being detected, but I can't get the VGA monitor to work anymore. I rolled back my AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext to the one that I had working first with the VGA monitor. It had only one entry modified.

Is there some sort of Display Preferences file (I can't find one) that I should delete so that I can get back to where I was?

Edit: I found a thread that indicated /L/P/com.apple.windowserver.plist is the preferences file I am looking for. However, when I deleted it, my problem was not solved. I still can't get OS 10.7.4 to boot on the VGA display. As soon as the boot screen goes away the screen goes blank.

#194
Matt_H

Matt_H

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I finally got it to boot again with the HD3000 Built-in graphics VGA output. I used the boot option "GraphicsEnabler=No". This was not necessary in the past, so something is screwed up that causes this to be necessary. Is there a file or setting somewhere that I have messed up?

My org.chameleon.Boot.plist that I have been using has GraphicEnabler=Yes, but now this won't work. What's up?

#195
fishy8082

fishy8082

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
After several weeks of use, I would like to further confirm that this issue has not returned in any way after changing the LVDS display.

#196
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
Some reports from genuine MBA4,2 (mid 2011) & MBP8,1 (early 2011) - both have only the HD3000. But, even a MBP8,3 (late 2011) HD3000 + AMD radeon - all those laptops with this issue in Mountain Lion.

#197
Drag0nFly

Drag0nFly

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Just upgraded to 10.7.5 and noticed that the location of the connector information in AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB apparently has changed. modigliani's binary now creates the following -


0000000: cffa edfe 0700 0001 0300 0000 ............
000000c: 0b00 0000 0600 0000 7804 0000 ........x...
0000018: 8500 0000 0000 0000 1900 0000 ............
0000024: 3801 0000 5f5f 5445 5854 0000 8...__TEXT..
0000030: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............

Instead of


0000000: 0102 0200 1007 0000 1007 0000 ............
000000c: 0304 0000 0004 0000 0900 0000 ............
0000018: 0205 0000 0004 0000 0700 0000 ............
0000024: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............
0000030: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............

I guess this is a simple enough fix unless the whole HD3000 driver was rewritten for 10.7.5 (If so it is probably using a similar driver as for 10.8.)

Just wanted to throw this out there as modigliani's patch was instrumental in fixing the ring stall issue on my system. Would be nice to be able to implement this on 10.7.5 as well.

EDIT: it looks like this may at least partly be caused by 'D _PlatformInformationList' now being 'd _PlatformInformationList' (lowercase d). Gotta love these nonsensical changes.


/System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/Contents/MacOS $ nm -arch x86_64 AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB | grep 'PlatformInformationList'
000000000002a620 d _PlatformInformationList
000000000000bffd t __GLOBAL__D_PlatformInformationList
000000000000bfec t __GLOBAL__I_PlatformInformationList


#198
dREAmCaTCHeR

dREAmCaTCHeR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi, I have a dell n5110r 8gb intel hd 3000 no nvidia and Mountain Lion 10.8.2

I would like to know how i can fix the internal display with this cable connector mod for the internal display, hdmi is working for me as well as mirroring haven't tried vga, gpu recognised as 512mb intel hd 3000

#199
dREAmCaTCHeR

dREAmCaTCHeR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male

I want to share the working configuration and files for my laptop, using the factory MacbookPro8,1 table of connectors. Because I only have HD3000 iGPU.

System: Mountain Lion 10.8 GM (12A269)
Versión of AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB = 8.0.0 (8.0.51)
Hardware device-id = 0x0116 (1366 x 768)


I am using a little modified script patcher to simplify the work. Of course all credits go to bcc9 and modigliani (big thanks guys). This is how, but please read all before do anything:
- Put the "Patch_HD3000_ML" folder into your /Extra
- Put your vanilla or base "AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext" into the new folder "/Extra/Patch_HD3000_ML"
- Run (execute) "modgliani-intelHD3000"
- Edit the "hex" file (e.g. with "Hex Fiend.app") for customize the table of connectors, and save it.
- Run (execute) "modgliani-intelHD3000_Patch"
- Install the new patched "AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext", rebuild cache and repair permissions (whit Disk Utility).


- I specially needed (was necessary) in my case for three (3) functional connectors (frame buffers) add this code to my IGPU device into DSDT, to avoid black screen (backlight off) at login. My graphics injection for ML 10.8:

Spoiler


Some results:
Here tested VGA (ok) = Extended ONLY (enough for me) - mirror not working at all is working perfect from VGA.
HDMI not tested yet, but I am expecting mirror function from this port, is working as expected. I have full support for VGA (602) & HDMI (406).

I hope this is fine, and helps. Good Luck to everyone.


Hi, I get the following when i run your patch


60+0 records in
60+0 records out
60 bytes transferred in 0.000439 secs (136622 bytes/sec)

0000000: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............
000000c: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............
0000018: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............
0000024: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............
0000030: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ............

Conectors total: 0000

Now please, edit the hex file for customize the table of conectors...

Can you please tell me what I have to do ? I'm on a Dell n5110r Laptop 15inch

#200
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
Hi. Your profile (smbios.plist) is "MacBookPro8,1"? You know, SMproductname = MacBookPro8,1 blablabla... all the right parameters. Because is a needed point.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy