[How To] XP + OSX Dual Booting: The Natural Way

11 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new to the scene, but I got my Hackintosh up and running in just a couple hours last night with a very smooth, simple dual-boot setup. I happen to be a licensed user of both XP Pro and OSX; I expect you are too, and I don't intend in this guide to induce any infringement.

Installing on a new box made of OSX-compatible hardware really simplifies matters. My hardware:

Asus P5LD2-VM DH

Pentium D 805 2.66GHz oc'd to 3.4 GHz (conservatively for now)

2GB Corsair DDR2-PC5400 RAM

250G WD SATA Hard Drive

Any old DVD-ROM drive

(The whole thing, with PS and case, is right around $600 at Newegg right now.)

The necessary software:

1. An OSX install DVD (mine is Myzar's 10.4.6)

2. A Windows XP install DVD (mine is Pro Corp)

3. Ultimate Boot CD (free; www.ultimatebootcd.com)

This isn't a step-by-step guide, but here's the general idea. Using the Ultimate Boot CD, partition the drive into two FAT32 partitions; the first will be OSX (make it active), the second XP. Using the OSX DVD's Disk Utility, format the first partition Mac OS Journaled, and install OSX on it. Make sure OSX boots. Boot from the XP install CD and install XP on the second partition, preferably without reformatting it NTFS, so you'll be able to get at it from the OSX side. If things get wedged and unbootable during one of the reboots during the XP install (and they probably will), use the Ultimate Boot CD to switch which partition is active and, if necessary, use the Darwin bootloader to boot back over on the XP partition. When XP is installed, use the Ultimate Boot CD to make the OSX partition active.