Jump to content

Modified Bios for Asus P5Q Deluxe


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
Hi,
the available bios for the P5Q deluxe motherboard is quite old revision.
I have modded the latest reviosion 2201 to include the dsdt fix so that i can run mac os x.
I tested it and works fine.
Thought i'd share with everyone else.
Heres the link
http://rapidshare.co...fix_shaumux.zip or use the attached file.
it also includes slic 2.1 table for win 7

EDIT:Added another with the DSDT fix but without SLIC 2.1 table as requested.
I can mod other AMI bios too,
If anybody needs it.

EDIT: Added bios 2301.


Fixes Included: SLIC 2.1, DSDT fix for Mac, SLI certificate for enabling SLI

More BIOSes by Shaumux:

http://www.mediafire.../?8k7z2kcfivf37


Feedback will be appreciated
Thanks

Attached Files



#2
sev1972

sev1972

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Hi,
the available bios for the P5Q deluxe motherboard is quite old revision.
I have modded the latest reviosion 2201 to include the dsdt fix so that i can run mac os x.
I tested it and works fine.
Thought i'd share with everyone else.
Heres the link
http://rapidshare.co...fix_shaumux.zip or use the attached file.
it also includes slic 2.1 table for win 7
Feedback will be appreciated
Thanks



Hi. many thanks for this as I've been waiting some time!

What is slic 2.1 table?

Thanks again

#3
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Hi. many thanks for this as I've been waiting some time!

What is slic 2.1 table?

Thanks again

I've used the HP SLIC table since the ASUS SLIC 2.1 table is not available yet.

#4
Santora

Santora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Hi,
the available bios for the P5Q deluxe motherboard is quite old revision.
I have modded the latest reviosion 2201 to include the dsdt fix so that i can run mac os x.
I tested it and works fine.
Thought i'd share with everyone else.
Heres the link
http://rapidshare.co...fix_shaumux.zip or use the attached file.
it also includes slic 2.1 table for win 7
Feedback will be appreciated
Thanks


Wow. Talk about great timing... I just started to attempt OSX86 and found this forum. I've already flashed the bios once and gotten OSX86 to boot (but it find no drives). I'll try upgrading to this bios and see what happens!

Thanks Again!

Mark

#5
sev1972

sev1972

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Hi, I already have a copy of W7 on order, so will it still be able to install if I have the SLIC table?

Would it be possible to post a bios without the slic table for 7?

Thanks.

#6
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Hi, I already have a copy of W7 on order, so will it still be able to install if I have the SLIC table?

Would it be possible to post a bios without the slic table for 7?

Thanks.

Yes any retail version can be installed normally, the slic table would not interfere.
I just added it as i do a lot of formatting and the slic table saves me a lot of hassle.
Anyway if you want i will make one without the slic table and post it.

#7
3ng1and

3ng1and

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
Can you please tell me the process involved in modifying your own bios? I have a P5Q Turbo, and patching the DDST in OSX isn't helping my quad core situation and so I do not know what to do next.

#8
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Can you please tell me the process involved in modifying your own bios? I have a P5Q Turbo, and patching the DDST in OSX isn't helping my quad core situation and so I do not know what to do next.

Hi i got the instructions from this forum heres a link to it.
http://www.insanelym...mp;#entry804822

#9
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Hi, I already have a copy of W7 on order, so will it still be able to install if I have the SLIC table?

Would it be possible to post a bios without the slic table for 7?

Thanks.

Posted a DSDT fixed bios without the slic 2.1 table as requested in the first post.

#10
sev1972

sev1972

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted a DSDT fixed bios without the slic 2.1 table as requested in the first post.



May thanks Shaumux, so what does the slic table actually do? does it eliminate the need for product keys?

#11
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

May thanks Shaumux, so what does the slic table actually do? does it eliminate the need for product keys?

No you still need keys but the OEM keys(OEM SLP KEY) from manufacturers will also work to do offline activation like from the discs from the manufacturers with the correct combination of the slic key and and certificate.
Which in this case would be HP certificates and a oem key.
Other than that, you can still use a retail key and activate as normal.

#12
olzik

olzik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
Thank you !!

#13
google50002

google50002

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
hi.
good work.
I only wish to know which one will guaranty work whit snow leopard whit out any modification?

#14
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

hi.
good work.
I only wish to know which one will guaranty work whit snow leopard whit out any modification?

Both will work.
The slic 2.1 table is for win 7. It doesn't effect snow leopard in any way

#15
google50002

google50002

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
is this bios support gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 4850 1gb in snow leopard?

#16
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

is this bios support gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 4850 1gb in snow leopard?


I have just fixed the DSDT table in this bios which allows the PC to boot without any problems to OSX.


I prefer kexts or EFI strings for graphics driver so have not touched anythinmg else.

But if you read the guides available then i think there should be no problem with your graphics card.

#17
hothhome

hothhome

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The seems no SLIC 2.1
NoSLIC 2.1

#18
Shaumux

Shaumux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

The seems no SLIC 2.1
NoSLIC 2.1

Yes the tool detects both slic 2.0 and 2.1 as slic 2.0

You should use rw everything or slic dump toolkit for that purpose

#19
kdragon75

kdragon75

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I have an Asus u81a Laptop that I would like to run OS X and Windows 7 on. Im getting stuck at "Using 16384 buffer headers and 4096 cluster IO buffer headers" And thought your BIOS mod would help.

Here is a link to download the .bin if your willing to help!

http://support.asus....SLanguage=en-us

just look for the asus u81a

Thank you in advance!

Edit:
Its a Core2Duo T6500 with 4 GB of ram and the Intel GMA 4500MHD.

#20
GiacomoVe

GiacomoVe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Thanks a lot for you mod. bios It works very well.

Do you know if can I install leopard on RAID configuration ?

Thanks





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy